Friends Are Part Of A Healthy Diet, Too

I think that one aspect of healthy living that people often overlook is mental health outside of the ED realm. I believe that it’s so important to have people around you who you can rely on, talk to, vent to, have fun with – in a word, friends. I’m also a firm believer in quality over quantity. I would always rather have a few really great friends that I can come to both in times of need and just to make me happy than a ton of acquaintances.

I feel like there should be some type of warning on foods like chocolate, wine, pasta, etc. that says “better with friends! – they’re part of a healthy diet, too.” Last night, I met up with Cassie, who is one of my closest friends. Of course I had to see her while I was home for break!

After a little location fiasco that included us driving to the wrong place, walking to the wrong place, then finally driving to the correct place, we ended up at Emporio: A Meatball Joint.

IMG_3311

Both of us ordered the same thing (not surprising); four chicken meatballs (split two ways) topped with spinach almond pesto acted as the main dish, and we rounded out the meal with a really tasty, somewhat spicy arugula, mozzarella, almond and tomato salad.

IMG_3310

Of course, we had some wine on the side. And lots of good friend moments. It all got me thinking about how friends are essential to my well-being. They support me in whatever I do, tell me when I need to chill out, make me laugh endlessly, and appreciate me for what I am (some would argue that I’m a bit nutty).

Today, I’m hanging out with another friend, Emily. I can always count on her for a great time, even if we’re just relaxing. That’s the other thing about really good friends – they’re no-fuss. What really matters is spending time together, especially when you don’t get to see each other for a while. Here’s a throwback of Emily and I just because I can:

100_6138

We can’t forget the friends who get you off your butt and out on the town, either. Those friends are really important, too.

IMG_2021

Today, I want you to take a little moment to think of all the reasons you love your friends. Maybe shoot them a text or give them a call, one of them at least, just to say thanks for being a friend. New friends, old friends… all friends are part of a healthy diet.

Happy Mardi Gras! I wish I were in Nola right now.

Question of the Day:
>>Do you agree that friends are part of a healthy diet?

22 comments

  1. Love this! Friends are a huge part of our mental well being. As my Rd always reminds me, some things are good for the soul, others are good for the body. I think friends definitely fit into the soul category. I know when I make an effort with my friends I am a happier person and therefore healthier person. Great post 🙂

  2. absolutely love this! A lot of people seem to think that a healthy lifestyle includes eating and exercising, but social/emotional health is definitely a huge part of the equation. That is one downside of working at home – I feel like I’m missing out on that element of social interaction. So thank you for the kick in the ass to text people today 😉

  3. I really love that we value the same thing. Quality vs. quantity. I had to remove a lot of toxic friendships and “weak” friendships this year because they were more hurtful than beneficial. Now I have my “main squeeze” and 2 other close friends that I actually call “friends.” Even though I love alone time, I think a life without love and friendship would be devastating. Nurture your friendships like you would a plant ❤ At the end of the day you always want to be "that amazing friend."

  4. So true…friends are most definitely part of a healthy diet. I realised that when I went through some really rough patches and that how vocalising it was one of the best things I ever did.

    PS We are going to that meatball place. Friends take friends for meatballs. Right?

  5. Without a doubt! Friends keep you going when you want to quit and give up! I love what you said about chocolate and wine too haha so true so they can stop you before you overload haha

  6. I completely agree. I went through a rough patch with exercise and eating, and my friends were my everything. Their love and support meant more to me than they probably even know. This was such a great post 🙂

  7. YES!!!!!! It’s so sad to me when I see people get so wrapped up in the HL world that they neglect their social life. Sure, eating out doesn’t always result in the best food choices but what better way to enjoy it than with friends?! I’ve had friends in the past where our friendships ended because they would never allow themselves to eat out, have a drink or had to get up early for a run and couldn’t go for dinner the night before…what?!?! It’s sad to me that people forget how important being social is to our health. It’s not all about veggies, runs and yoga ya know??

    Did I mention I’m still jealous of you, cass and the balls?!!? I ate a couple extra donuts to compensate for my FOMO.

  8. I feel like people forget about the other primary foods besides clean eating & exercise – what about RELATIONSHIPS, Finances, Careers & Spirituality. Each one plays a huge page in living a healthy lifestyle.

  9. Oh heck yes! Friends are paramount – without friends…. It’s not a pretty picture! They help you talk through issues, see the silver lining, make you laugh and so much more! Plus, they are GREAT dining companions. I am so very intrigued by this meatball joint, GAHHH! MUST find a meatball joint in Los Angeles, or OPEN ONE myself!!! ha ha!

  10. This is a good reminder for me. Obviously I would drop everything for you, including long runs, which is a pretty special thing. Most of my friends are so into fitness/health that it makes doing things with them easy. Those that aren’t definitely are harder to hang out with – but it takes two. I was in such a good mood when I came home last night, love youuuu xo

  11. Absolutely friends are apart of a healthy lifestyle. Seriously, they keep me sane. I have a good group of friends that I can always go to. People get so sucked in sometimes, that they lose sight of what is good for your mental, spiritual, and emotional health.

  12. Friends are essential to everything! You share secrets, fun memories, and do crazy things that you wouldn’t do with anyone else! A healthy mind is definitively part of a healthy life!

  13. I strongly agree that friends are part of a healthy lifestyle. My close friends and I have similar views when it comes to living a healthy lifestyle. We keep each other accountable, but lighten up when we need to. Aside from that my friends are people I trust and who bring so much laughter and joy into my life.

Leave a Reply

