Friday Favorites

Lots of good stuff happening this week, let me tell ya. This Friday comes with a smile and big sigh because I was pretty busy all week but boy was it nice to get back in the groove of a schedule. I wouldn’t consider myself a type-A planner, but I do like to have a basic routine for each day. It just keeps me a little more focused and a little less stressed.

Why else was this week so good, you ask? Ah, well I finally bit the bullet and started designing that thing called a resumΓ©. It’s a daunting task. I’ve been putting it off but I think I am ready to put my big girl pants on and job search. I also came one step closer to making veggie pancakes – ones that actually didn’t break apart!

Speaking of recipes, a lot of people asked how to make coconut butter on yesterday’s comments. I think I will dedicate a day next week to showing you all how to do that (it’s super easy though) along with some variations that I think would be tasty. πŸ™‚

Not only was the week good in real life, but the week was also good in blog life! Not only did I read so many great things this week but I also wanted to literally pull food right off of my computer screen and eat it.

With that, let’s get to my Friday Faves!

Posts

Favorite Bite
When Amy posts a recipe, I can almost guarantee it’s something that will be reminiscent of comfort food with a twist. This week, her “Squashed” Banana Muffins made me want to curl up with a good book, a blanket and a cup of coffee. You should also head over to Long Drive Journey to see yesterday’s post because she has an awesome beauty project you need to join.

Favorite Soul Pour
Alex from The Run Within has this way of just connecting with anyone who reads her blog. Just look at the comments she gets, and you’ll see what I mean. She might say she doesn’t feel worthy of all of the opportunities heading her way, but she really is. This post proves why.

Favorite Yes
Let’s be real: we know fat talk happens. But why? I’ve touched on the subject before, but Ashley from My Food ‘N’ Fitness Diaries wrote a great post this week that will hopefully help you toward a better body perspective.

Pins

My friend Kedron and I are big fans of the whole Ryan Gosling “Hey Girl” movement. This week she sent me a pin that I had to share with you.

I love it when I wear my yoga pants all day, too.

I’m also a fan of tattoos. They really don’t bother me at all. Personally, I could never pull off a fully arm sleeve or something 1) because I am not cool enough and 2) I can only take so much needling. I’ve been wanting a small tattoo for a while, but somehow my count recently went up to three (sorry Mom and Dad). Is getting an “Om” symbol premature? I probably wouldn’t get it on my heel, though.

Web

Favorite Yogi
I’m probably going to be including a lot more yogi-centric posts on here simply because I really love what a lot of them have to say, especially this DoYouYoga piece questioning what a “yoga body” is.

Favorite Simplicity
MindBodyGreen puts out some wonderful content. It’s easy to forget the small things in life that can make us more fulfilled, but they rounded up 10 Awesome Life Changes That Have Nothing To Do With Losing Weight.

PS: Who watched The Mindy Project or New Girl this week? I caught up yesterday and have a few things to say. First, if you’re a fan of Mindy… ahhhh! yay. And secondly, Schmidt’s final scenes on New Girl actually had me in tears laughing. You should watch the latest episode of New Girl if you aren’t already a fan. You will be hooked.

Questions of the Day:
>>What do you think a yoga body is?
>>What’s your simple life hack to be happier?
>>Tattoos: Y or N? But really, is my Om tattoo wish a little premature? If you say yes I might still plan to get it anyway. Just saying.

33 comments

  1. You are sooo sweet lady, thanks for linking up. As for the tattoo, you should so go for it. I say it from someone who wants one really really bad (I even know what I want) but am too damn scared to get it.

      1. I only have one tattoo, and it’s a little larger than the one in your picture. It honestly only took 15 minutes and was not as bad as I had imagined. It really wasn’t that bad at all! I would go for it πŸ˜‰

  2. I like wearing yoga pants all day too. I don’t even think about it anymore… they look just as good as jeans with a cute sweater and boots πŸ˜‰

  3. Good job on the resume building, it’s a constant work in progress and so daunting you’re right. Also I’m a Huge Mindy fan so YAY!! I’m with you I like tattoos but just don’t know if I’m “cool” enough to pull it off haha, That tattoo looks pretty sweet though, I say go for it!

  4. I only wear yoga pants and leggings now. I used to be self conscious in them but now they are my favorite thing to wear. I’ve come far… I mean how could I not with how comfortable they are! As for the tattoos- I’ve always been against the big ones and personally terrified to get any at all but recently I’ve been so tempted. I want an anchor on my heel. I just don’t think I’ll ever actually do it.

    1. Wait. Hold the phone. I am getting one with my friend from home, one with my friend here. So I can get the third one with you!!

      My cousin has full tattoos everywhere so I have been conditioned to be immune to those kinds.

      And all hail the leggings!

  5. Um I’m obsessed with that tattoo! I’ve been thinking a small one recently but idk idk idk. It’s so permanent lol. And yes resumes….ugh. I can just send you mine and you can copy it? Totally helpful, right? My simple life hack hmmmm journal/blog–write down your feelings always helps. Do yoga. And try not to stress about the future and just focus on the now (this one is hard but it’s awesome if you can do it).

    1. Haha go ahead and send me that resume! Nah kidding. Glad you like that tat! Dunno when it’ll happen but my cousin now works at a tattoo parlor and so maybe this summer πŸ™‚ I wish I could live in the now always. My little head likes to float off to other places far too often..

  6. Hahahaha! I love the Ryan Gosling picture! And thank you so much for the link love. You are amazing. I really appreciate you sharing about the beauty feature next week!! Good luck with that resume! I worked for three years in college at the career center, so I’m a pro at resumes. If you need any help, I’d be happy to look over it or send you some templates! In fact, I’m going to send you some templates that helped me when I was making mine!

    1. You’re so welcome! And wow that would be so wonderful Amy. That’s so nice of you to offer. I have most everything written up but it could use some polishing. I would love to See the templates. Also when I design I get very confused about what fonts to use. I like mine to stand out a bit so I have trouble tastefully mixing two fonts and keeping t professional looking.

  7. I have one tattoo, and want to get a quarter sleeve-just the upper arm. What I want has changed a bit as I debate it so I know I’m not quite ready yet. Totally getting an anchor on my foot in honor of my Navy grandpa and Dad though. I say just do it!

  8. I reallllllly want a sleeve. But I’d probably get disowned so it’s not an option πŸ˜‰

    Is the Mindy Project any good? It got axed after 2 episodes here lol! I sometimes question Australia’s choices…even The office and 30 rock are shown at midnight! MIDNIGHT! Can’t wait for your coconut tutorial…although it better be hotel make-able.

    1. I’m getting my Om on tonight! My parents basically say that I can do whatever but if any probs come from it (my mom likes to use the example of an infection) then I have to do deal with it myself. And I pay for it myself too.

  9. Yoga body would definitely be Tara Stiles.

    Also from Saturday-Monday I only wore yoga pants. #noshame #dontcare Granted, Monday was a dressed-up look with riding boots and a cute lulu pullover but still. I dream of a day when I never have to wear anything but shorts, dresses, skirts and yoga pants (i.e. living in Hawaii).

Leave a Reply

