Recent Eats [8.26.14]

I haven’t done a recent eats post for a solid month! I can promise you that I still ate a lot of the same stand-by foods [i.e. oats, avocado toast, chicken salads, etc.]. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, amiright?

Regardless, I’m here to share with you some of the food that’s been making me happy and full.

I’ve been trying to sneak more meatless meals onto my family’s dinner plates as of late. One of the meals we enjoyed was Oh She Glows three bean salad. We had baked potatoes on the side.

IMG_1046

 

I made an AMAZING bowl of chocolate zucchini oats recently. It then appeared in at least one or two breakfasts per week for the last few weeks. All I did was add two tbsp. of dark chocolate cocoa powder to my oats. The coconut on top (and the fruit) balanced out the hint of bitterness of the chocolate… which I liked anyway, since I love dark chocolate.

IMG_1048

My brother is a bit of a picky eater, so sometimes I try to keep things simple for him (important: sometimes). I knew that he would love Lexi’s zesty chicken bites, and he definitely did. In fact, I put the seasoning on chicken legs for him recently, too.

IMG_1056

One morning I made my own cereal. I’d run out of slivered almonds, which I usually use, so I decided to use sunflower seeds instead. It was a good sub!

IMG_1057

This is an example of a time that a pizza crust simultaneously failed but also succeeded. My dad and I were home alone one night, so I made us some pizza (his with pepperoni). I wanted to grill the pizza, but as soon as I put it on the grill it totally broke apart. I made the crust with oat flour, so that’s probably why. I decided to bake it, we ate it with forks, and all was well.

IMG_1063

After yoga and before work one morning, I nommed on peach overnight oats topped with almond butter. Peaches and AB are a great combo unless you think you have salmonella tainted almond butter.

IMG_1065

 

I went out to Shady Grove with friends one evening, and look! No salad! We were going to have drinks afterward, and I felt like that wouldn’t be a fabulous combo. I opted for a veggie wrap. It was great! The fries tasted pretty good, too. 😉

 

IMG_1067

Chipotle!!! I had this twice last week because it’s been a crazy month at my part-time job. I also felt lazy and not like making dinner. Hence: this huge bowl of salsa and gauc.

IMG_1076

This smoothie was one of the most satisfying breakfasts I’ve made for myself in a while. I haven’t had a chance to make smoothies too often this summer because I haven’t wanted to wake my family, even on weekdays, so I jumped at the chance to make this one twice in a row. It’s so simple: coconut water, almond milk, frozen blueberries, frozen banana, chia seeds, spinach, almond butter and ice. I topped it with Cascadian Farms Honey Nut O’s.

IMG_1082

Getting chocolate chip pancakes with my brother at a local joint is one of my favorite things to do. Now we’re limited to weekends, since he’s starting up school. It’s weird this year since it won’t be the one time per few months that I really get to see him – I’m not going anywhere this fall! (Oh, and on that note, yes I’m sad I’m not at OU right now.)

IMG_1084

THIS SALAD. It’s everything. I know it looks a lot like the powerhouse salad I made,

IMG_1087

This past weekend, I hung out with Cassie all Saturday. We got manis and pedis, walked around Pittsburgh, and eventually ended up at Il Pizzaiolo, which I’ve been dying to go to. The waiter explained to us that they make their Neapolitan pizzas in an oven that takes like 90 seconds to cook the food through and has rocks from Mount Vesuvius in it.

IMG_1093

This combo … it’s just a lot of yes. Sam posted about it last week (and a few other times, too), but I actually remembered to make it this past weekend! Oh. my. god. Dippy egg on top of PB&J oats?! She’s a genius.

IMG_1098

My brother, mom and I went to Panera over the weekend before we did a little school shopping. I was hungrier than usual, so I ordered the power chicken hummus bowl and a cup of black bean soup

IMG_1100

IMG_1101

 

Questions of the Day:
>> What do you usually order at Panera?
>> Ever tried an egg ON oats? I’ve had them in, not on, until now!
>> Fave thing you’ve eaten recently!

More places to find me:
Twitter: @angiggy
Facebook: nuttylifeang
Instagram:@angiggy
Pinterest: Ang @ Nutty for Life
Email: nuttylifeang@gmail.com

16 comments

  1. Oh gosh, not sure if I could handle an egg on oats! Those chocolate zucchini l
    oats look insanely delicious though, might have to give those a try!
    I’ve been loving coconut yoghurt lately 🙂 just wish it was a little cheaper, I don’t know about with you guys but here in the UK it’s super pricey (£1.99 for a single serve pot!). Have a great week!

  2. I have NOT tried an egg on PB&J oats, but I’m thinking I should.

    Don’t judge you girls for leaving Little Italy Days and going to Pizzaiolo (it’s bomb), but it is ironic. 😉

  3. Holy moly you’ve been eating like a queen lately! I’ve never had Shady’s veggie wrap buuuut now I want it. Actually, you’ve just made me crave that and pizza and wine and Chipotle all at once. So….thank you.

  4. Whoa whoa eggs ON oatmeal??! I thought I’d tried every possible combination with eggs and oatmeal but I’ve never been brave enough to try that one…
    Everything looks delicious though! I’m going to have to try the peaches + Almond butter combo, since I have a feeling that would go better than peaches + peanut butter.

  5. Sooo many yummy eats. I’ve come to the conclusion basically have the same taste buds because all of this sounds amazing to me and I love the if it ain’t broke don’t fix it mentality… I eat the same things ALL the time, but only because I love them!! And Chocolate Zucchini Oats… holy yumness. Has anyone ever told you that your smoothie bowls totally look like pretty acai bowls from smoothie places? Also… that pizza. Need.

Leave a Reply

