Prized Possessions [Spill It Sunday #9]

Hi there and happy Superbowl Sunday! Are you watching the big game anywhere special tonight? Eating some good food? I’m actually just hanging at home for the evening because I’m heading out of Athens for the afternoon. Sometimes I just need to get out of this small town and right now I could use the fresh air.
I definitely miss going to Steelers Superbowl parties – I only watch for the commercials when they’re not in it. And this year, I can’t wait to see Bruno Mars’ performance. He is so talented, and I have a feeling he will put on a great show.
Also, I have to tell you this funny story. Yesterday I was getting out of my car, and just as I closed the door my key lanyard fell, key side in the car. What kind of luck is that?! I could see the lanyard sticking out of the door taunting me. I thought I had my spare set in my room, but I just couldn’t find them anywhere, so I had to call AAA. I swear the AAA guy is my new best friend. I’ve seen him so many times this semester. That was my first time locking my keys in the car, though – it’s definitely embarrassing.
Speaking of my car, today we are talking about five prized possessions for Arman’s weekly Spill It Sundays link-up. There are a few things that I would feel very sad if I lost, one of them being a my car.
1. Norm, my 1989 Toyota Camry
I feel incredibly blessed to have this car (I know it might not always seem like it, Mom and Dad, but I do). My aunt generously bought this car for me for my 17th birthday. I remember waking up to see her sitting on my bed – she told me there was a surprise downstairs for me. I had no idea that I was going to get a car. When I looked outside, I was shocked.
I named the car Norm because he’s like an old man – really cool but a little rusty – and “Norm” just seemed right. He was previously owned by an older woman who only took the car out once a week. I got him with 70,000 miles. It was a great find on my aunt’s part. He even has automatic seat belts and a red velvet interior!
2. Contacts
IMG_3141
Like the kind that help me see. One day I was reading one of those “can’t live without” things, and the writer said contacts. It dawned on me then that I wouldn’t be able to function properly without my contacts. I have really terrible eyes for someone my age (okay everyone says that, but when I tell them my prescription they are flabbergasted) and have had to wear corrective lenses since second grade. Glasses are applicable here, too, but honestly contacts are so much better because they allow my range of vision (up, down and corners)to be more complete.
3. Lucky stone 
IMG_3142
My brother gave this to me way back when I came to college, I think, for good luck. I always keep it in my backpack, so I have it with me most days, outside and in my home.
4. Heart necklace
My mom bought this necklace for me. I think the shape of it is very unique – I can’t even tell you how many times people have thought it was backwards, but it’s actually just a cool divot.
I would also include the ring she bought for me a few years ago – it said “hope” on it, which is my confirmation name – but it would always loosen when I was cold and I lost it one day at work for good. I think it fell into someone’s bag.
5. Letter from my best friend
I don’t even know if Emily still knows I have this letter. In 11th grade, she and I got into a really terrible argument that lasted at least a week, if not longer. Our friendship definitely could have ended after that fight, and it was strained for a while. She wrote me a letter eventually, which ended up helping to bring us back together. I still tear up if I read it.

Questions of the Day:
>>What was your first car?
>>What’s one of your most prized possessions?

14 comments

  1. My first car is my current car! A kia rio, downed with tons of miles as it was my dads work car before mine! But i love the little thing!
    I never thought about contacts being such a prized possession but you are totally right life would not be the same without them!

  2. I never would have thought about contacts, but that’s definitely a big one for me too! I hate wearing my glasses (the whole box vision and having to clean them once every 20 minutes annoys me) so currently, my life would be really different without them! Still hoping for Lasik down the line though…

  3. My first car was a 1989 Ford Tempo. That thing was such a lemon, everything possible broke on it. What’s everything? Well, brakes, clutch, head gasket, even the springs on the emergency brake popped off. Ugh. We still fit 11 people in that car on the way to school in the mornings, though.

  4. My first car was a 2001 Ford Taurus. I loved Taury so much… until he was beat up to death. I actually wanted a Taurus, was I not the weirdest 16 year old? Well… I had a list of “safe cars” I could choose from haha.

    I really should count Lola (i.e. my Civic) as a prized possession. She’s the best, despite me putting $500 in her in the past 2 weeks ($250 was my fault for breaking my key, whoops).

  5. How did I forget my contact lenses!!!!!!!!! And my car…geeze I should have made it 10 possessions lol! My first car…don’t even get me started. Let’s just say it looked blue in the picture but what I got was purple. PURPLE.

  6. If I had a car, I would probably list it, but I’ve had too many traumatizing events to even get the courage to drive. *le sigh..*

    I believe in those little trinkets as well. 🙂

    I watch it for the commercials and I cannot wait for Bruno Mars performance. It’s going to be a good one! 😀

    I’m just really looking forward to the Olympics.

  7. I am such an emotional person & because of that I completely teared up reading about about the letter your best friend & reasoning behind it. So glad you two were able to save your friendship ❤

  8. Awww what a nice first car story!! I also got surprised with my first car too. I was working at a grocery store and my mom came in and was like Erin I need you to see something and I was like what mom I’m working! And she’s like no, no come here and I went out into the parking lot and she was like what do you think of this car (2002 Grand Am) and I was like oh, I mean….it’s nice? And she was like well it’s yours. I died!!!! I was so happy. Ok this is a long comment sorry haaha.

  9. My first car was a 2003 Jeep Liberty that has already bit the dust. It was brand new too. I got a hand-me-down to replace it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

