Alternative Easter Weekend [MIMM #27]

Hello there! I hope you had a wonderful weekend and that if you celebrated Easter it was a good holiday for you. This year Easter was a little different for me – for the first time ever I wasn’t home with my family. I was feeling pretty sad about all of that on Friday evening, but the weekend definitely picked up after that. To my surprise, my alternative Easter weekend was actually marvelous (except that I kept forgetting yesterday was a holiday)…!

Thanks to Katie for hosting MIMM.

On Saturday after the farmer’s marketing, I went hiking around different places in Athens with Kaitlyn! This is called Strouds. The lake views were so beautiful!

IMG_3649

Kaitlyn and I were dead-set on finding this other place called Bong Hill (don’t ask about the name) that supposedly has a great view of Athens. The first time we attempted to find it, we drove way too far past the trail opening. Thankfully a friend steered up in the right direction, but we still ended up climbing the wrong path. It was so steep at first! We encountered this cool rock I have to show you. I think it’s known as Witches Hill.

IMG_3653

We walked a little to the left and discovered we were in kind of the right place, so we kept walking and eventually wound up in our original destination. It did not disappoint. Happy faces!

IMG_3656

IMG_3658

 

IMG_3669

 

Then I tried to take my first panoramic photo ever. So fancy.

IMG_3659

Anyway, that’s the lovely Athens, OH from above. Hiking all day made me really hungry and kind of sunburnt only on one arm, which was unfortunate, but what fortunate was that we had a dinner date planned for none other than Casa. Margaritas, chips, salsa, guac, and quesadillas for both of us!

IMG_3678

 

On Sunday morning, I woke up to find Easter eggs hidden for me by my roommates. I always hunt eggs in the morning with my brother, so I’d been telling them how I was sad about not doing it this year. They hid them in the best places: coffee pot, Brita filter, microwave, blender – all places I use regularly. They also put one up in our fire alarm because they always set it off. I cracked up (hehe no pun intended).

IMG_3679

Kellie and I went to church, and later in the day we took a really long walk in the sunshine.

IMG_3681

And finally, in the evening, we dyed Easter eggs!

IMG_3684

This is my pride and joy. I call it “fade to yellow.” So original.

IMG_3683

 

Let’s hope this week is just as marvelous as the weekend!

Questions of the Day:
>> How do you usually dye eggs (if you do)? Solid, glitter, rainbow, etc.? 
>> Favorite hiking setting? Lake, mountain, flat ground?

 

14 comments

  1. I’m sorry you couldn’t be with your family this Easter, but it looks like you still had a great weekend! I love that your roommates hid Easter eggs for you to hunt! Those are some good friends!

  2. I can totally relate to your Easter, since I had to be back at school today for my final two days of classes I didn’t get to spend Easter with my family either for the very first time. I spent the afternoon getting ready for the week and going to coffee with a friend! But I must say you have some awesome roommates for doing that for you 🙂

  3. Hikes are AMAZING. As of recently, I have found a new love for mountains and hiking. I like going in the early mornings or later in the evenings. Once you get to the top, the view just makes the experience so much more better. 🙂
    Aww, you have such sweet roommates!

Leave a Reply

