Slow Day, Good Eats [WIAW #44]

Heyoooo! How are ya this week? Things are pretty good over in these parts; the weather has been beautiful lately and things for school are certainly winding down.

Yesterday felt like the slowest passing day in the world, probably because I didn’t have a ton of work to do. I almost felt that “summer” feeling, where you’re like PLEASE give me something to do before I go crazy, but that was only until I discovered the show Veep and proceeded to watch the entire first season. It’s so good! It kind of reminds me of The Office, if they could say the f word on national tv.

Should I just turn this blog into a television blog? I feel like I have more opinions about tv shows than health and fitness as of late. That’s not to say those things aren’t happening – they are! How else do you kill an hour of your day? The gym. And the food is pretty typical for me, but it’s still tasty! Let’s see what I had to nom on yesterday. Thanks, Jenn, for hosting!

Breakfast

I had a major cereal craving yesterday, so I made my own. In this mix went oats, chia seeds, cinnamon, 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder, almonds, almond meal, shredded unsweetened coconut, strawberries and a banana. Hit the spot. I had some steamed spinach for some green power, too.

IMG_3693

Lunch

Ahhhh, lunch. Le sigh. The avo toast really isn’t going away. I try so hard and fail. I had my avocado and veganaise toast along with three Easter eggs and some baby carrots.

IMG_3696

Snack

I didn’t take a picture of my apple and PB, but I did snap a pic of a new kombucha flavor that pulled me through work. Highly recommend this one (if you like that kinda thing).

IMG_3699

Dinner

I felt pretty hungry by the time I got home, so I was happy I’d prepped dinner beforehand. I had some salsa chicken made with local raspberry salsa – it tastes like BBQ sauce! On the side I had brown rice and a buttload of green beans. Oh, and look! It’s light enough around dinner time now that the picture isn’t grossly dark!

IMG_3700

Dessert

I pulled out a dessert I hadn’t had in a while yesterday. Mug bowl cake! Woo hoo. I kind of just mixed a bunch of random measurements of stuff in, but it turned out pretty well. There’s even pumpkin in there! I topped with chocolate chips because duh.

IMG_3701

I promise I will respond to all your kind comments today! I have a TON of extra time later tonight, so you’ll be hearing back from me soon. Have a wonderful Wednesday! Eat something good.

Questions of the Day:
>> What’s one of your standby meals? The toast is becoming one of mine.
>> Anything new you’ve tried/watched/eaten/read lately?

38 comments

  1. Your salsa, chicken, rice, and green beans meal looks amazing! Yum! 🙂 My standby meal is usually a sweet potato popped in the oven really fast and some broccoli or green beans. I’ve been watching New Girl lately on Netflix and LOVE it! Highly recommend it if you have time to waste. Lol.

    1. It was deeeelish! I love New Girl! I’ve been an avid fan since it started, haha. It’s one of the best shows out there right now, IMO. Actually all of Fox’s Tuesday night shows have been killin’ it.

  2. I love meals that consist of a meat, rice, and green beans. Classic. My friend keeps telling me that I need to watch House of Cards, so I think I’m going to try that show next, now that all of my favorites have had their season finales.

  3. I would like to start a music blog and a TV blog. There goes my social life…

    So in my last month of college I made it my mission to eat everything in our kitchen and not spend money on food. I ate 3 year old frozen soups mixed with stale cereal. Good times! You’re eating wayyyy better than I did!

    Oh and I decided to bake cookies on my last day but all of the mixing bowls were packed. Don’t ask be what I did to mix them…

    1. I should have made that my mission but I’m a buttface and am too prissy to do that :X I need my normal food in my life lol. Plus I usually bought weekly anyway so all I really have left over is like rice and noodles and random oils and stuff, which I can just bring home with me. Please tell me you really didn’t mix soup with cereal.

      Let’s start an entertainment blog, it could be so good. You can do music, I can do TV (primarily). Cassie can be in on it, too. And whomever else is cultured.

    1. I get my kombucha either at Kroger because we have a really nice natural food section or at this little local natural food shop. But the thing is when I move back home I’ll have to find a new place to buy – not sure if Giant Eagle (my store at home) carries it.

  4. I’m kind of obsessed with the fact that you had Easter eggs for lunch. We didn’t colour any eggs this year (I KNOW!!!) but it’s topping my list of things to do next year, because really… what the heck is Easter without colourful eggs?! And thank you for reminding me that I need mug cakes back in my life. It’s been a while since I’ve had one and that TOTALLY needs to change.

    1. No dyeing eggs?!!? That’s a travesty. You’ll have to dye double the eggs next year I guess! You were actually the one who got me on a mug cake kick a few months ago and now it’s back on in full force.

  5. I’ve never have kombucha either! It’s on my to try list!
    My go to meal would have to be oatmeal – for breakfast or dinner 😀 and my new ‘thing’ of late is pickles…I used to hate them with a passion and now I put them on everything – weird!

    1. Ahhhh I hate pickles so much! It’s like my one no-no, never food. I can’t even stand it when restaurants will like put a pickle on the side of your plate cause then pickle juice gets on stuff… blech! But a lot of people like them. Maybe I will have a change of heart like you did?!

  6. Standby meal is definitely cereal! I adore breakfast in general so it’s a no-brainer to be honest! 😀 I’ve started adding almond breeze almond coconut to me brekkie and holy moly it’s flippen delicious!-a must have now! You should try it if you haven’t 😀 it’ll change your life and breakfast as a whole! I’ve started watching Dracula- it’s amazing and the main character(who was also in The Tutors back in the day) he is one fiiiiine peace of bootay! 😀 hehe!

    1. I adore breakfast, too. I would eat it for every single meal if I could. I’ve heard that the almond coconut milk is amaze, I really gotta give it a try! I bet I’d love it in my smoothies. What network is Dracula on? Or is it on Netflix or something?

      1. hehe! Snap 😀 you do, the almond coconutty flavour is to die for! I’ve tried it in smoothies too and it works like a magical element in them!- Try kiwi-banana combo with the Almond Almond coconut flavour= Life changer 😉 You can get it on Netflix I think but I live in South Africa and we have different networks to you guys teehee 😀

  7. I’ve never tried avo toast. I do have a question. What is the white stuff under your avocado? Is it cheese or cream cheese? And your bowl cake looks delicious! What all do you throw in there? Oatmeal has been my standby breakfast for a long time. And recently I’ve gotten into Downton Abbey, but school just keeps me from watching it as much as I would like.

    1. It’s veganaise haha. I’m obsessed with the stuff, it’s kind of a problem. I think for the bowl cake I put in an egg, some almond milk, carob powder, coconut flour, almond meal, vanilla extract, and some baking powder! I’m still working on getting it to the right consistency haha. I’ve heard so many good things about Downton.

  8. Funny/awesome that you made your own cereal, because that’s something I have been thinking about doing for a while now but haven’t taken the plunge! Yours sounds delicious. I’m totally saving this recipe and making it ASAP. And ooh that kombucha flavor sounds right up my alley… I’ve definitely gotta try that one. And “chocolate chips because duh” made me smile and um so true. xo

    1. It’s super easy to do! Plus then I don’t go through a whole box of cereal in like five seconds. Yes try that flavor! It was super good. It actually tasted like it had a hint of grapefruit, too, if you like that! Obvi chocolate chips are a must :p

  9. I’m 100% on the avocado toast train lately…it is pretty fabulous! That, with eggs on top is a favourite standby meal lately. As for new shows….I started watching season 10 of Whose Line Is It Anyway and it makes me so, so happy. That show is amazing.

    1. I feel like everyone is having a maaaaajor avo moment right now. Which is awesome, obviously. I have to try the egg in the avo hole thing… you just reminded me of that. Can you believe I’ve never watched Who’s Line?!

  10. I couldn’t tell you the lat time I watched tv, although my boyfriend and I did act like real adults and watch frozen this weekend. Disney movies are always a big weakness for me. Avo toast is so good, I had it for lung for a few weeks in a row tell I cut into a bad avo and have been scared to pick up more.

  11. Is Veep on HBO? Maybe I’ll watch it if I ever finish the other million shows I have. I tried a blue sweet potato and it was delissssh. Other than that you know I don’t eat anything different. I really swear I’m going to start mixing it up soon!

  12. Avocado toast is one of my fave standby meals. It always delivers! And I love kombucha! Such a great beverage!

Leave a Reply

