Fueling Up for March [WIAW #39]

Seriously, friends are the best medicine. Between watching the final few episodes of the first season of American Horror Story (Em hadn’t seen it!) to just chatting away about life, hanging with my bestie yesterday was just what I needed. It was super chill and wonderful. It’s great to have friends who are on the same page as you. Exhibit A:

IMG_3317

You know what else rocks? Good eats. Yesterday was full of them! I haven’t done a What I Ate Wednesday for quite a while, so I thought I’d join the party today. Thanks to Jenn for hosting the link-up!

I’m making it my goal for March to fill up on lots of whole, good-for-you foods. That may or may not be because 1) it is birthday month and with birthday month comes a buttload of cake and 2) we’re getting to the home stretch of college and I’m sure you can all anticipate the celebrations that are about to ensue. I need to be fueled well and balancing all of the fun!

Breakfast

I really enjoyed my breakfast yesterday. The star of the show was three eggs and some whites that I craftily cooked with spinach and olive oil and folded like an omelette, but I managed to keep the yolks intact. It was fab. On the side I had some cherry tomatoes, almonds, and a banana.

IMG_3314

Lunch

Lunch yesterday was so typically me. It included a few of my favorite things: chicken, sweet potato fries cooked with olive oil, and cauliflower. The ketchup is unpictured, but can we all just anticipate at this point that ketchup is obviously included? Good.

IMG_3315

Snack

This snack is so typical, too. I’ve been craving almond butter more than PB lately (who am I?), but I haven’t had a chance to get to TJs to get some. So PB with green apples and baby carrots it was!

IMG_3316

Dinner

After Emily did indeed come back after her hair appointment, my brother cooked us up some stir fry after I did the prep work. Into mine went bok choy, broccoli, mushrooms, garlic, onion, carrots, green pepper and chicken. It was a huge bowl of stir fry!

IMG_3319

 

I wonder how today will stack up? I think it includes some Panera… πŸ™‚

Questions of the Day:
>>What do you like to put in your stir fries?
>>What’s on your agenda today?Β Hot yoga, Panera, Ash Wednesday Mass, and visiting my grandma!

22 comments

  1. That stir fry looks heavenly – I love a big mix of veggies with chicken or tofu and a tahini sauce, delicious! Today I am working, hopefully booking a trip down to the south of Argentina, yoga class also and then dinner and drinks – phewph! Have a great day πŸ™‚

  2. I usually make my stir fry with the frozen veggie stir fry mixture. That simplifies things, makes it to where I don’t have to chop anything up, and gives me a variety of veggies that I wouldn’t have otherwise thought of (like snow peas). On the agenda for today is…work. Haha, the same thing that’s on the agenda every week day!

  3. When are you going to yoga little miss? I should just text you that. Anyway in my once to twice a week stir fry I put mushrooms, broccoli, onions, garlic, peppers, carrots & maybe sugar snap peas if I’m fancy. Either with salmon, scallops or chicken. Then with zoodle or soba noodles or quinoa. Yum.

  4. So you came around to panera eh???

    On the agenda today: get my ass out of bed, make a recipe, shoot, spend the afternoon working on Kewaza, workout (maybe) then friends over for dinner.

    Now to get myself out of bed…

  5. Girrrrrl. You roasted those fries to perfection. I love everything a little extra roasted. Brilliant idea with the stir fry. I’ve seriously got to stop making dinner such a big to-do and start whipping up rainbow stir frys. When I do make stir fry I tend to add onions, broccoli, zucchini, and shrimp πŸ™‚

    1. Arman I am still a poor college student! I can only afford frozen vegetables. Roasted will come all in good time…. Alllll in good time. *evil laugh* We cooked our stir fry I sesame oil- the only way!

  6. Woah, how’d you keep the yolks intact? Mine just run off in all different directions! Haha.
    I love sweet potato fries.
    Apples and almond butter just make the perfect combo. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

