Hiking, Burgers and Knees [Recent Eats + Fitness]

So I think I’m going to start to do more of a large roundup type post to share my eat and workouts with you and fit a What I Ate Wednesday in there every so often. There’s no particular reason I’m doing this other than I want to show you more than one day of eats! A compilation of a bunch of good stuff is way better than one day of  ‘meh’ eats, IMO. And usually my eats are pretty standard. I thought it was time for a little switch up!

Recent Eats

I still can’t get enough of my Copycat Powerhouse Salad. I made it for like three or four of my lunches last week! The salad below was made out of desperation for goat cheese, though – I altered my recipe a bit because we were out of apples and mushrooms, so I used beets and sweet potatoes instead!

IMG_0129

Before Kaitlyn left for her killer internship last week, we met up at OTB Bicycle Café. It’s this little dive bar looking restaurant that is actually awesome. I had a salad to start. Tell me those greens aren’t perfect?!

IMG_0163

I followed my salad with a peanut butter and bacon burger. Yes, you read that correctly. Peanut butter. Bacon. On a burger. Pure heaven. I tried this burger for the first time last summer, and I needed to share its perfection with Kaitlyn!

IMG_0164

My dad and I randomly bought two eggplants last week, so I made Italian eggplant boats with a bunch of random things inside. I believe I added no salt diced tomatoes, kale, a little pasta sauce, ground turkey and mozzarella cheese. I had some for leftovers later in the week!

IMG_0165

Saturday evening I went to Hofbräuhaus with some friends from work. I was persuaded by their dinner choices and ordered the same for myself: ham and cheese on a pretzel bun. The sandwich was a little too heavy for my taste, but the pretzel bun was out of this world. We stayed til really late, but I DD’d, so I only had a drink with dinner.

IMG_0167

I was really craving my make your own cereal for breakfast yesterday morning, so I whipped up a batch of that. It’s so quick and easy to throw together in the morning, so I was able to eat a good breakfast before my earlier doctor’s appointment (more on that below).

IMG_0209

 

On Sunday, Cassie, Erin and I went hiking in the Laurel Highlands at Ohiopyle. It’s a beautiful park and little town, but since Cassie and I are health freaks we managed to find the one place that had healthy food for lunch. It was a little cafe, and the three of us ordered “burritos” but had them served on a bed of greens. It wasn’t anything to write home about, but it did the trick.

IMG_0171

 

Recent Fitness

Like I said, I went on a day trip to Ohiopyle with Cassie and Erin the other day. If you follow me on Instagram, you might have seen the picture I posted of the three of us.

IMG_0184

 

In all, we walked about 8 or 9 miles, which I was really happy about. Plus, you can’t beat the views! I want to go back soon to hike to this spot in particular. We had to drive to it because we went on the wrong trail first. #classic #cantreadmaps

IMG_0204

 

In other fitness news, I finally had my appointment about my knee. If you remember, it started hurting me way back in September. I procrastinated going to get it checked out, which might have been a mistake, but I truly thought that I could heal it with rest. Well, 9 months later, it still hurts. I could have had a baby in all the time I haven’t been consistently running. Lol not really.

I wasn’t surprised to learn that I have Runner’s Knee, or more specifically Patella Femoral Pain Syndrome (PFPS). The physician is having me take anti-inflammatories for about a month since rest didn’t help, and if my running isn’t back to normal after that I will go to physical therapy as well.

In the meantime, I’m still doing my usual: HIIT workouts, weights, treadmill incline walking, and hot yoga. In fact, I’m going to yoga early this morning! Yay.

Questions of the Day:
>> Ever go hiking? What’s your favorite national/state park? I hope to see some parks out west in the next few years!
>> Have any experience with Runner’s Knee? Womp. I feel for you.
>> Tell me something you ate last week!

31 comments

  1. DUDE.

    We are going to that burger place when I come. Seriously, could that scream perfection in burger form? We have a hofbanhaus here too, but they serve pork knuckle and … not much else.

    Sorry to hear about your knee, you’re a smart cookie who knows when not to overdo it.

  2. Peanut butter bacon burger you say? Holy moly. Now to try recreate that… 😀

    Those views are insane!! How lucky to have that so near to visit! The UK (surprise surprise) doesn’t really have many national parks as it’s pretty small but there are some gorgeous areas in South Wales – just across the border from where I live – that I love to go to.

    Be careful with your knee! Hope it sorts itself out for you, injuries are so frustrating sometimes.

  3. So this means you are probably at yoga right now SWEATING YOUR ASS OFF. Good times. Sorry bout your knee but no surgery…right? So that’s good news…right? I hope so for your sake. Also that salad bowl in the first pic looks JUST like the bowls from Shady Grove. Did you do that on purpose? I like it.

    1. Hahah I totally was sweating my ass off. No surgery! He didn’t even mention it! Yes that is good news. Although my friend had hip problems and said anti-inflammatories did nothing to help her so I was like -____- but we will see. And yes I totally did that on purpose.

  4. I love the picture of the three of you! So cute. There’s a restaurant near me that has a burger with peanut butter, bacon, and banana slices…one of these days I will try it. I went hiking for the first time in years over the weekend in Utah, and now I basically want to go again as soon as possible. So fun.

  5. Awww, that picture of the three of you is adorable!! And that copycat salad looks so good… beets and sweet potatoes! And I would have found the one healthy restaurant within a 20 mile radius too, that’s my thang. Also, I need to try that make your own cereal!!! Yum. And (why do I have so much to say about this post?! haha) I’m so sorry about your knee… I’ve been putting off going to the doctor for my ankle and it’s been about four months now. I should really do something about that.

    1. Haha I don’t mind long comments!! More for me to respond to. I waited 6+ months to go for my knee because I thought rest would help. It just got to be too much, and I like neeeeeeed to run. My mom tells me to find another sport and I tell her no haha! I would recommend going, only because we can self-diagnose all we want (I totally did) but I couldn’t get the medicine I needed to help without the doctor!

  6. Hiking is the love of my LIFE. I went this weekend down in Utah, but the mountains there are a little tamer than I’m used to and I’m craving a trip up to my beloved Rockies. I was going to go this weekend, but it’s supposed to rain. Boo face.

    Oh, and thank you for giving me the biggest craving for friessss.

  7. Thanks for the pingback, love! That burger was perfection. And def seemed better than the PB&J burger, to be honest. 8 or 9 mile hike may beat running anyway! That pretzel bun looks dangerously good. I ate at Founding Farmers on Sunday night with my parents and it was GREAT and we’re going! I got lemon scallops and fried green tomatoes. Ugh. p.s. come to DC already.

    re your knee: I’m SO glad you got it checked out. Proud of you for not forcing running!

    1. No problemo lady. AHHHHHH I CAN’T WAIT FOR BRUNCH. But I think the one cassie said was Farmers, Fishers, Bakers. Is that right? Lol yeah I finally took some action with the knee. I KNEW it was runner’s knee. Womp.

  8. I’ve heard of pb burgers before, and always wanted to try one but just never have. One day! As for the burger w/ the pretzel bun.. mmmm!! Have you ever tried applebees pretzel bun burgers? Not the healthiest, but my heavens is it good!

    Best food from last week – i’m gonna say stuffed crust pizza from pizza hut. Haha! I haen’t had it in forever & boy did it taste delicious!

    1. I haven’t! I usually stick to not burgers but for some reason the pretzel bun called to me. Everyone I went with got the same order haha! I haven’t had stuffed crust pizza in years! I almost forgot about it!

  9. Ugh, don’t even get me started with knee problems. They are the worst! I hope yours heals up soon! I’m glad that you’re still able to hike and such. The only thing that makes me enjoy hiking is the fact that you get a nice view in the end!

Leave a Reply

