My Skin Care Routine

I’ve covered some heavier things than usual the past two days, and I’ve really enjoyed it. It’s so reassuring to know that other people out there understand where I am coming from and have had similar feelings (or have had similar troubles dealing with their feelings). Thanks for reading and commenting. I appreciate the interaction more than you know.

With that said, happy Wednesday! We’re already halfway through the week, and I can’t believe it. I have a feeling that my semester is going to be over before I know what hit me. On a side note, how dumb is it that I have to pay to graduate? Like, really? I knew that applying for graduating + the fees were coming, but it strikes a sour note with me now that I have to actually do it.

Anyway, today I thought I’d share my skin care routine with you. It’s something that I’ve messed with over the years, but I think I finally have it down (until my hormones change again, that is… #lifeprobs).

Now, keep in mind that while I am a girl and I do use women-marketed products, I have one major trick up my sleeve that anyone can use:

IMG_3043

Coconut oil!

Every morning, I put a thin coating of coconut oil on my face. I don’t use face wash in the morning, just water. Then, I let my fingers melt a little bit of coconut oil and I rub it on my face, in an upward motion (I heard once that that motion prevents wrinkles).

I follow up my coconut oil with Garnier Miracle Skin Perfector BB Cream. I’ve been using this for two years now and swear by it. I love way it evens out the tone of my skin. It’s also a moisturizer and has SPF, which is important even in the winter (which is crucial for dudes, too!).

IMG_3044

At night, I keep things simple with Neutrogena Naturals Fresh Cleansing + Makeup Remover. It’s light, not too harsh on my skin, and it smells good.

IMG_3042

Then I follow up my wash with Neutrogena Naturals Multi-Vitamin Nourishing Night Cream. It’s really smooth, and I love how it’s not a heavy night cream like others I’ve tried. And like it’s washing counterpart, it smells fantastic 😉

IMG_3041

And that’s it! I like to keep my skin care routine simple. I don’t suffer from residual acne, but I have gotten some gnarly breakouts in my time. I have found that my skin has been clearer than ever since following this routine, so you can bet I won’t be giving it up anytime soon.

Oh and if you didn’t see this on Twitter (pssst follow me!) yesterday, I thought of something genius.

Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 8.05.34 AM Screen Shot 2014-01-22 at 8.05.48 AM

 

If you’re unsure of the word salty like I was when I first moved to the midwest, it means peeved, bitter or annoyed. Will you visit my restaurant?

Questions of the Day:
>>What’s your favorite skin care product?
>>Have you ever tired using coconut oil on your skin? You would think it’d be counterproductive, but it’s really not.

15 comments

  1. Ugh, don’t even get me started on skin. I’m so glad to see this works for you–I’ve never tried coconut oil so maybe I should. I’ve struggled with acne forever and am currently debating the dermatologist (again). We shall see! <<<that's me not wanting to go into a rant haha.

  2. I use a cleanser and moisturizer from this brand called Lush. They only use natural ingredients and they are all fresh and handmade. I’ve never seen such a turn around in my skin since I’ve been using these products. They’re AMAZING. You should definitely check them out 🙂

  3. So I’ve heard of this whole putting oil on your face thing. Apparently it works for some people, especially those who have oily skin (which is super weird to me, but whatever). I’m sure it works for those who don’t have oily skin too, but I’ve never tried it! I generally don’t do anything to my skin except put moisturizer on. I wash my face with either those Olay Cleansing Wipes (the ones that are dry in the package and then you wet them and they foam up), but that’s about it. I need to buy BB cream or something like that! And start wearing makeup! And being a real lady!!

  4. Coconut oil is amazing… and so is honey. I’m actually sitting here with raw honey on my face as we speak. I put it on my face a few times a week, and I’ve noticed a huge difference in my skin since I started. Other than that, I’m a big fan of using a clay bar soap to wash my face… it’s the only thing I’ve found that helps keep my skin balanced, and the best part is it costs like $2 😆

  5. I tried using coconut oil last year but I found that it made me break out. Buuut my skin has been going haywire the last week or so, so I may have to give that another shot. I have dry skin so I need a thick moisturizer, so I’ve been using Nivea’s day/night cream daily.

  6. Ah this is great! I recently switched up my skincare routine as nothing was working!!! Oil on my skin always scared me (I have struggled with acne) but now I am using a natural oil as well. I just stopped washing my face in the morning and I have crazy enough seen a huge improvement in my skin!

  7. I put coconut oil on my face and legs at night, I love how smooth it is. I have been using aveeno active naturals wash and spf lotion in the morning, I looked into the nutrogena kind the last time I was at target but ended up sticking with the usual.

  8. I unfortunately suffer from acne prone skin, redness, and excess oil. Oh the joys.. -.- I heard coconut oil works wonders! I need to hop on that train.

    Why yes. I would visit your restaurant! 🙂

  9. Why oh why can I just see that mascot? He could be annoyed at another mascot the salt shaker who just spilled salt on him and that is why he’s unhappy…yes I overthink these things way too much 😉

    I’ve not used coconut oil on my skin but I am curious to try it out.

Leave a Reply

