Salad Loving [Recent Eats and Fitness]

I had THE most fun yesterday.

I say that with THE most sarcasm.

I spent all day at jury duty, which is just as boring as it sounds. If you’ve never had to report to jury duty, be thankful. It’s an insanely slow moving day. I couldn’t even look at my book after so long. I managed to take a little walk during the lunch break, but mannnnnnnnnnnn was I happy to be at yoga and moving around after sitting there all day. Thankfully, I don’t have to go back today or for a while.

Recent Eats

I’m doing another roundup of my recent eats today, and I have to tell you about my salad obsession. I’ve been trying to eat a salad a day, both because I want to and because I’ve been craving them. I’m not complainin’ about that!

My salad inspiration for the week? Another Shady Grove salad. On Wednesday, I met up with Erin and Cassie for dinner. All three of us ordered salads, and this time I chose their Chicken and Strawberry Salad. It had strawbs, walnuts, chicken, goat cheese and balsamic dressing. I asked them to add carrots for a little more veggie power. It was so yummy!

IMG_0217

It was so delicious, actually, that I re-created it at home! I added mushrooms and carrots to my own version, and I’ve had this for, like, three lunches or dinners this week, including yesterday at jury duty! I was one of the only losers to bring my own lunch.

IMG_0218

 

On Saturday, I went to hot yoga in the morning. I had a pre-yoga snack of half an avocado and a few dates, but I saved breakfast/brunch for afterward. The night before, I made myself some OOIAJ (aka overnight oats in a jar, if you’re not familiar with the term). I mixed up a batch with almond milk, greek yog, chia seeds, banana, and strawberries, but I added a special ingredient, too โ€“ zucchini! I didn’t know how it would turn out, but I actually really loved it (esp topped with almond butter!). Once again, I didn’t taste the zukes at all.

IMG_0220

On Father’s Day, we visited my dad’s parents in the afternoon, and my grandma made us some pasta, meatballs, and garlic bread for lunch. You really can’t go wrong with pasta, but my grandma made the sauce herself, which made all the difference!

IMG_0222

For dinner, I made my dad balsamic portabella burgers. We had them on buns with roasted red peppers and pesto. The taste combo of all of those ingredients is out of this world. Tangy and rich and wonderful. I had broccoli on the side. Just a little broccoli, as you can see ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_0224

 

Other random but not pictured eats include avocado toast, ice cream with rainbow sprinkles, eggs, apples, mug cakes, and frozen berries with chocolate chips!

Recent Fitness

Last week was all about hot yoga. I didn’t get to the gym for various reasons (read: I didn’t feel like lifting weights), but I made it to the yoga studio. Not mad about it. It felt good to get back in the groove of going a few times a week. I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again โ€“ yoga does things for body confidence that I can’t even describe. Honestly, lately I’ve been low on that confidence, but as soon as I started going back to yoga, my confidence has boosted.

I’m also doing the FitFluential Squat Challenge for the month of June. Every day I do squats… I think I’m up to 40 for a few days now. The goal is to hit 1,000 squats by the end of the month. I’m taking the challenge as squats separate from workouts. I try to follow up those squats with a plank for good measure.

This week, I’m starting The Fitnessista’s Summer Shape Up. I’ll talk more about that next week!

ย Questions of the Day:
>> What’s your recent fitness look like?ย 
>> Do you like overnight oats?
>> Have you ever gone to jury duty?

17 comments

  1. Confession: I was called for jury duty once, and I couldn’t do it because I was still in school…and I was legitimately disappointed. That’s my inner criminology nerd for you! Also, it was a mass murder trial involving a bunch of bikers….wouldn’t that have made it interesting?

    Recent fitness: yooooooga. I’m trying to add in some different at-home, no equipment (or little equipment) workouts to test the waters, but I’m hoping to be back at the weights in a few weeks. I miss them!

    1. You know how the word yoga makes me feel! Happy happy happy!

      Okay so I am actually really into criminal trials, etc. I think it’s super interesting. Buuuuut the thing is (at least in my county) there’s no way to know what trials are looking for juries that day (the one I was chosen to interview for was diamond theft.. boring. and then they didn’t even interview me before they had all the jurors they needed). So all I did yesterday was sit in a room for 7 hours lol. I did see on the news that there is a murder trial starting juror selection today. So I just missed that one.

  2. Your overnight oats look delicious! Adding zucchini is an interesting idea. Was it ground up?
    Last week I was out of town so my fitness level was a big fat zero! Saturday I went to Crossfit and yesterday I did a kickboxing video because I didn’t feel like running! Today is Crossfit again and hopefully that gets me back into the fitness groove.

  3. I want to eat ALL of this! And never done jury duty but Sam’s case that wasn’t does sound rather fascinating…

    My fitness lately has been a mix of CrossFit, yoga and lots of walking around the city to soak it all up before I leave! I’ve also been on a massive salad grind, which is weird as it’s winter here… ha!

    1. Haha yes hers would have been interesting. The diamond theft case that I didn’t get chosen for… not so much. Lol.
      It throws me off that it is winter where you are! But I don’t hate the salad grind ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. No overnight oats for this girl! I’ve had them on a handful of occasions and I’m just not a fan of the texture — oats cooked and cakey, please ๐Ÿ˜€

    As for fitness, lately I’ve been all about the walking/running, but I’m actually thinking about getting back into the gym because I miss strength training! Now if only my gym would hurry up and get on that summer promotion so that I can save a couple of bucks on a membership.

  5. LOL. I thought that snapchat of jury duty was a joke- I’ve been called before but luckily got to get out of it….it’s like hell. HELL.

    Pretty sure our first blogging interaction involved you having zucchini in your oats. Nice one tiger.

Leave a Reply

