Homemade Coconut Butter

Whew. Yesterday was an incredibly busy day. I had so much to do between waking up, going to class…

Oh. Just kidding. I didn’t have class thanks to the snow day, so yesterday wasn’t busy at all.

In between watching all of my morning talk shows and hot yoga at night (I cried for the first time ever during savasana, does that make me weird or cool?), I made you some coconut butter! Aren’t I kind?

After I posted last week about making my own coconut butter, I got a few inquiries asking how I made it. It’s really super simple, and since I conveniently ran out of it over the weekend, I thought I’d devote a quick little post to this food of the tropical gods.

As an aside: Sorry the photo is so crappy for this. It’s kind of difficult to make nut butter look cute without a mason jar, especially when it’s just kind of a white cream. Plus, with the color and consistency, I ran the risk of making the pics look R-rated, so a bowl and a knife it was.

Homemade Coconut Butter – Nutty for Life

Homemade Coconut Butter
Makes about two cups

Ingredients

  • 5 1/4 cups unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 2 tbsp. melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. In a large food processor, grind down the coconut until it starts to clump to the sides.
  2. Add in melted coconut oil.
  3. Continue to process, scraping down sides when necessary.
  4. Once smooth*, add in vanilla extract and process to combine.

*It takes about 10 minutes total (or longer) to get the coconut into a smooth state. Don’t get frustrated, because just when you’re about to give up, the coconut magically becomes smooth.Β It takes a little while to come together, but once it does, it’s oh so worth it and definitely better than the usual coconut butter price tag.

You know how there’s that saying that good things come to those who wait? Like love or the perfect job, this recipe is once of those instances. And until I find love or my perfect job, I have this coconut butter as a quicker fix to keep me sat.is.fied. πŸ˜‰

Questions of the Day:
>> How often do you pull out your food processor?
>> Do you have a favorite coconut butter brand?

26 comments

  1. Never tried coconut butter, but to the food processor question – YES! I only have a very small chopper/puree/mince machine, but I use it for EVERYTHING. And anything I can’t use it for, I use the blender. Those are my two best small appliances!

  2. I always use homemade coconut butter cause I’m too cheap! Also I love mixing it with roasted almonds, cinnamon and vanilla. It’s my go-to AB-CB combo. Like I’m actually known for it and people have told me I should start selling it…I just gave the recipe away to you so don’t go pulling a facebook on me k? JUST KIDDING! You can be my business partner!

    Also do explain the crying in savasana?!?

  3. I literally use my food processor at least 6-7 times a week (usually multiple times on food prep days). My mom bought me a baby one for school – it holds like a cup or two – but is great for chopping veggies or making banana ice cream. If I’m making something like this, I’ll pull out the big food processor. If I’m BAKING I use the vitamix (healthy baking that is – something with butter and sugar gets the KitchenAid).

Leave a Reply

