Very Cherry Brownies

I’m single.

That should come as no surprise at this point, but I’m just letting you know for the record (or if you know any cutie patooties). I’m not one of those debbie downers who can’t stand to see other people be happy on Valentine’s Day, though – it’s actually quite the opposite. I love to see my friends, family, and really anyone else treat their loved one with a little extra somethin’ somethn’ on this holiday.

A few years ago, one of my friend’s boyfriends wanted to leave a surprise for her outside her dorm door for Valentine’s Day. He needed let into our building, and I was more than willing to oblige him. When I saw the bouquet he brought her, I became really giddy. I’m the same way when I catch my friends and their guys or girls sneaking loving looks or whispering inside jokes. I’m happy when my friends are happy.

Very Cherry Brownies 3

That’s what I’m celebrating today: the little extra somethin’ somethin’ we can all do for our loved ones. What better way to celebrate this day of L-O-V-E than with some chocolate and cherry in the form of brownies? And the best part? These brownies are hiding a sweet little extra somethin’ somethin’ in them as well. 😉

Very Cherry Brownies 6

Very Cherry Brownies

Makes about 15 small brownies

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. beets, roasted
  • 1 c. frozen cherries, thawed
  • 1 banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c. honey
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp. melted coconut oil
  • 4 tbsp. almond meal

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Prepare an 8×8 pan by greasing with coconut oil.
  3. In a food processor or high powered blender, purée beets and cherries.
  4. Add banana to food processor. Pulse until combined.
  5. Add eggs and honey. Process until smooth.
  6. Add cocoa powder, salt, baking soda, cinnamon and vanilla. Pulse until combined.
  7. Add coconut oil and almond meal, mixing until the almond meal is incorporated.
  8. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Brownies are done when a toothpick in the center comes out clean.

I made these brownies especially for Davida’s “The Great Valentine’s Day Healthy Bake-Off.” Make sure you head over to her link-up to see all the other love-themed treats!

Very Cherry Brownies1

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY! I love you all. xoxo

Question of the Day:
>> What are you doing to celebrate today?

32 comments

  1. ^^^Ok seriously jealous. But anyway, these look so good and moist!!<<and I hate that word but I think it describes them perfectly (from the pictures anyway). Glad you are happy for people–that's the spirit! I also get giddy when I spy happiness, I just can't help it!

  2. Love ya girl! I love how positive you are – this year things have just been so crazy that I haven’t even had time to focus on the fact that it’s v-day, but I love love as well and I really enjoy doing things to make others happy, too. Just makes you feel good, you know?

    1. Thank you Amy! It’s funny you say that, I was in such a rush yesterday to do everything I had to, one of our profs opened class with “so is everyone ready for tomorrow?” and my mind went racing like omg what is tomorrow??! and my friend was like “…Valentine’s day.” And yes, others’ happiness does make you feel good!

  3. Looooove the positive ‘tude! I’m the same way when it comes to Valentine’s — I love any reason to get a little more excited and can’t understand all the snark. I’m dealing with a long distance relationship this Valentine’s, and while the situation is less than ideal, I’m using today as an opportunity to eat more chocolate than normal 😀

  4. Not to be Cassie about it, but out of curiosity I ran the nutrition info and these guys are INSANELY healthy. I’m going to get frozen cherries tonight to make these. Happy Valentine’s Day, I thought about sending you (and my other gal pals) valentine’s but totally forgot. XO this counts, right?

    1. Also – I love asking girls what they are doing with their BFs/husbands. I like seeing other people happy and their plans. I’m not unhappy because I’m single 🙂 Glad I’m not the only one who likes sharing in the excitement.

  5. Wanna have a singles party? Wait, that sounded really X rated. Ignore it.

    That recipe looks so good- and it has beets in it?! Seeing as they don’t need to be roasted….I might have to give them a go! And no added sugar too!

  6. LOVE YOU LOVE YOU LOVE YOU!!!!!

    Thank you SO much for stepping out of your comfort zone and coming up with this deliciousness! Single or not, hallmark or not, Valentine’s Day is an opportunity to show those we love how much we really do love them and of course my favourite way of doing that is with baked goods 🙂

    Which I could bake for you for eternity cause that’s how much I love you! So happy to call you a friend 🙂 Happy Valentine’s Day my dear!

  7. Ha! What am I doing to celebrate this day? I am curled up on the couch, in front of the TV, in my PJs, blogging and watching a movie!! 🙂 – Probably one of the best things to do on a Friday night!! WAHOO!! Maybe one day I will have a studly man next to be, but hey, I am perfectly content right now!

Leave a Reply

