Chocolate Walnut Energy Bites

I don’t think I’ve said it on here yet, but I’m having an affair.

With walnuts.

Chocolate Walnut Bites-Nutty for Life2

Please don’t tell my beloved peanut I’m cheating.

I didn’t expect it to happen, but here were are. I’m head over heels for walnuts, and I don’t see it ending anytime soon. It’s way too steamy. Or should I say… smooth. Walnuts are just kind of silky, you know?

Chocoalte Walnut Bites-Nutty for Life3

So yeah, I’m obsessed with walnuts. I’m dreaming of them on my salad and in my cereal and just by themselves, really. I want to eat walnuts all day. I figured I should probably use these babies to their full potential, so I started brainstorming what complements walnuts. If I had to give walnut a flavor, it would honestly be purely “nutty.” I don’t think there’s any nut out there that so exemplifies what I believe a nut should taste like as much as a walnut does. And thus: I paired it with chocolate. Because that just makes sense, and if I had to cheat on peanuts and walnut’s I’d definitely cheat with chocolate.

Ah, and now the secrets just keep rolling out. I’m also deeply in love with carob. Now that I think about it, that’s what I want to keep secret from chocolate. This is really getting to be a tangled love web, isn’t it? Anyway, carob is slightly sweet, and I’ve been digging using it in place of cocoa for that very reason. If you don’t have any, you can use cocoa… but I highly suggest giving carob a try!

Chocolate Walnut Bites-Nutty for Life

Chocolate Walnut Energy Bites

Makes 15 energy bites

Ingredients

  • 1 c. oats
  • 1 1/2 c. walnuts
  • 1/4 c. carob powder + extra for dipping*
  • 1/4 c. dates (about 14)**
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp. ground flax

Directions

  1. Process dates in a high powered blender or food processor until fairly smooth.
  2. Add in the rest of the ingredients, pulsing until well-blended, pushing down the sides as you go to make sure everything gets in the mix.
  3. Form into approximately 1″ balls.
  4. If you prefer, you can roll the balls in carob.

*Never used carob before? You can sub cocoa powder, but you’ll need to add a bit of natural sweetener. Carob is a bit sweet already, which cocoa is not.
**If your dates are on the tougher side, soak them in water for a while, up to overnight; drain them and press as much water as you can out. You could do this even if the dates are softer. It will just be easier to blend, but you’d run the risk of the mix being too soft.

19 comments

  1. I know you said don’t tell your beloved peanuts, but I’m letting them know!! How dare you turn on your beloved peanuts. Haha jk 🙂 This recipe looks and sounds awesome, Angela. I wanna come pop (devour) these babies with you after a good workout.

  2. Carob is AWESOME! I found some in my cupboard the other day that I had forgotten about and I was so excited. And then I forgot about it until now. Maybe I’ll make these for C so he doesn’t starve while I’m away….

  3. I can kind of, sort of eat walnuts with my allergies, so I approve of these balls :mrgreen: Especially because they’re paired with carob and you totally just reminded me that I forgot about the bag of carob that’s been hanging around in my pantry. Did that sentence even make sense? Probably not… but there it is 😀

Leave a Reply

