Almond Coconut Cookies

Have you ever made a cookie dough to which you have a reaction that’s something like: “I WANT TO FACE PLANT INTO THIS RIGHT NOW!”

That’s kind of how I felt about these cookies. Let me back up a minute, though.

Almond Coconut Cookies – Nutty for Life_2

It’s no secret around these parts that I love all things coconut. I put it on my face. I put it on my oatmeal. I make butter out of it. Heck, I even started oil pulling with it (but that’s too gross to talk about in this post, so we’ll chat about it some other time). Anyway. I love coconut. Oh and nut butter. That’s no secret either.

So last week, one mid-morning, I had just put the coconut oil on my face and had just had some almond butter with breakfast, and all of a sudden I was like, “cookies!!!!!” I don’t know why. I needed to make cookies right then and there. I got to thinking what kind I could make… chocolate chip, good but too boring… oatmeal walnut, not feeling it, maybe some other time…

Then I realized that the answer was right in front of me (but literally, like right in front of me). Almond coconut. “It will be a match made in heaven!!!!!” I said to myself.

Almond Coconut Cookies – Nutty for Life_1

And it was.

I could honestly eat the batter raw, that’s how much I loved these cookies. Don’t worry mom, I didn’t eat raw batter (yes I did). Baked, these little guys are light and cake-like. The almond slices and shredded coconut give them a random crunch here and there, a welcome bit of texture. And, well, let’s not forget the awesome combo of almond and coconut. The flavors melt together to make a sweet, nutty cookie that even coconut haters will like. Believe me, my mom loved them, and she detests coconut.

But, um, if you’re a coconut hater you should really re-think your life choices. And then try these cookies.

Almond Coconut Cookies – Nutty for Life_3

Almond Coconut Cookies

Makes 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 c. almond flour
  • 1 c. oat flour
  • 2 tbsp. coconut flour
  • 1/3 c. coconut palm sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 large ripe banana, mashed
  • 2 tbsp. almond butter
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil, melted
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/3 c. unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1/3 c. sliced raw almonds
  • 1/3 c. shredded unsweetened coconut

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients, except the sliced almonds and coconut shreds, and give them a little mix.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine all of the wet ingredients, mixing well.
  4. Incorporate the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients gradually, mixing until the batter is sticky.
  5. Add raw almonds and coconut shreds to the batter. Mix.
  6. On cookie sheets covered with parchment paper, scoop batter into 1″ balls (I used a melon scooper).
  7. Bake cookies for 9-11 minutes or until bottoms are golden.

Questions of the Day:
>> What was the last thing you baked?
>> Favorite kind of cookie?
>> Why do we spell cookie with an “ie” and not a “y”? That was a random thought, sorry.

11 comments

  1. Confession: that is my reaction to pretty much all cookie dough. I would much rather eat the dough than the finished product, and that applies to cookies, cakes, brownies…pretty much all baked goods. It’s probably a little bit of a miracle that I haven’t poisoned myself yet. I think I’d eat these cookies though 😉
    And you’re oil pulling?! Are you finding it effective? I did it once and survived the full 20 minutes, but it was so unpleasant I haven’t talked myself into doing it again yet.

  2. Favorite kind of cookie still has to be chocolate chip, although Caitlin from Chasing Chels made me some dark chocolate cookies with sea salt sprinkled over them, and I still haven’t forgotten how delicious they were. Very interesting question about cookie. My guess is that it has to do with the origin of the word.

  3. Well I unbaked a strawberry cheesecake if that counts, but if not, then I actually turned on the oven to whip up a chocolate chunk orange bread… which I won’t be doing again because oooooomg was it ever hot in my place after that. And can you believe that I don’t think I’ve ever tasted raw cookie dough before? At least not the kind that had eggs in it. I have this horrible phobia of throwing up, so the idea of potentially giving myself food poisoning? Yeaaaah no.

  4. Geeze, Ang. Way to whore out the innocent coconut….I see it FIVE times in that ingredient list.

    Lucky I like you and I like coconut and I approve. Last cookie I ate was a white chocolate and macadamia one which was a week old from Subway….still good.

Leave a Reply

