The Easiest Natural Body Scrub

Sometimes I’m a crazy person who wakes up at the butt crack of dawn to go to hot yoga first thing in the morning. I won’t say I’m not tired the next day (I totally am… but that just means I shouldn’t stay up reading), but it feels really great to work out all the kinks right away.

The other night, I knew I was going to yoga early the next morning and that it was going to be hot and humid when I arrived home. I decided to prep some cold brew coffee, Davida style, to cool me down and keep me awake after class. I very quickly just have to say that Davida’s iced coffee is so good – I had no idea how to make it until her post. Definitely give it a try. PSA over and out.

Anyway, have you ever made coffee and thought about what to do with the leftover grounds? I did, all the time. Once I tried putting them in my aloe plant because I heard they were nourishing for plants. They molded and pretty much murdered the plant. So. Don’t do that.

20140708_122129

What you should do, instead, is make some natural body scrub. Did you just ask yourself, “Is this girl nuts? Rubbing coffee on herself??” To that I say, well, yeah I am nuts, check the name of the blog, and also trust me. After I made the cold brew coffee, I had a cup of leftover grounds, whereas usually I only have a tablespoon or two, since cold brew requires more flavor. I felt so bad wasting the grounds, so I decided to recycle them in a body scrub (I think I first heard to do this on the show The Chew).

Coffee grounds body scrub is so easy to whip up, and you probably already have everything you need for it! Make sure to read below the recipe for some quick notes about using this natural body scrub.

20140708_122002

Coffee Grounds Natural Body Scrub

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. used coffee grounds
  • 1/3 c. sugar (could be white or brown sugar, I used coconut sugar)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. honey
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. coconut oil, melted

Directions:

  1. In a bowl, press out as much liquid from the coffee grounds as you can.
  2. Combine the rest of the ingredients and mix until you are left with a mixture that looks like dirt.
  3. Use within the day, otherwise the mixture will begin to mold. Store at room temp if not used immediately.

*A few notes about the scrub (important!!):
– Coffee grounds will clog your drain. Do not wash it all off in the sink or shower. What I did to combat this was spread some newspaper on the floor under and around me in the bathroom, use the scrub, rub a lot of the excess off with toilet paper, and then get in the shower. A little won’t hurt the drains, but the entire mixture would. This will get a little messy, but if you use the newspaper, cleanup is easy. All I did was wad the paper up (you could even dump the rest outside if you wanted!) and then vacuum the floor quickly.

– I recommend using the scrub before your body wash, otherwise you will continue to smell like coffee all day. The coconut oil will resist some of the body wash, so your skin will still be left super smooth once you jump out of the shower. Moisturize afterward, with your lotion or even more coconut oil.

Questions of the Day:
>> Have you ever made your own beauty/body product?
>> What other uses for coffee grounds do you know of? 

More places to find me:
Twitter: @angiggy
Facebook: nuttylifeang
Instagram:@angiggy
Pinterest: Ang @ Nutty for Life
Email: nuttylifeang@gmail.com

17 comments

  1. I’ve made body scrubs before, but just with honey, sugar and olive oil – I never would have thought to add coffee grounds to the mix! I don’t drink the stuff, but the boyfriend does so I’m sure I can get some leftover grounds to try this with.

  2. This is so simple and awesome! I can’t wait to try it. I love experimenting with things like this. I’ve made homemade febreeze, laundry detergent, jewelry cleaner, and dishwasher detergent before, but this is a new one. Thanks for sharing!

      1. I used the “recipe” below! It was incredible to see how much junk was in my jewelry that I hadn’t realized. Good luck and let me know how it turns out! 🙂

        Homemade Jewelry Cleaner Ingredients
        • witch hazel or white vinegar (find good quality witch hazel here or white vinegar here)
        • tea tree oil (find 100% pure tea tree oil here)
        • baking soda (find it in bulk here)
        • an old toothbrush
        Directions: Swirl, Soak, Scrub
        1. Put the jewelry in a glass mason jar.
        2. Cover with ½ cup of vinegar or witch hazel. Add one drop of tea tree oil and swirl to mix.
        3. Allow jewelry to soak in the mixture overnight.
        4. The next morning, coat with baking soda and scrub with an old toothbrush, then rinse with water.

  3. Wow I never would have thought to use coffee grounds as a body scrub, but I LOVE natural scrubs. I don’t drink coffee, but I think my new roommate does. I wonder how awkward it would be to take her leftover coffee grounds and scrub my body with them…

  4. Oooh I’m super into this idea. I love basically anything to do with coffee / coffee grounds except the actual drink itself. I LOVE the smell of coffee and I imagine after the natural body scrub thang you would at least have some remnants of the smell? Or I might be wrong. I don’t know much about coffee hehe. But DIY is always the most fun.

  5. ooohh this is so creative! I’m pretty much the worst at making my own beauty products- inevitably the drain gets clogged, so i appreciate that caveat you included 🙂 I’ve been living on k-cups lately, but now i want to try this!

Leave a Reply

