Buy Real Cheese [Thinking Out Loud #6]

Today is Thursday, yesterday was Wednesday and the day before was Tuesday… but all of them feel like a Monday.

Who knew that my final semester at college would be this busy? I surely didn’t. Isn’t that against the rules or something?

Thankfully, it’s Thinking Out Loud Thursday Monday?… nope just checked again, it’s in fact Thinking Out Loud Thursday. Since we need to catch up, I’m using this to tell you whatever random things come to mind. 

1. Buy real cheese. Just don’t even mess around, unless you’re dairy or lactose sensitive. I decided to give Go Veggie! cheddar cheese a try this week, and I could tell it was processed. The cheddar flavor wasn’t that strong, and it had too soft of a texture for cheddar. I wasn’t impressed. Next time I want cheese, I’m buying the real damn thing. That’s what I’m all about, anyway. Silly Angela.

IMG_3263

2. Chobani lids are pretty funny. I got a good morning laugh when I opened my yogurt the other day. Chobani, if you’re listening by some crazy chance, I’d love to work for you. And yeah, I licked the lid for this pic. So what?

IMG_3221

3. Veganaise is really good. I bought it because I want to be exactly like Goop. It doesn’t gross me out like regular mayo! And I put it in tuna salad this week with some dijon mustard. It was fantastic.

IMG_3264

4. This article from Thought Catalog made me cry yesterday.

5. I must tell you two delicious recipes I tried this week! First, I made Cassie’s Blueberry Sweet Potato Muffins, and they were amazing. They crumbled well but were still … dare I say it … moist. I loved them! I also made Alexis’s crockpot Chickpea, Brown Rice and Broccoli Casserole. It looks terrible, but it tastes creamy, garlicky, and is very comforting!

IMG_3261

6. Pilates. I kind of love it. I want to put together a yogilaties workout for the blog soon. But Pilates itself… omg. The five series is the hardest thing my abs have ever endured. You are supposed to keep going through the five moves with your head and shoulders off the floor and without rest. It’s insane. And the teaser? Even worse – in the best way possible!

That’s all she wrote! I’ll talk to you soon.

Questions of the Day:
>>Are you familiar with Pilates?
>>Have you tried Go Veggie! Cheese or Veganaise?

32 comments

  1. I haven’t tried Go Veggie but have almost picked it up several times, but after your review I think I will not try it !

  2. I seriously laughed reading the Veggie Cheese bag “mets and stretches”. Stretches? Hmm haha. Have you tried Trader Joe’s soy cheese? The shredded bags of mozzarella and a blend are pretty good in my opinion but I have also tried other brands at generic food stores and they were AWFUL. I agree with you overall and say stick to the real good stuff 🙂

    My last senior semester is the opposite of yours and I’m actually feeling underutilized 😦 It is a bit sad and I feel guilty with how I am spending my time…not as much as I should be doing real school work. But before we know it, it will be May and real world part II will begin! Cheers to that.

    1. I think they were trying to say that it acts just like dairy cheese does, since you can stretch it like when you pull away a slice of pizza. But it’s pretty odd that they had to write that. I didn’t notice that phrase until you mentioned it, actually. Cheers to the real work world, but not cheers to leaving all my friends! I am at a point where I can’t think about that. It makes me too sad.

  3. I’ve never tried any vegan cheeses, mostly because the idea kind of skeeves me out and the ingredients in a lot of them are pretty wonky. Like Tofutti cream cheese? Tonnes of preservatives in it — definitely better off just sticking to a regular old organic cream cheese. I remember trying soy based yogurt once, and yeah… never again 😯

    1. This is the exact ingredient list of veganaise: “(vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, non-gmo)
      Expeller-Pressed Canola Oil, Filtered Water, Brown Rice Syrup, Apple Cider Vinegar, Soy Protein, Sea Salt, Mustard Flour, Lemon Juice Concentrate.” So personally I like that, but it might not be for everyone. The cheese though… blech. I wouldn’t say it tastes like feet, but it was certainly close.

  4. Hahaha real cheese. Totally on the same wavelength. I don’t even bother with the fake crap. No thank you. And Pilates- holy crap my neck always hurts after! It means I’m not doing it right but whenever my teacher isn’t looking I put my head down sometimes… Oops!

    1. I just wanted to give the vegan cheese a go, cause I had not clue what it’d be like. Nope not for me lol. Gotta keep the neck up!! You could strain it if you don’t. I actually find the 5series more comfortable if I look at my bellybutton.

    1. Isn’t it great? I actually haven’t felt any strain in my hips at all. If you do, that means you’re prob not doing the move correctly as far as my instructor told us. Does yoga strain your hip flexors? Like with lunges and all that?

      1. No yoga makes them feel good haha but certain poses in pilates, like when you’re in a V, hurt them if I hold it for long. The V-ups are supposed to work your abs but they end up hurting my flexors more. But, I haven’t taken a class in awhile so who knows.

  5. I never get individual Chobanis, I’m missing out on the laughter. I’ve never tried fake cheese (even though I should – or just be a real human and cut out dairy). Also can you believe I’ve never had veganese? I’m okay without mayo in my life and just sub in greek yogurt so I haven’t felt the need. I’ll just try yours when I come to Athens.

  6. Oh my gee my favourite nut head.

    So- we have this vegan Cheese here which is dairy free lactose free happy free. Anyway, they claim to taste ‘better than shredded cheddar cheese’. They had a sample table. I tried it. It did not taste ‘better than shredded cheddar cheese.’ It tasted like lies.

  7. I’ve never seen this veganiese before. I’m not vegan but always looking for healthy alternatives to mayo because I love the stuff but haven’t found a good substitute that doesn’t taste like poop. What is the flavor like?

Leave a Reply

