Don’t Waste The Person You Are

I often hear people say “I wish I were (insert person x here).”

I’ve said it before. I’ll probably say it again.

Do I really mean that I want to be someone else? Not necessarily.

Let’s back it up a bit. Yoga last night was HARD. Really difficult. As I made my way through the poses, I found myself contemplating who I am and how that affects me going into the poses. If I were, say, Erin Motz (my new yogi girl crush), I could do these poses so much better, right? For a minute, I wished that I was her and then I moved on with my practice.

Later (read: when I was eating two coconut oil chocolates and watching the end of The Bachelor), I thought again about how sometimes I think, “if I only I were like…” or “I want to be just like…” But I don’t actually want to be anyone else, when it’s all said and done. I like who I am. I feel confident in myself and my abilities most of the time, and when I waver in those thoughts, I have friends and family to reel me back in.

What I guess I am saying is that I don’t need to be anyone else except for myself, but I can aspire to hold qualities of those whom I admire, like Erin Motz (or even the really bendy dancer in Katy Perry’s Dark Horse performance at the Grammys).

We were all born with natural abilities that shine in us more than in others. I think it’s a wonderful thing when we find someone to look up to or to have as a mentor, but I also think that it’s important to remember that we were created the way we were for a reason. We have to (eventually, when we are ready) be the person we are meant to be.

Wanting to be someone else is a waste of the person you are

I’m not sure why all of this popped into my head (yoga makes me really contemplative??). I just thought I would share what was running through the old noggin’ yesterday aside from my plans to enter The Bachelor because I am hopeless in love (note that that does not say hopelessly in love).

Now I’m off to go do nothing all day because it’s too damn cold, and we have the day off of school. My first snow day of my college career! I feel like a kid in a candy store.

Question of the Day:
>> Who are some people that you aspire to be like but not actually be? 
>> Do you know the really bendy person I was talking about from the Grammys?

13 comments

  1. Firstly, I am excited that you’re posting on an Australian friendly time.

    It’s funny how we tend to always want to be someone else especially in different situations. In tests when I wouldn’t do well, I’d wish to be my brainy friend, when I’m lifting weights, I wish I was my athlete friend but when I think more critically, other parts of them I prefer myself to…so It’s to embrace our qualities and ourselves.

    …and katy perry’s bendy dancer.

  2. I LOVE this. I also have a girl crush on Erin Motz and whenever I first started getting into yoga I definitely remember wishing I was her. She’s so talented! Like you said, I think it’s ok to admire qualities of someone else and to maybe use a mentor to improve upon your own qualities, but in the end you should be happy with who you are. I know I am happy and confident in myself, but of course I someones want to change my last name to Motz. I mean, it’d be such a simple change lolol KIDDING. Thanks for this post—I loooves it.

  3. I think it’s great to have aspirations and to admire people for their abilities, but you’re right – we need to be comfortable and accepting of who we are and what our strengths are. I definitely have people that I consider inspirational, but in the end I wouldn’t want to actually BE anyone else – I have my own traits and strengths to be proud of.

  4. this is a great reminder and something I easily forget. i think it is so easy to fall into the comparison trap that I don’t even realize it until it is way too late and I am knee deep in wanting to be someone else.

  5. I want to be like Gwenyth Paltrow but not really her because she’s kind of nuts. I would like to be like Kate Middleton but not her because Wills is balding. This is a really good thing to think about. You’re so insightful, I love these posts you do – puts everything into perspective.

    I strangely never think about being anyone else at yoga. I’m kind of surprised by that because in races I always think if I was in the lead I’d be done by now lol.

  6. I’m on my phone so I can’t leave some crazy long comment but LOVE. You and your thought-provoking posts lately lady- killing it!

  7. I too have caught myself wishing I were someone else – and than like you, realize it’s not what I really mean. Usually when those thoughts come up, I’ll look in the mirror and point out positives about ME – not anyone else. It’s good to see that I too have beauty that I so desired of someone else.

  8. I love this! I think there’s all of this talk about comparison being the thief of joy (it is) but not enough talk about admiring others and wanting to improve yourself because you like the qualities you see in others. As long as you don’t hold yourself to some ridiculous standard (i.e. bendy girl in Katy Perry’s performance) I definitely think it can be a healthy thing. There are many bloggers who I admire immensely and am genuinely proud to see them succeed. I don’t feel competitive with them but rather aim to improve myself because I love the things I see in them. Am I totally off topic here?

    Also after the bachelor aka two hours of bawling my eyes out I called Curt and told him to start saving for the ring and that I was pinning wedding ideas to pinterest. I completely freaked him out but he’s used to it haha

    Also hiiiiii! You’re the best. So happy we connected and sorry I’m behind on reading!

    1. Hiii 🙂 you know how to make a girl happy!

      And not off topic at all. I totally know what you mean. I aspire to be like some bloggers simply because they have great ideas, but frankly, most ideas have already been done before. It’s all about taking what other people do and making it your own. That’s how the best novels are written too, says my English profs

  9. I can relate to this post. At times, I see random people that can do things that I have difficulty with and say exactly what you did. I think about it, and doing that only made me feel bad about myself. Later on, I do something I’m good at and feel better about myself. In the end, I really don’t want to be anyone but me, because I know I am good at things others aren’t. Just because I can’t do something, doesn’t mean I should be someone else. I would lose who I am. If I can’t do something, I know I just have to practice at it more and improve myself. Time, patience, and practice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

