Spring Vegetable Chicken Soup

This post is dedicated to Arman, who yelled at me yesterday for “posting so late,” because today’s post, like all others this week, will show up on his feed “late.” To me, it’s a normal time. I get it though, the later I post, the later it shows up for him. But let me explain why this is happening: I’m flying by the seat of my pants, here.

Spring Vegetable Chicken Soup 1

I’m trying as best I can to cook recipes, etc. in the little time I’m actually home during the day. Then, it’s even more difficult to take pictures because I’m usually not home during the right daylight hours. Aaaaand then, the weekends have been dedicated to me hanging out with friends, which I’m not going to sacrifice right now.

So, that brings me to today. I made this chicken soup at night on Sunday, but I had no time to actually photograph it until this morning, but only after it was light enough. And even then, the pics aren’t in the perfect light… but #sorryimnotsorry. But okay, Arman, let me tell you this: I do promise to start getting posts up earlier just for your Australian butt starting May 4. Hows that?

Spring Vegetable Chicken Soup 2

On a slightly different note, do you know how difficult it is to make chicken soup with spinach in it look appealing? I KNOW. It’s kind of ugly. At least you’re still getting the recipe, right?

Spring Vegetable Chicken Soup

Makes 6-8 main meal servings

For the broth**:

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole chicken, about 3-4 lbs.
  • 2 celery stalks, halved
  • 1/2 yellow onion
  • 2 carrots, halved
  • 2 large cloves garlic, slightly smashed but still together
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • 2 tbsp. poultry seasoning

Directions:

  1. Put all ingredients in a large pot and cover with water.
  2. Heat over high until boiling.
  3. Simmer broth for about an hour and a half, or until the chicken is cooked through.
  4. Take veggies out of soup and discard.
  5. Set chicken aside.
  6. Strain soup if you’d like to (this helps to get the nasty foam out).

Spring Vegetable Chicken Soup 3

For the soup:

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium carrots, chopped
  • 4 stalks celery, chopped, leaves included
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp. ghee or other oil
  • 1.5 tsp. parsley flakes
  • 1 tbsp. poultry seasoning
  • 12 oz. package frozen peas
  • 9 oz. package frozen asparagus*
  • 8 oz. package mushrooms, quartered
  • 2 c. frozen spinach
  • Chicken (from above)
  • Broth (from above)**

Directions:

  1. In the same pot as the broth you cooked (now empty but not washed) melt ghee.
  2. Sauté carrots, celery, onion and garlic until veggies start to get a little soft.
  3. After about five minutes add in a few spoonfuls of broth and let cook.
  4. In the meantime, take the chicken off of the bones.
  5. Add remaining broth and seasonings to the pot. Cook for about 20 minutes.
  6. Add in frozen veggies, mushrooms, and chicken, but not the spinach.
  7. Cook for an additional 20-30+ minutes, or until the soup is boiling.
  8. Add in spinach.

*You could use fresh asparagus (it would stay firmer) but I’m cheap so I didn’t ooooops.

**You could use store bought broth, but I personally prefer my chicken soup made from scratch. If you were using store broth, you would need about six cups plus some water (maybe 2 cups). Then you could just add in chicken to cook with the soup itself. I recommend making it from scratch, though.

I think this soup would be great served with quinoa! In fact, I made a batch today so I could add some into my soup for dinner.

Questions of the Day:
>> Have you ever made chicken soup from scratch?
>> How do you juggle all of your responsibilities? 

21 comments

  1. Haha, I always read your posts a day behind because I read blogs first thing after I sit down at my desk! But it works for me, and I still don’t really miss anything!! I’ve never made chicken broth from scratch, so that means I’ve never made chicken SOUP from scratch. This looks delicious though!

  2. I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to make chicken soup look amazing…but we all know it taste fabulous 😉 Love chicken noodle soup but I definitely don’t make it enough. Might have to change that soon, because apparently winter is still refusing to die…

  3. I have never cooked a whole chicken, my versions of homemade chicken noodle soup include chicken breast and carton broth. The whole chicken cooking still kind of scares me. However, this soup sounds fantastic!

  4. I tackled my first chicken soup from scratch recently! And now my Mom thinks I’m becoming her and showed up at my apartment with a bag full of chicken bones to make stock (apparently they make the best stock?). They are currently sitting in my freezer and I feel like someone is gonna open it and feel like Dexter.

    And don’t listen to Arman. He knows nothing. He is Australian after all…

    Hi A! Hope your “meetings” are terrible.

  5. Whew, I was excited for this recipe and let me tell you.. it does not fail! I love a good bowl on chicken soup or veggie soup. Combining the two just makes it 2x better! 😀
    Yours will be the first I try to make from scratch.
    I make a list to juggle my responsibilities. 🙂

  6. Fail whale. Come may 4th, IT will be no good as it’s Australia’s daylight saving time.

    But that’s okay…you’ll just have to have a late bloomer passing by. I love chicken soup but must admit, unless mother makes it, I never touch it. Now I have no excuse!

  7. I’ve been struggling to get my posts done too especially with work travel I’ve been wanting to spend more of my weekends just hanging out with ppl not blogging.

    This soup looks so warming and delicious. It is not quite soup weather here yet but it is definitely getting colder.

  8. You’re so #fancy making broth from scratch. I could never because I’m too lazy. This soup looks great – especially because I’m cold from eating a smoothie bowl.

    I don’t know how I balance everything. I don’t, I guess. Stuff just doesn’t get done. I need more hours in the day.

  9. This looks great, Ang! I’m super intimidated by making soup from scratch for some reason but maybe now I can muster up some courage. Thanks for another ass-kicking workout this mornin.

Leave a Reply

