Carbs, Carbs, Carbs [Spill It Sundays #12]

Heyyyy Sunday! How ya doin’? Today we’re talking carbs for Arman’s Spill It Sunday link-up. Let’s get to it!

thebigmansworld

What’s your all-time favorite carb-based dish?
Hmmmm I’m going to be boing and say spaghetti. It’s what I’ve been craving lately every time I go to an Italian restaurant!

IMG_2352

What is your favorite fruit?
Strawberries! Although it could be a toss up between that and watermelon. I had a serious watermelon moment last summer that will probably resurface in a few months.

IMG_0607

What is your favorite grain?
Rolled oats!

What is your favorite starchy vegetable?
Pumpkin! I LOVE pumpkin. Typical.

Which carb receives unfair flack? Which carb is overrated?
Lately I’ve been seeing people hate on spaghetti squash, which is totally unfair. Personally, it does satisfy my my need for pasta when I don’t want real noodles – and I just told you spaghetti was my fave carb-based dish. So there hataaaas. We’re all diff!

Okay and not that I don’t love kabocha – because I do – but what I think is overrated about it is that you have to search for it like it’s the magical leprechaun stash or something, which is so annoying. I mean it’s good, but jeez.

IMG_3369

What is your perception of this macronutrient?
So, if I’m going to be honest, I’m still working on and evolving my perception of carbs. I was one of the people who fell into the “low-carb everything carbs are bad and the devil and they will kill you” trend. I’ve said that before, and I’ve said that I know better now. Carbs don’t just equal bread, etc., but it’s still hard for me to sometimes tell myself that I need these denser carbs to survive. I’m just being honest, here. If I feel bloated or crappy I automatically assume it’s the carbs, when in reality it probably is not. But that’s just a by product of stupid media assumptions. And I shouldn’t worry if I want pancakes. Those aren’t the devil, either.

IMG_2841

I have to also say that it really irks me when I hear people say, “I’m cutting out carbs.” Uhhhh okay. Vegetables are carbs. And you’re about to go down a salad. Full of carbs. So no, you’re not cutting them out, you never will completely. I wish I could just shout it to the world so that not everyone makes the same mistake as I did.

What benefits do carbs play in your personal eating habits?
I do eat carbs – every day. Veggies, fruit, grains, all of that. I’ve been trying to work on making sure to have one dense carb at every meal. However, I am still kind of picky when it comes to what grains I will eat. I have a terrible stigma against white rice, and I limit my white potato consumption. It’s dumb, I know. I have no reason to fear the white potato. I’m trying to get over it. Frankly, with the rice thing, I just like brown better.

Also, I’ve been using pasta made from brown rice and quinoa instead of wheat for the past few months. I like the way it makes me feel better than wheat pasta. And Ezekiel bread is another carby food that is having a major moment for me now. YUM.

IMG_3451

And that’s a… wrap (hehe carb puns). I’ll talk to you tomorrow!

Questions of the Day:
>> What is your perception of carbs?
>> Favorite carb-based meal?

10 comments

  1. I love how a lot of people just equate carbs with grains. Ummmm no. That salad, fruit or yogurt? All the carbs! Delicious, delicious carbs.
    I tend to avoid white rice, but I think that’s me internalizing media messages too much. I remember reading once that white rice is a ‘nutritional black hole’ so I don’t really eat it anymore. But sometimes you just need fluffy, white rice.

  2. I am so glad you also mentioned that people don’t understand that carbs are in everythingggg. I have always loved carbs but I have evolved away from the “typical” carbs to more real food sources and I do feel so much better and more nourished.

  3. Spaghetti is good. All the time.
    I love adding strawberries to my oats. They add such a nice sweetness. 🙂
    I like spaghetti squash. It can be used in so many different ways. It still kinda amazes me how stringy it gets so easily.
    When people tell me they are cutting out carbs it bothers me so much as well -____-

  4. Confession (please don’t hate me), but I’m not a fan of strawberries OR watermelon. I know I know what the F is wrong w/ me?? Ha Ha Ha! Oh & Kabocha is always on sale here. I could eat Ezekiel bread for every meal. Cinnamon raisin for breakfast, wrap for lunch & the flaxseed for dinner.

  5. I used to be so scared of carbs… and I was also miserable to be around. I’ve realized I need them to fuel up for all the exercise I do. There’s bad carbs, yeah, like processed stuff, but 1/2 cup of oats everyday isn’t going to make me fat.

Leave a Reply

