Rosemary Sweet Potato and Carrot Pancakes [Fish Fry Fridays]

First things today I have to wish my beautiful, wonderful friend Cassie a happy 25th birthday! She’s off galavanting around the south right now, but I wish she were here so I could celebrate with her. Happy Birthday, my friend! You’re not old yet, so don’t sweat it. Love ya lotz with a z.

IMG_1770

Yesterday I mentioned that the Lenten seasons started on Wednesday. One of my favorite parts of Lent is actually going to a fish fry. Since Fridays during lent are reserved for non-meat meals, people usually resort to fish fries to help them find dinner! Even though I love fish fries, something I’m not too keen on is their lack of vegetables and anything not the color brown. A fish fry menu typically includes: fried fish sandwiches, pizza, mac ‘n cheese, french fries, potato pancakes, coleslaw, fried shrimp, haluski… basically, if it’s greasy and cheesy, you’ll eat it at a fish fry.

That’s why, for the next several weeks, I’m doing a new series called “Fish Fry Fridays.” Personally, I don’t think that a time when you’re supposed to be fasting is the ideal time to indulge in fried, overly cheesed, vegetable-less meals every week. You might disagree, but when you can make those items a little healthier and still go meatless, why wouldn’t you? Each Friday during Lent, I’m going to be remaking fish fry favorites to be a little healthier.

fishfryfridays.jpg

I know that potato pancakes can be eaten any time of the year, but I often see them at fish fries. That, or you get deep fried french fries. This week, I decided to reinvent your typical potato pancake or french fry. Yes, there’s still oil involved. It’s only minimal. Plus, you know every ingredient that goes into these, kids. And they’re gluten-free!

rosemary sweet potato and carrot pancake 3

Funny story (that actually really annoyed me): my house doesn’t have a normal vegetable shredder, so I went to the dollar store to try to find one. Well, I bought the wrong size! So my original plans changed, but I ended up making sweet potato and carrot pancakes.

Rosemary Sweet Potato and Carrot Pancakes

Serves 1 as a main dish, 2 as a side
Gluten-free, grain-free, dairy-free, vegetarian

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 3-4 small carrots
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 sprigs rosemary, leaves taken off branch and chopped if you prefer
  • 1 tsp. dried onion flakes
  • dash of salt and pepper, to taste
  • extra virgin olive oil

Directions

  1. Roast sweet potato and carrots until very soft.
  2. Purée sweet potato (skins on or off) and carrot in food processor or blender (or smash them if they are soft enough and you don’t have those appliances!).
  3. Add egg whites to mixture and combine.
  4. In a nonstick skillet on medium-high heat, heat a small amount of oil.
  5. Drop small batches of the pancake mixture into the oil and cook, flipping after about two minutes. The pancakes should be getting brown when you flip them.
  6. Drain off any excess oil on a paper towel.

Note: These “pancakes” are sensitive to flipping. Be careful!

rosemary sweet potato and carrot pancake 6

Serve these pancakes with some unsweetened applesauce or plain greek yogurt for dipping. I like them just by themselves!

Question of the Day:
>>Do you like potato pancakes?
>>Are you going to any fish fries this year?

25 comments

  1. DUDE!!!!! stop pretending this is for Fish Fry Fridays….this was so written for #wholeArman. amazing. Legit going to try and make them this weekend- although maybe without a sweet potato but white. Great recipe buddy!

    LOL taken off branch. How about out of a packet?

  2. Omg girl, I can’t even explain how good these look! I’m always looking for a healthier side during fish fries – sometimes you actually can get sick of fried foods! I’m sure I’ll be going to lots of fish fries this year!

  3. SO PROUD OF YOU!!! And I didn’t even have to harass you. Potato pancakes are in my jew blood. Thanks for educating me on all things Lent. I feel so cultured now. There’s likely some Jewish holiday going on now that I am unaware of but one day I’ll return the favour 🙂

  4. Ooo those look so good! And SO true about Fish Fries… I remember going to them when I was little and ODing on the mac ‘n cheese. Not really health-friendly and the no veggies thing would really bother me now.

  5. This look so tasty! I’ve only ever made zucchini/squash pancakes and they were VERY sensitive to flipping.

  6. My word! What a very creative [and delicious] sounding recipe. I’ve actually never had either a potato pancake, or been to a fish fry before. I’m sure for everyone whose celebrating Lent, this will be a fantastic substitute. I know for me personally even though I don’t celebrate lent, I’m ridiculously excited to see all the other recipes you come up w/ 🙂

Leave a Reply

