Copycat Powerhouse Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette

I have this weird thing.

I’m a major freak about the flatware and bowls I eat from. I have specific dishes for different meals, like my favorite clear, high-side bowl for oatmeal and my wide-rimmed ceramic bowls for yogurt. I have to use certain size spoons for my cereal. When I find a dish or piece of silverware that’s perfect for a certain recipe, I stick with it because it makes the meal more enjoyable to me. All the puzzle pieces fit together.

IMG_0113

Yes, I know how strange that is.

There’s a restaurant in Pittsburgh that I’ve talked about often on here – Shady Grove. I love ordering salads from that place because they’re delicious, and it’s sometimes difficult to find a restaurant in the ‘burgh that doesn’t put french fries on all of their dishes (granted, Shady does have one of those). But, actually, there’s another reason why I’m enamored with their salads.

IMG_0117

It’s all about the bowls. All of the salads are served in huge silver bowls. They’re super deep with high sides, and they have a round bottom that is perfect for scooping up all the last bites of the gigantic salad mixes (um, the only kind of salads you should be eating because they’re the best).

I’ve lamented about how I need one of these silver bowls for my own kitchen, not only for its usefulness but for the look of it. Maybe it’s just me, but I love silver. So a giant silver bowl would be a great addition to my table.

The salad bowls at Shady have stolen my heart – but to be truthful, their Powerhouse Salad comes close to second. I’m absolutely obsessed with this mix and was so glad when Cassie recommended I try it.

IMG_0120

The ingredients, including broccoli, sunflower seeds, and dried cranberries (so clearly this salad is fab) come together for a perfect blend of sweet and bitter. In my own version, I add goat cheese, which, ding ding ding! is the winner. To tie everything together, I created my own citrus dressing to finish off the dish. Believe me, you’ll want to give this one a try.

Oh. and did I mention the portobello mushrooms?

Copycat Powerhouse Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette

Ingredients
For the salad:

  • Roughly two cups of greens of choice (I like baby spring mix)
  • 3/4 c. fresh broccoli, chopped
  • 1 small carrot, grated or shredded
  • 1/2 granny smith apple, sliced
  • 2 tbsp. dried cranberries
  • 1 tbsp. roasted unsalted sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp. raw unsalted chopped walnuts
  • 1 portobello mushroom
  • 4 oz. chicken*
  • 1 tbsp. goat cheese

For the vinaigrette:

  • 1/3 c. freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1/4 c. lemon juice
  • 1/4 c. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 c. olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1 tsp. maple syrup

Directions

  1. Make dressing ahead of time, combining all ingredients in a mason jar or other dressing jar and shaking to mix. Refrigerate a few hours or overnight.
  2. Preheat a grill pan over medium-high heat.
  3. To a large (preferably silver 😉 ) salad bowl add spring greens, and on top of the greens add broccoli, carrot, apple, dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, and walnuts. Set aside.
  4. Cook the chicken on the grill pan, flipping once, for about 7 minutes per side. I covered mine to make sure the chicken was cooked through.
  5. Take chicken off the grill pan when the internal temperature is 160-65 degrees F. Let rest on a cutting board.
  6. Put the portobello mushroom on the grill pan for 2 minutes per side until just cooked through.
  7. Slice both the chicken and the portobello and add to salad.
  8. Top the salad with goat cheese and dressing.

*As a note, this could easily be made vegetarian by simply omitting the chicken and adding another portobello.

Questions of the Day:
>> Do you use certain bowls for certain meals?
>> What are your favorite salad toppings?
>> Am I really as strange as I make myself out to be?

23 comments

  1. If you’re strange, then so am I because I’m the exact.same.way with my dishes and flatware. Bowls especially have to be a certain way, and I prefer them to be shallow and open as opposed to deep. Let’s not even talk about my requirements for spoons 😉

  2. YUM this salad recipe sounds to die for… that combo sounds unreal. And I am the saaame way about my bowls / flatware!!! I have my designated smoothie bowls, veggie bowls, salad bowls and of course my favorite size spoons / forks. I thought I was the only one. And funny side note… my mom fell in LOVE with these awesome steel water glasses at one of our fav restaurants in Napa (Nor Cal), and one evening we were super wine tipsy and we decided it would be a great idea if she took one. So we stuffed it in her purse. Hahaha probably sounds insane but if you knew my mom you would know she is the furthest thing from a thief… annndd we use the glass all the time. Total win.

  3. Ooh@ I would love to have a big silver bowl like that for salads (I, too, feel the SAME way regarding dishes and flatware! Seriously, WHAT I put my food into makes a big difference in my enjoyment of it! I didn’t think it would, but your post pointed that out to me! Ha!) Anyways, where did you buy this silver bowl shown here on your post from???
    Thanks.
    ~Amy 🙂

    1. Honestly the bowl is like a million years old! It’s my parents, an old mixing bowl. I use it because it reminds me of those bowls at the restaurant haha! But the sides are too shallow to be perfect.

  4. Haha I kind of do this too! I sometimes wash bowls to use a certain sized one! Hey with things like yogurt and oatmeal it is totally necessary!

Leave a Reply

