Double Chocolate [hidden beet!] Muffins

I’m not joking when I say that I’ve been trying to get this recipe blog-ready for like… three months. It’s become a slight obsession that I’m almost embarrassed by. I say “almost” because, if you know me by now, you have just come to expect these things. I like to hide vegetables in baked goods, dinners, under my bed.

Double Chocolate [hidden beet!] Muffins - Nutty for Life4

I was joking about that last one. I’m not trying to attract anything that doesn’t have a six pack to my bed. HAHA I’m joking about that, too. Promise.

Well, now that I’ve sufficiently made things kind of awkward here, let me tell you about these wonderful baked goods. You could trick a five year old into eating vegetables with these. You could also trick a fifty year old into eating vegetables with these (I did!). These babies are family-approved. I mean – they’re double chocolate muffins. You really can’t go wrong.

Double Chocolate [hidden beet!] Muffins - Nutty for Life

My dad almost didn’t believe that I snuck beets in there, which made me really proud of myself. Make these ASAP. You’ll get a little dose of vitamins and a good chocolate rush. You can have your chocolate and your vegetables, too.

Double Chocolate [Hidden Beet!] Muffins - Nutty for Life2.jpg

Double Chocolate [hidden beet!] Muffins

Makes one dozen muffins
Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction

Ingredients

  • 1 c. oat flour (just grind down oats)
  • 1/2 c. coconut palm sugar
  • 1/2 c. cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1- 14.5 oz. can no salt added sliced beets, drained and rinsed
  • 2/3 c. 2% Greek yogurt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp. maple syrup
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 c. chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. In a bowl, mix together all dry ingredients, except chocolate chips.
  3. In a high powered blender or food processor, blend down beets and greek yogurt until completely smooth.
  4. Transfer to a different bowl and add the rest of the wet ingredients.
  5. Slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, mixing until well-combined, but do not over mix.
  6. Stir in chocolate chips.
  7. Prepare your muffin/cupcake pans with non-stick spray (I used coconut oil spray).
  8. Fill tins (no liners!!) 3/4 of the way.
  9. Bake muffins for 5 minutes, then turn the heat down to 375 degrees for 13-15 minutes. A toothpick will come out clean when the muffins are done.

Questions of the Day:
>> What was the last baked good you made?
>> Do you prefer muffins as breakfast or a snack? 

More places to find me:
Twitter: @angiggy
Facebook: nuttylifeang
Instagram:@angiggy
Pinterest: Ang @ Nutty for Life
Email: nuttylifeang@gmail.com

13 comments

  1. These look awesome! So I can eat like, 6 of them and tell myself that I’m being healthy? 😉 The last baked goods I made were granola bars (I don’t know if those count but I baked them so I’m counting it), but I’ve been craving banana bread so I’ll have to make that soon.

  2. Never tried beets before but with the bland flavor I can totally see this working perfect! I think I might have to trick my dad into eating these 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!

  3. You could trick ME into eating these! Just kidding — I actually don’t mind beets, but I used to hate them so I guess I should say that you could trick my 10-year-old self into eating these 🙂 Seriously, though? They look awesome. Really decadent. And when it comes to muffins, I usually prefer them as a snack… I’m a cereal and oatmeal for breakfast kind of girl 🙂

  4. These look super yummy! I can’t believe they have beets in them! I’m not a beet fan at all, but I may just make these and conveniently forget they contain beets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

