Vegetarian Stuffed Cabbage

In my family, it isn’t a holiday without stuffed cabbage. It’s a Polish staple – we call them pigs in a blanket. Both of my grandfathers have their own recipes. They cook the stuffed cabbage in huge batches, which they labor over in the kitchen with love.

vegetarian stuffed cabbage3

Typically the little bundles are filled with meat and rice – not so fit for a vegetarian. Now, I’m not a vegetarian, that’s no secret. I’ll gladly eat my grandpas’ traditional cooking, but I realized that if I ever wanted to make stuffed cabbage for my friends, there may be some vegetarians in the mix.

The only component I had to omit in the recipe was the meat. My conundrum was how to make a mixture to stuff the cabbages that wouldn’t leave rice loose in the center. My solution? Use tomato paste and eggs to make a thick  filling. I crossed my fingers and hoped it would work.

IMG_3258

Waiting to see if the stuffed cabbages would turn out was stressful. When you cook them, you layer cabbage over the top so that all the flavors get locked in. I couldn’t see if they were cooking properly, but I had faith. When I finally tasted them, I knew I had made a successful meatless version of stuffed cabbage.

IMG_3260

Vegetarian Stuffed Cabbage

Servings depend on the number of cabbage leaves used. A medium head should yield ~12-15 single bundles.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium head cabbage
  • 1 white onion, minced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 c. green lentils, uncooked
  • 2/3 c. brown rice, uncooked
  • 1 – 6 oz. tomato paste
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. ground thyme
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. parsley
  • 1 – 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes, no salt added
  • 1 c. low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 tbsp. white vinegar
  • 2 tsp. honey
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, cover head of cabbage with water and bring to a boil. Cook just until the cabbage leaves look soft and pliable.
  2. Remove head of cabbage, allowing it to cool completely.
  3. When cool, remove the top few layers of the head of cabbage and dispose of those leaves.
  4. In a bowl, add onion, garlic, lentils, brown rice, tomato paste, eggs, thyme, oregano, parsley, salt and pepper. Mix until combined.
  5. In a large pot, combine tomatoes, broth, vinegar, honey, salt and pepper.
  6. Carefully tear off cabbage leaves.
  7. Place a spoonful of filling into the center of a cabbage leaf. Fold up the bottom and sides and roll up, similarly to how you would fold up a burrito.
  8. Layer cabbages in the pot on top of tomato mixture.
  9. Fill remaining space in pot with water.
  10. Layer leftover cabbage on top to cover the stuffed cabbages.
  11. Bring cabbages to a boil over high heat. Once boiling, turn heat to medium.
  12. Cook cabbages for 1.5 hours.

vegetarian stuffed cabbage2

I just have to say, changing classic meat recipes into vegetarian dishes is quite the challenge for me! I have major respect for all of you crafty people.

Question of the Day:
>>Have you had stuffed cabbage before?
>>Does your family have a special name for stuffed cabbage?

13 comments

  1. I am 100% making these!!! There’s a jewish deli (pretty sure they’re of polish origin) that makes the best stuffed cabbages that are vegetarian. I’ve always wanted to make them at home but I’ve been intimidated. Apparently not that hard.

    Man my comment was way less dirty than yours. I have failed.

  2. Stuffed cabbage was actually a staple for me, seeing as my family is Polish and all, but we called them gołąbki (gaw-whomp-kee). Ours were always made with meat, rice, and tomato paste, but I’m super curious to see what a vegetarian version of ’em would taste like. Might have to bring that up to Mom one of these days…

  3. I’ve never actually eaten cabbage before but one of the clients my company is doing PR for is all Polish food all the time so i’ve been reading a lot into it. For something that doesn’t look that great people sure do love it! Lentils make a great meat substitute so good call using those…plus they’re delicious!

  4. For you saying that you’re not that creative, this is a very creative way of using cabbage. I only use cabbage to toss in my tacos. This looks delicious! I eat mostly vegetarian and it’s difficult to find recipes that aren’t glazed with pounds of chesse & other fattening ingredients.

  5. I’ve never had stuffed cabbage before, but I love that your family calls these pigs in a blanket. I always think of mini sausages in little buns as pigs in a blanket!! And you go girl for being creative and turning this into a veggie dish!

Leave a Reply

