Eats and an Author + Winner [WIAW #38]

I have to say, one thing I’m going to miss dearly when I leave college is the opportunity to see and do unique things that I might not have the chance to experience elsewhere. Last night, I had the opportunity to see Jodi Picoult speak for a lecture series at my school, and I left immensely impressed and just in total awe.

I know this isn’t a literature blog or a creative writing blog, but literature and writing are something I am very passionate about so you just have to hear me out for a minute! If you get the chance to see Picoult speak, do it (she is one of my favorite authors, and I highly recommend her work). The stories she shared with us about her story research were enthralling. I could have listened to her for hours – I have to admire someone who is so open to learning new things and completely immersing themselves in their work.

Okay one more thing before we get to the other star of today, the food. Picoult has gone ghost hunting before with Jay and Grant, the guys from Ghost Hunters! I am super into the paranormal so when she told us those stories (which were some of the most authentic ghost stories I’ve ever heard) my jaw probably hit the floor. Let’s just say the ghosts left gifts for her that she still has today. Pretty crazy.

I didn’t get out of the lecture until 9 pm, so I had a really late dinner! Let’s go backward for today’s What I Ate Wednesday.

Dinner
Recently I have discovered the collard wrap. Well, really, you could make a wrap out of most green vegetables, but the collard green just seems right. If you chop of the stalky end, the leaf itself is really wide and holds up fairly well to fillings. I prepped a big batch of tuna salad from the 21 Day Sugar Detox book (yes, I am doing the 21dsd – I will be posting about it soon), and I wrapped it up in some collard greens. The tuna salad had green apple, celery, and homemade mayo. I also had a side of broccoli!

IMG_3167


IMG_3169

Snack
I worked from five til seven pm yesterday, so I snacked on a banana, carrots, and sunflower butter. Yum. Also, it was really cold at work so I brought my blanket with me. No shame. Bring your blanket to work day. I’ll be doing the same when I work tonight, longer + later.

IMG_3165

IMG_3164

Lunch
Lunch was yesterday’s recipe! I paired my spaghetti squash stuffed peppers with brown rice. 

IMG_3163

Breakfast
I was a little nervous about breakfast tasting good together, but it actually worked out quite nicely. I prepped a batch of the 21dsd’s carrot pumpkin spice muffins the other day. For breakfast, I crumbled two of those over some plain greek yogurt and added cinnamon, a few almonds, and some almond meal on top. I also had two mugs of coffee with full-fat coconut milk mixed in. Seriously the best thing I learned from the 21dsd.

IMG_3159

And that’s a wrap! I had wanted to have some coconut oil chocolate after dinner, but since I ended up eating dinner later than expected, it was a no go. Ah well. There’s always tomorrow 😉 Thanks for hosting this food party, Jenn!

 

Before I sign off, the winner of my Traditional Medicinals Relax with Tea giveaway was Gina from Health, Love and Chocolate. [The winner was chosen randomly with Random.Org] She has been contacted!

Questions of the Day:
>> Ever made homemade mayo? 
>> Do you like Jodi Picoult? 
>> Who is your fave author?

40 comments

    1. She didn’t but she said she still has it at her house- 25 pennies dated between 1968 and 73. They were left in a house she went ghost hunting around two babies cribs and the tripod they were using. They appeared after they left their equipment upstairs and turns out two people had died in the house in both of those years!

  1. Your selfie. Awesome. This is why we’re snapchat friends. Love it 😉 I LOVE JODI PICOULT! My high school english teacher was her best friend. She’s from my area at home. Literally I could read her books a million times. Especially My Sister’s Keeper, the book that got me hooked on her.

    1. Woah that’s so cool! That’s the book that got me hooked too. I read it fairly young and have always admired the way that it made be think so deeply about morals and right v. wrong when I was only in like 7th grade

  2. Ahh that’s so cool! I go to a satellite campus, and this week I’m sad that I don’t go to the main campus – they have Frank Warren (from PostSecret) speaking this week, who I would have loved to see. It’s hard to say who my favourite author is…I’m a sucker for horror, so Stephen King would definitely be up there.

  3. Can you believe I’ve never read a Jodi Picoult book? I like reading either memoirs or kind of dark stuff… my favorite author is Bret Easton Ellis which makes me feel like a psychopath because he wrote American Psycho (my least favorite of his books, of course).

  4. So great that you got to see Jodi Picoult! That must have been an amazing talk!! Also, I was JUST thinking about buying some collard greens to make a ‘lettuce’ wrap. I hate lettuce, so I was looking for something else, and you have confirmed for me that I should do it!

  5. I love Jodi Picoult! She is definitely one of my favorite authors and I hope I get the chance to hear her speak. Another one of my favorites is Barbara Kingsolver–she’s another author who gets really immersed in her work and you can totally tell she’s done her research!

    1. I have heard wonderful things about Kingsolver as well. I’ll have to look into reading something of hers. I just admire the amount of work Picoult puts into creating fictional characters. It’s much more work than just dreaming up a random persona!

  6. No.freaking.way — that’s too awesome! I love her books and definitely think she’s a great author. My favourite right now would probably be Patrick Rothfuss. I fell in love with his writing after reading The Name Of The Wind, and now I’m anxiously waiting for him to finish the last book in his trilogy. I’m just a sucker for fantasy…

  7. Can’t wait to hear how the 21dsd went- I owe you an email I’m so sorry- blame the first week work antics! i’ll need to pick your brain about the homemade mayo- Yum!

    Also coconut milk in coffee..ahh so many questions, so little time.

  8. I love hearing authors speak out about their inspirations and experiences. It’s always so intriguing and leaves me feeling inspired!

    Haha no shame in the blanket! I get cold so easily, so I have about two jackets to cover up.

    All of your eats sound so tasty. 🙂

  9. Yay, goodness knows I could use this relax kit right now!

    I really love Jodi Picoult’s work, that is so exciting you go to see her speak. There is definitely always tomorrow for coconut oil chocolate, hopefully you get/got your fill. 😉

Leave a Reply

