Another Knee Update

I didn’t mean to leave you hanging last week with just one post, I swear. Right now I’m running out of image space on my site, which sucks, so I’m figuring out what I want to do about that. Posts without pictures are devastatingly boring. But, I couldn’t stay away for too long because here I am, obvi. With real news, too!

rebookcarbons

Back in June I started the process of figuring out what exactly was wrong with my knee. If you remember, I was put on one month of anti-inflammatory medication for supposed runner’s knee. Well, that didn’t work. I haven’t run more than two miles for about 9 months now, and I tested my knee out on the medication on one of the last days I was taking it. I still had pain. It wasn’t as prevalent; however, my knee still wasn’t well enough to run on.

I went back to the doctor in mid-July, and he suggested I get an MRI. He wanted to make sure no ligaments or tendons were tearing before he decided on the next course of action. I figured that if anything was tearing, I’d feel it when I was just normally walking, too, but nonetheless I got the MRI. This is where I discovered I am slightly claustrophobic.

Seriously. It was even a mostly open MRI! Most of my body was covered by the machine, except for my head, but in my mind I was freaking out. I was trying to control my breath and heart rate (which was sky-high) by breathing like I do in yoga. It helped minimally. And then a Kelly Clarkson song came on the radio in the room, and I immediately fell into tears.

Kidding about that Kelly Clarkson thing. I was upset for a little while when I got home, and it took a bit for the shakes to go away. Definitely not what I was expecting to happen!

IMG_2166

Anyway, the doctor called me a few days later and told me I had mild arthritis under my knee cap. Didn’t see that one coming. He told me that it got enflamed when I ran. I was simply happy to finally, finally have a real diagnosis. Next step: steroid shot in the knee.

Tell a girl who doesn’t like shots that she’s getting a shot IN HER KNEE, and she will inevitably have a little anxiety. Last Monday, I went to the offices to get the shot. My wonderful brother came with me, which I was so grateful for, because afterward my knee felt incredibly strange and I wouldn’t have been comfortable driving.

That night, I had a little bit of a major freakout. About two hours after the shot, I couldn’t fully straighten or fully bend my knee without major pain. I was so worried – the doctor hadn’t said anything about this happening, only that he wanted a follow-up in a month. The pain continued all day. When it was finally time for bed, my knee still hurt, and I finally broke down.

IMG_1745

What if I had made the wrong choice getting this shot? What if something went haywire by accident and now my knee would be messed up forever? I have a mom’s mind, meaning I worry very easily, and I wasn’t exactly super happy about the steroid shot to begin with. I don’t love putting medicine in my body – I don’t. I don’t try to eat well and exercise and do things as naturally as I can for nothing. Steroids aren’t a joke; I know this because the doctor said this shot was a one-time thing. He wouldn’t give another because they’re so strong. I made the decision to get the shot because I knew it was the only logical next step. My knee wasn’t healing the natural way (rest, strength exercise, and stretching). So the fact that it felt worse than it ever did that night after the shot really scared me. I did the big girl thing, though: put on some compression socks, dried my eyes, and went to bed, hoping for the best.

Ah yes, of course I had no reason to worry. I woke up the next day and my knee felt ten times better. I still had some pain trying to straighten and bend it, but that dissipated over the next few days. Now, it feels completely normal. I have yet to test it on a run – I wanted to give it about a week to let the steroids do their thang.

Actually, I’m testing it today. Like maybe as you’re reading this. Wish me luck!

Questions of the Day:
>> Have you ever had a steroid shot?
>> Ever had an MRI? Did you have a good experience?
>> What have you been doing for exercise lately?

More places to find me:
Twitter: @angiggy
Facebook: nuttylifeang
Instagram:@angiggy
Pinterest: Ang @ Nutty for Life
Email: nuttylifeang@gmail.com

22 comments

  1. Glad that you found an answer, lovely! I have had knee problems for the past year or so, and I am working on strengthening my hips to take care of them (they mainly manifest in my IT band). When I had my MRI, it was in the middle of the work day, and I fell asleep! It was such a treat, haha, but I can see how it’d be awful if you were claustrophobic!

    1. I never knew how interconnected your feet, knees, and hips were. It’s honestly astounding. This time around I’m definitely taking better care to stretch and strengthen allll of my legs and hips. I can’t believe you fell asleep! The clicking sound was so annoying haha

  2. Ahhh I’m glad you FINALLY found the answer (hopefully). I really hope your knee feels good when you run today! You have gone long enough with the pain and waiting- nobody deserves a good, pain-free run more than you.

  3. Oh my goodness. I am so glad that you’re knee is starting to feel better! I can’t even imagine the frustration of not knowing what was wrong for so many months, being forced to stay off of it for so long, then finding out there is arthritis (scary!! I’m so sorry) and thennnn having to be cooped up getting an MRI and feeling all claustro and awful. Sending lots of love and healing vibes your way!! You will be back at it again in no time 🙂

    1. Thanks Jordan! I was definitely surprised at the arthritis diagnosis.. I was joking to my friends that they’re bffs with a secret 80 year old. They weren’t surprised based on the fact that I go to bed at 9. haha

  4. I HAVE had a cortisone shot in my knee and they definitely do not feel good. The pain the day of and the day after is no joke either. I was literally limping around. Unfortunately, the shot did not help me and I am still on my journey to hopefully being able to run someday. I hope you have better luck!

Leave a Reply

