Hidden Greens Vanilla Almond Muffins

Warning: do not let the colors of these muffins alarm you.

Hidden Greens Vanilla Almond Muffin 1

I promise, they’re safe to eat. And seasonal! And festive! I’ve only been talking about green food all week, after all.

I made these for a few reasons. I’m going though a current healthy muffin obsession (although the obsession is unhealthy, the muffins are not), one of the easiest ways to get veggies in my day is to hide them in things, and my beautiful and brilliant friend Davida is hosting a fun little holiday link-up for green foods this week!

I needed something that was budget-friendly, meaning I didn’t need to go out and buy several extraneous things to make it. Using spinach, which I always have on hand, was a no-brainer. I’ve put spinach in oatmeal before and couldn’t taste it, so why not muffins?

Hidden Greens Vanilla Almond Muffin 4

I love this recipe because I can use it on my yogurt bowls, as a quick snack smeared with almond butter, or as a little dessert with some chocolate. I have to be clear with one thing: these are not mint flavored. A lot of people assume that green equals mint all the time, but not these babies. They have a slight vanilla flavor, a lot of almond flavor, and are pretty darn festive if I do say so myself.

Hidden Greens Vanilla Almond Muffin 3.jpg

Hidden Greens Vanilla Almond Muffins

Makes 12 muffins
Adapted from Green Banana Pumpkin Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 c. spinach, packed
  • 1/4 c. almond butter
  • 3 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c. coconut sugar*
  • 1/2 c. almond meal
  • 1 c. brown rice flour*
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare 12 muffin liners by spraying them with nonstick spray.
  2. Add almond milk and eggs to a blender or food processor; pulse a few times.
  3. Add spinach, and blend until spinach is in a liquid form.
  4. Add almond butter, coconut sugar, and vanilla extract. Blend.
  5. Add remaining ingredients and combine until smooth.
  6. Evenly divide mixture between prepared muffin liners (or in a prepared tin).
  7. Bake for 12-14 minutes. Let cool, and enjoy!

Notes: You can probably use any type of sweetener you prefer: honey, maple syrup, etc. Also, the flour is most likely interchangeable as well, but I haven’t tested that.

Questions of the Day:
>> What are some foods you’ve snuck greens into?
>> What’s one food you always have on hand?

19 comments

  1. I’ve always wondered if it was possible to sneak spinach into muffins or breads — thank you for proving that it is 🙂 And foods I ALWAYS have on hand? Oats, bananas, yogurt, and AB… I’m pretty sure I could live off those for a good long while, and I’ll make emergency grocery runs I’m basically any weather just to restock.

  2. I love the addition of spinach to add that nutrition factor! I put ‘hidden’ greens in pancakes and waffles. I’ve never tried it in oatmeal, I’m intrigued to try that.. I think I will be whipping up some of these bad boys soon. They looks so fluffy!

  3. Gotta love spinach and it’s ability to hide in everything :-p I haven’t tried sneaking it into muffins or breads yet, so that’s clever! Usually, I sneak spinach into smoothies and tomato sauce.
    I always have spinach, protein powder, and bananas on hand…so no matter what, I can always make a smoothie 😉

  4. You have become quite the photographer & baker over the past few months – which btw I’m not complaining AT ALL! Keep them coming my dear.

    Foods i’ve snuck green into: eggs, waffles, baked goods, oatmeal, smoothies, veggie burgers, pancakes.

  5. THESE LOOK SO GOOD!!!! After the green pancakes I am whole-heartedly convinced that spinach needs to be put into everything. I’m gonna be that crazy Mom at the bake sales who is selling green cookies…#noshame. Thanks for linking up boo and for sending me that sweet dance last night 😉

Leave a Reply

