Fats Nourish The Body [Spill It Sundays #11]

I’ve been dropping the ball on these Spill It Sundays posts. I’m sorry Arman. Don’t hate me.

The Big Man's World

I really love the topic we’re covering today – fats! Can you believe I used to think fats were bad? Can you believe that a good portion of people still think fats are bad? I’ll be the first to say that I got caught up in the low-fat diet fads of years past. Was I crazy? No, I just was listening to information without doing my own research. Now, I know that fats won’t make you fat. You kind of need fat to survive. There are countless resources that will tell you that high-fat diets are actually beneficial. Since I’m no dietician, I needed to figure that out on my own. Of course, everyone is different and ultimately, you have to discover what works for you. Just because I eat a higher-fat diet doesn’t mean you have to, but I would encourage you to look into it. You have to eat in a way that works for you, not what works for someone else.

I can identify with Arman because he is working figuring out what works for his own diet right now; I think this is always a changing, evolving process, but currently, I am totally on board with his philosophy, which is “WholeArman” (a play on words for Whole30). The brainiac thing is, no one else can do  WholeArman because it is specific to what works for him. One thing he’s focusing on is fat intake and its sources, so I’m going to share some of my favorite ways to include fat in my diet. It wouldn’t be called Nutty for Life if I didn’t eat fats, right?

What is your favorite fat source?
Lately, I’ve really been loving almonds as a fat source. They’re my favorite nut to snack on. I like to add them as a side to meals a lot or top my oats or yogurt with them. I like to make my own almond butter, too! I’ve been obsessed with making breakfast bowls that include greek yogurt, almond meal, chia seeds, almonds, cinnamon, and crumbled homemade muffins. They’re really yummy. And almond butter is divine, too. Can’t forget that!

bfast21dsd

What is your favorite nut butter?
Okay, I know peanuts are technically legumes, but I consider them nuts. PeaNUT butter is my favorite nut butter. I just think they have the word ‘nut’ in them for a reason, and that reason is so that I could worship peanut butter as if it is its own food group. I mean, I even dedicated a month to four different peanut butter recipes. You can bet that’s happening again this year, too. Long story short: I’m nutty for peanut butter.

IMG_2267

What fat receives unfair flack? What fat is overrated?
Saturated fat from the right sources gets unfair flack, in my opinion. Like I said, I’m not a dietician, and I can’t explain to you in correct scientific terms why some saturated fats are good for you. So, I’m going to send you over to Robyn’s post about coconut oil. Coconut products are my favorite form of saturated fat: I put coconut milk in my coffee, cook with coconut oil, I make coconut butter, and I even put coconut oil on my face and body.

IMG_3043

As for an overrated fat… personally, I don’t think there is one. Some people might say coconut oil, and I guess I could say that because it’s gotten so much attention recently. I won’t though, because I’ve found that it has both excellent internal and external benefits. In fact, as I’m writing this, I’m sitting in my robe because I made my own coconut oil scrub in the shower and then followed up with more coconut oil to moisturize, and it’s soaking in! If we say a fat is overrated, we give negative connotations to the word ‘fat’ in general, and I’m sick of seeing that sh*t in the media. Fat isn’t overrated – it’s a necessary nutrient.

What is your perception of this macronutrient?
My own perception of fat has changed over the last few years drastically. As I mentioned above, I was queen of the low-fat this and low-fat that diet. It was, for a lack of a better word, gross. I would be hesitant of putting olive oil on my salads or cooking meals in any type of oil that didn’t spray out of a can. I didn’t know all of the benefits that fat can provide us, specifically in the brain (<– This article talks a lot about the Paleo diet, which I don’t 100% agree with, but I do find the explanation of why fats are good for the brain helpful). Now, my perception of fats has done a complete 180. I like whole fat foods. I like to add oil to my dishes. I like to eat the egg yolks! It makes them taste better! Plus, I don’t have to worry about added sugar to make up for that lack of flavor.

IMG_2073

What benefits do fats play in your personal eating habits?
I’ve found that fat is extremely crucial to my satiety. The 21 Day Sugar Detox helped me a lot in that discovery. Now, I make sure there is some sort of fat included in every single meal and at every snack, as best I can. Fats are not the enemy anymore. Fats nourish the body.

Basically, fats are good for you. You can find the research to prove it if you look, just like I did. There’s nothing more powerful than knowledge, especially when it comes to finding out what works for our bodies. And that’s the WholeAngela perspective.

Questions of the Day:
>> What is your perception of fats?
>> What is your favorite nut or nut butter?

23 comments

    1. That’s so funny! I’ll have to see if there are any nut butter addicts searching and finding my site too. I’ve never tried flax seed oil, and my tastebuds only became accustomed to avocado last year!

  1. I love coconut oil for inside and outside the body! And as someone who currently has 3 jars of almond butter in various states of consumption I can totally appreciate your nut butter love too 🙂

  2. I’m 100% with you on the peanut butter love. And screw the whole ‘it’s a legume’ thing…it’s peaNUT!! Bah. It is wonderful. Be proud of me, I actually made homemade peanut butter for the first time yesterday!
    I’m focusing on increasing my fats these days, and I love it. I feel so much more satisfied after meals and snacks if I add nut butter or used oil to cook with.

  3. Almond butter is the best but once I made a white chocolate PB and that was probably the best thing in the world! I ate it my the spoonful : ) I like to add fats to my meals because they help me feel satisfied which I need during my long work days. This usually means, avocado, nuts, and olive oil. I need to investigate coconut oil some more because I think I have that same thing from TJ’s in my pantry but haven’t done anything with it!

  4. I’ll be honest I’m still “that” majority, I need some convincing or teaching or something! I’m really stubborn, so I’m reading all the fact but because it’s what I’ve been taught since little and the society I live in(high-school environment, hello right there -_-) Do you have any convincing resources for me!? P.s awesome post 🙂

  5. Completely random but the first blog posts f yours I came across was your peanut butter series- I think that’s when I knew we would be friends!

    I’m glad the 21dsd helped you see the benefits of fats and also how it worked with YOUR body. Preach it bruddah

  6. I fell into the whole “Don’t eat fats” diet. Oh how I missed out on so much! Good thing I am making up for lost time now though. 😀
    I love adding almonds to my lunch. I remember when I went on a whole kick of making my own peanut butter and almond butter.

  7. “I’ve found that fat is extremely crucial to my satiety.” ME TOO GIRLFRIEND. That’s the best thing that came out of 21DSD for me… oh, and knowing I don’t need sweets all the time. Almonds are MY CURRENT favorite nut too. We also have this unsalted mixed nuts from Costco that are the bomb.com – almonds, pecans, walnuts, brazil nuts and my fave – cashews. Oh and pistachios.

    1. dude theres this mix from costco that has almonds,s pumpkin seeds, dried edamame and dried mixed berries and I die for it. Can’t keep it in the house it’s so good!

      And Ang I mix coconut oil with essential oils and use it as moisturizer. People tell me I smell like a cookie. Mission accomplished.

Leave a Reply

