Spaghetti Squash Stuffed Peppers

I don’t remember if I’ve said it before on here or not, but one of my favorite types of cuisine is Italian. I have absolutely no Italian blood in me, but I could eat pasta, red sauce, vegetables cooked in olive oil and, really, anything else with an Italian flair every day and not get sick of it.
Spaghetti Squash Stuffed Peppers2

The one thing I don’t love about Italian food? The heaviness I often feel in my stomach after I eat it! Enter: Spaghetti squash. For days when I want an Italian-inspired dish without normal noodles, I sub in spaghetti squash in order to get the same pasta feel. Of course, I love eating spaghetti squash cooked up with just some jarred sauce and veggies, but I’ve learned that it’s actually very versatile.

I decided to try a twist on the usual stuffed pepper and throw in some spaghetti squash for a different texture and extra carbohydrates. While filling, this slightly spicy dish will still leave you feeling light and satisfied. I also liked the addition of diced tomatoes in lieu of sauce for another layer of tangy flavor and a softer bite. Cheese would be great on top of these, too!

Spaghetti Squash Stuffed Peppers

Spaghetti Squash Stuffed Peppers
Adapted from The 21 Day Sugar Detox
Makes 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp coconut oil
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb. ground meat (I used turkey)
  • 1 can no salt added diced tomatoes
  • 1 spaghetti squash, roasted and insides scooped out
  • 1 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 2 tsp. dried basil
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 4 bell peppers, halved and seeded

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large pan, melt coconut oil over medium high heat.
  3. Sauté onions and garlic just until onions begin to turn translucent.
  4. Add in ground meat. As ground meat begins to brown, break up with a spatula.
  5. After a few minutes, add in tomatoes, spaghetti squash, and spices, cooking for about three minutes.
  6. In a casserole dish or baking pan, arrange pepper halves.
  7. Fill each pepper halve evenly with the squash mixture.
  8. Bake peppers for 20-30 minutes, just until tops begin to brown.

I think I would feel lost without Italian food in my life. At least I can keep my sanity for another week with these in the fridge.

Question of the Day:
>> Fave type of cuisine? 

17 comments

  1. I am actually planning on making stuffed peppers this weekend- minus the spaghetti squash (because its MIA here) and add a tonne of cheese- we are on the same wavelength.

    Favourite cuisine- A world wide buffet. everything. 😉

  2. Can you believe I -still- haven’t tried spaghetti squash? I came -so- close once, but the dratted thing was sprouting on the inside and it kind of freaked me out so I threw it away. Still on the to-eat list, though… As for my favourite cuisine, definitely Mexican. Cheese, chips, SALSA, and guac? Heaven.

  3. Yumm!! I love Italian as well. Every which way. Stuffed noodles are my favorite, like manicotti. When I had spaghetti squash, I made it like lasagna, and it was actually delicious. Needed more salt than regular pasta, but other than that, I enjoyed it. I like pasta really al dente, so it’s perfect for me!

  4. OH MY LANTA! This this incredible and I haven’t had spaghetti squash in ages. I wonder if I can substitute the meat for baby scrimps (shrimps haha) or tofu? Man, being pescatarian is rough city sometimes. Thank you for the detailed and beautiful recipe lady! ❤

  5. THESE LOOK SO GOOD! If only I didn’t have the worst reaction to spaghetti squash! I know I hate being that person who comments on how they can’t eat the blogger’s recipe but just wanted you to know if SS didn’t have so much damn fiber I’d be all over this!

  6. Those look delicious! I’ve not bought spaghetti squash for a few months now but I really need to change that.

    My favourite types of cuisine are definitely Japanese and Tapas. But I also love Mexican food and rustic pizza too. So in summary >>> all the foods!! 😉

Leave a Reply

