You Already Have A Beach Body [Guest Post]

While I’m off galavanting in the woods this week, I have several guest-posters lined up. I’m very excited about today’s post, which comes from my good blend (blogger friend) Sam. I was lucky enough to meet Sam a few months ago, and she’s as sweet and honest in person as she is on her blog. Enjoy! 

Hi Nutty for Life readers!

If you don’t know me, my name is Sam, and I blog over at Better With Sprinkles, where I talk about food, having a positive body image, my adorable pug Atticus, and how I live a healthy and full life after recovering from an eating disorder.

That’s right – I spent most of my undergraduate years in university suffering from anorexia. Although it’s been one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, I came out the other side years later happy and (what I had thought was) healthy. Unfortunately, the physical side effects from my trials with anorexia and my tendency to engage in lots of high-intensity exercise came back to haunt me in the form of HA – hypothalamic amenorrhea. A few months ago, I came to realization that my body wasn’t capable of producing my monthly cycle.

I had to get my body to trust me again and give it what it needed in order to get my hormones functioning properly. I had to stop all forms of intense exercise (I went on walks and did yoga or Physique a few times a week) and I ate a lot more than I had been previously, even though I thought I had been eating ‘enough’.

And I had to gain weight – about fifteen pounds in the matter of two or three months. So I entered ‘beach season’ at the highest weight I’ve ever been as an adult.

A few weeks ago, I made plans to go to the beach with friends – my first beach trip of the season. And the first time I’d be in public in a bathing suit at my current weight. I’m not going to lie, my knee-jerk reaction was panic. Would anybody notice my weight? Could I feel confident in a bathing suit? Should I get a one-piece so I wouldn’t offend anyone’s eyes with my less-than-flat stomach?

The way I saw it, I had two choices:

  1. I could panic. I could run out and buy a bathing suit that would cover my body, spend all my time huddled on my towel in a cover-up. I could be ashamed of myself and convinced that other beach-goers were judging me. Basically, I could spend my time at the beach wishing I were anywhere but, lamenting my lack of traditional ‘beach body’.
  2. I could be my usual happy, confident self. I could buy a suit that made me feel sexy, and focus on enjoying my time on the beach with friends, sitting in the sun and running around in the waves. I could accept my body the way it was, and not let negative self-talk ruin my day.

It didn’t take a lot of thought to realize that number 2 was the better option.

Beach Bodyimage source

Every summer, tons of women (and men) freak out about their lack of ‘beach body.’ We worry that other people will judge us by the fact that our stomachs aren’t perfectly flat, or that our thighs jiggle.

But quite frankly… who cares?

In all honestly, we’re all so freaked out over our ‘bikini body’ to notice the person next to us… so it’s highly likely that the same thing will happen to them. Do you really want to miss out on some of the best things in life because you’re uncomfortable with your body? Don’t wait until you have your ‘ideal body’ to feel confident in what you want to wear or what you want to do.

So, with my dedication to my positive body image in mind, I went down to Target (yay summer bathing suit sale!) and picked up a few bikinis to try on.

IMAG1515

I picked out a cute two-piece that I felt flattered me and that I felt confident in. When I went to the beach later that afternoon, I was happy to strip down to my new bathing suit and didn’t give a second thought to what anyone else could have been thinking.

On the beach

Over the last few months, I’ve learned that my body will always be deserving of love. In the coming months and years, I might stay at this size. I might not – I might lose weight, or I may gain more. In the end, it doesn’t matter. No matter what my body looks like at any given point in time, I can be confident and continue to love my body.

IMAG1544

[editor’s note: Sam, I love the suit & you look beautiful!]

So just a reminder – be confident this summer. The idea of the ‘beach body’ is ridiculous – if you have a body and you walk onto a beach, there’s your beach body. And really, that’s all you need.

Thanks for reading! Feel free to stop by my blog to say hi, or shoot me an email at betterwithsprinklesblog@gmail.com.

Have a good one!

More places to find Sam:
Twitter: @Sprinkled_Sam
Facebook: Better With Sprinkles
Instagram: @betterwithsprinklesblog
Pinterest: Samantha Koplin
Email: betterwithsprinklesblog@gmail.com

Questions of the Day:
>> Do you agree with Sam? Do we already have a ‘beach body?’ I do! It just takes confidence (something I’m still working on all the time).
>> Where’s your favorite place to shop for swimsuits? I like Target, too!
>> How do you find confidence in your swimsuit?

50 comments

  1. Ahhh Ang I was going to say the same thing–Sam I LOVE that suit and you look glowing. You’re so right–what is a beach body anyway? We allllllll already have beach bodies and there really should be no reason to stress about that. …ESPECIALLY when you’re at the beach with friends. Great post, Sam.

  2. Love the message behind this post, Sam! Firstly you look gorgeous in that 2 piece and secondly, thank you for always being a ray of positivity- we are ALL deserving of self-love! The number on the scale has no influence on that!!

  3. This post is incredible! Sam, you have come so far and I love your outlook on life and body image! I love your bathing suit- it looks amazing on you and when anyone looks at you, they’re going to notice the radiant smile more than anything else. You look happy and confident and that is a great, great thing.

  4. Wonderful post. You look gorgeous! And you are such an inspiration to others. Thank you for sharing your story.

  5. Love this post!! It drives me insane with how much the media and people too build up the need to get that “beach body.” But at the same time I always get a bit nervous when I put on my bikini. I just know that people notice my stomach isn’t completely flat when they probably think I look pretty great. Perfect reminder for when I go to the lake this weekend. I just need to get out there and be confident in my bikini.

  6. This was a fabulous post! I was just at the beach this past weekend and felt less than glamorous after seeing everyone in good shape around me. Then, I realized it kind of doesn’t matter in the long run – if our hearts are pumping and healthy, and our emotions and hormones are stable, that’s what really counts. Health really is beyond skin deep but I’m definitely still learning this.

    1. Thanks Jen! I definitely agree with you – it’s our health that counts. This is what I needed to do to fix my hormones, and I’d rather have those functioning correctly than have a media-driven ‘beach body’! Good for you for working on adapting a healthier mindset!

  7. You look beautiful!! I love this post (and I love that suit you picked out- great cut & color!) If there’s one thing I think we need to teach young girls, it’s confidence. everything else will fall into place 🙂

  8. We all do have a beach body – I struggle with confidence all the time, but something that helps is remembering that I really don’t care what all the other people thing. I love Target or Kohl’s for swimsuits. I love this post. I don’t think I could ever get enough of these self-love posts.

  9. Great post-I popped on the scale for the first time in a while (THE worst) and it said I gained weight. I have to be in a bikini for like 4 days in a row in a week and was feeling sad. You’ve reminded me to just rock it! Love the color of that bikini btw!

  10. It’s funny…this is the most I’ve weighed in years (this beach season that is), and this is also the first time I have no problem prancing around a pool, beach, or water park in my bathing suit. Go figure haha. It reminds me of how I used to feel as a kid….oh water time? Suit up and go. No thinking how i looked or what anyone else would think…I just did it and had a blast. That’s what I’ve even able to do again this summer for the first time since I was teenager, and I love it 🙂 And you! And you look gorgeous and happy in that suit 🙂

  11. Sam, you rocked it in this post! I’ve thought about that a lot, that everyone’s typically obsessing over their own bodies way too much to give one care about mine. Stay confident, my friend!

  12. Love that suit. I tried on some 2 pieces on as well. I was at the beach yesterday where all the girls had on 2 pieces, and I was like, I could totally rock that. Why not?

  13. I love that you picked out a suit to flatter your body instead of trying to force your body to flatter a suit. I feel like we spend way too much time punishing and criticizing our bodies instead of appreciating them for all of the amazing things that they allow us to do and experience. I dread the spring and summer every year because of all the HOW TO GET A BIKINI BODY NOW nonsense that we get bombarded with around this time of the year. You’re such an amazing example of what it means to have a good relationship with your body… Never change, mmmkay?

    PS – you look fantastic in that suit 🙂

  14. This post is amazing and so are you! I love everything you talked about, especially the two options you had. It’s true we can get so down on ourselves so much, but you are amazing for just being you! Love the suit on you, also.

  15. I love this. So many girls worry about how they are going to look in a swim suit… I never really try to get a “bikini body”… I think about it then obviously would rather eat, drink and be happy then starve myself and end up binging or something. ANYWAY, you’re so right – basically all you need is a bikini and a body if you want a bikini body. Bikinis are made in all sizes for a reason – to flatter our bodies and enjoy getting some sun! If we worry about what people think about us, we’re wasting our time!

  16. This reminds me of something my dietitian told me last week. She said that out of all the girls she works with who struggle with eating disorders, 95% of them tell her that they like their body better after gaining weight. Then she asked me if I liked my body better now or two years ago (when I started to see her). I told her that I like it a little bit better now and she reminded me that I weigh more now than when I started seeing her. I guess until she said that I never realized that although while I was gaining weight (mind you, I still have more to put on!) it was hard hearing that my weight was climbing, however looking at my body now I can definitely say I like it more.

    Sam, you look beautiful as always.

Leave a Reply

