Out to Dinner [MIMM #28]

Hey there! Monday is upon us once again, which for me means it’s time to fill out more job applications. I have to vent for a second – I do my best work when I am out of my house, my room, etc. At school, there were at least five different coffee shops I could go to to get into the zone. Now, I’m home, and there are no coffee shops less than twenty minutesΒ away from me (I’m not in downtown Pitt or something; we live in a suburb). What’s a girl to do!?

On Friday, I ended up heading out to work with my mom because there’s a Panera down the street from her. I set up shop and got to work. It didn’t hurt that she then bought me lunch πŸ˜‰

There’s a lot more marvelous to share about my weekend, today! A lot of the marvelous comes from delicious dinners out with friends. Thanks to Katie for hosting MIMM.

I had plans Friday night to grab dinner at Burgatory (a pretty cool Pittsburgh chain) at their new location with Kaitlyn. Unfortunately, when we got to the restaurant, the wait was OVER 2 HOURS. UM excuse me? Their burgers are good, but we decided the 80 people in line ahead of us could enjoy them for the evening, especially after I called a different location to see what the wait time was and rudely addressed and hung up on!

Instead, we headed to Mad Mex since Kaitlyn hadn’t been there before, anyway. I got a glass of white sangria to sip on that was pretty good as well as chips and salsa to start. Kaitlyn and I always seem to go to Mexican restaurants! For our meals, we both got quesadillas. They were fabulous and veggie-filled.

IMG_0010

On Saturday, I had to work for a few hours. Directly after, I had to see my brother off to his junior prom! I won’t lie – I teared up a bit when I saw him in his suit. He looked so grown up. Luckily I was wearing my sunglasses, so no one saw the tears.

IMG_0011

IMG_0050

Later, I drove down to the city to meet up with Erin and Cassie for dinner at a cute little Thai place called Smiling Banana Leaf. It was wonderful to see Erin again! These meet-ups will have to happen more often now that I’m home for good. We forgot to take a picture all-together. Oops!

IMG_0057

For my meal, I had the green curry. I really love my Thai to be spicy, so I got a 7 on their spice scale even though Cassie mentioned that their spice levels were on the hotter side. It was a really tasty curry with lots of vegetables, but I was definitely sweating a bit as I ate! My mouth was on fire (I guess in a good way, though!).

Sunday was full of lots of relaxing and movie-watching with my mom! Just the way I like it.

Questions of the Day:
>> How spicy do you like your food to be?Β 
>> What’s the longest you would wait at a restaurant?Β 

26 comments

  1. 2 hours? Unless theres a shopping plaza near by, my hungry stomach would be finding a new place. Actually, I would op for a spot @ the bar if it were open =) Haha! So jealous you were able to meet up with so many awesome bloggers this weekend. Lucky lady.

    1. The funny thing is I knew Cassie and Kaitlyn before all the blog stuff! So it was just really a good weekend with friends (who happen to have blogs haha) :p And yeah there was shopping nearby but it was already 730 so we were like noooo way.

  2. Hate when a restaurant I am really excited about going to has a huuuge wait, and hate even more when they are rude about it! Good choice on going somewhere else, and super good choice on the sangria! Also, so fun that you got to meet up with Erin! Love meeting up with other bloggers… we have a great blogger crew in NYC! Let me know if you’re ever in town. πŸ™‚

  3. 2 hours! Blimey! Not surprised you went somewhere else, especially if the other people were rude!

    I’m all for working in coffee shops (she says typing from Starbucks) except the man behind the counter was just like “you come here everyday don’t you?!” I replied “not EVERY day…maybe 2..or sometimes 3…” (My office is super near and I need my coffee and a change of scene). Cringe.

  4. Oh I am not a spicy person at all! Sometimes even the slightest bit of spice gets me choking! Give me a 1 on the spice scale πŸ™‚
    The longest I have waited was 3 hours at The Cheesecake Factory, we were at a very popular outdoor shopping mall on a pretty amazing day, it was also Mother’s Day too, so it was just a recipe for disaster, totally not worth the wait either!

  5. I’m the same way with doing my best work when I’m out of the house, which is kind of problematic since I work for home. Thankfully there’s a Starbucks about 100 feet from my building, buuuut I’m still trying to decide if that’s a good or bad thing πŸ˜† And girl, I’m a WIMP when it comes to spicy food. Even mild salsa is pushing it for me.

    1. Really??! That is exactly why I love salsa samplers because then you can get mild, hot and then one random thing or guac! I’m contemplating opening up my own coffee shop just so I have a place to work but that would kind of defeat the purpose :p

  6. I’m with you on the spicy foods – I have a not-so-secret love for hot sauce (which would explain why there’s about 7 bottles in my fridge right now)…
    And ya, I think about 40 minutes is my max on a restaurant, otherwise I’m finding a new place. Glad you guys had a great time together!

  7. The spicier, the better. I would have gone an 11. πŸ˜‰

    Remember when I used to be your brother too, huh? Whatever happened to that.

    Urgh, the waiting game. It’s apparently a thing to wait over 2 hours for brunch in Sydney or Melbourne. People actually enjoy it. I would enjoy eating them instead.

  8. I love spice! Which is weird because growing up I was a wuss about it. At a normal place i’ll probably wait 45 min-1 hour but if it’s something special I’ll wait longer (like the time I waited 3 hours for “the best lobster roll in Boston”)

  9. Hi Ang! My name is Mario. I was hoping you could answer a question I have about your blog. Send me an email when you get a chance. You can reach me at trucillo.mario (at) recallcenter (dot) com

Leave a Reply

