She Moves In Her Own Way [Spill It Sunday #7]

Sooo it’s actually week 8 of Arman’s Spill It Sundays series, but I forgot last week what with moving back to school and all so I will forever be a week behind. Either way, big congrats to the hot tamale for his link-up catching on so wonderfully in just two months and thanks for hosting us!

The Big Man's World

This week you get to hear all about music! Music is something that has always been a part of my life, and while I went through many phases, I’ve always been a rock/alt rock/pop rock/Brit rock kind of girl at heart. That said – I love a good top forty song every now and again (you can’t deny that Timber is just such a catchy song, amiright?).

I listen to music when I drive, in my down time, when I workout, when I’m stressed – any time. I think music is amazing for many reasons but most importantly because there is literally a song for every emotion and event. I love when I find artists that I can really connect with but who can also jam and make me so obsessed with their music that I listen to it on repeat for days.

What is your all-time favorite musical artist/band?
The Kooks, hands down. I would see their show again in a heartbeat. Their next album is coming out soon, and I could not be more excited.

What is your favorite genre of music?
I kind of said this above, but above all, I really dig Brit rock or alt rock. Currently I can’t stop playing the Arctic Monkeys. Their latest album is in.cred.i.ble.

As other examples go, I love The Neighbourhood, The Fratellis, Two Door Cinema Club and Imagine Dragons.

But on the other hand, I adore Justin Timberlake and things like that. Also, recently I’ve been into Lorde. I don’t like “Royals,” but if the first song I’d heard from her had been “Tennis Court,” it would have been love at first listen. Her video is super weird though.

Which genre of music could you skip over on the radio?
Country. Not a big fan at all. PS… Taylor Swift, you are NOT country anymore so stop going to the CMAs and winning.

Which musician does not deserve that title?
I’m gonna have to say Soulja Boy.

Most embarrassing musical admissions/tastes?
I was just talking to my roomie yesterday about how I went through an alternative phase in high school. I basically started the skinny jeans trend, nbd. My best friend at the time used to cut my hair for me, we both had similar styles. She would use razors on our hair and make the top layers suuuuuper short and push it up and tease it. Can’t forget the raccoon eye makeup.

All of this is to explain the persona that accompanied my love for Panic! At The Disco, All Time Low, Fall Out Boy, etc. Honestly, I still know all the words to all of their songs and still listen for fun sometimes. Aka as I write this. Plus, they’re majorly upbeat songs to run to.

On a different note, I can also sing the entire Wicked soundtrack like it’s nobody’s biz.

Favorite song of all time?
Favorite has to be “Over My Head (Cable Car)” by The Fray. They will always have a place in my heart. The Fray was my first real concert alone. Their frontman is out of this world talented. I tear up every time I hear this song. I’m not sure why, but I think it has something to do with the chords and the personal meaning to me.

Favorite joke song miiiiiight be Summer Girls. Hell yeah.

Okay I absolutely loved writing this Spill It Sundays. Arman, we might have to have another music edition in a few months ;).

Question of the Day: 
>>What is currently rocking on your playlist nonstop?
>>What’s your fave throwback song? I want to listen to a bunch of oldies but goodies today.

24 comments

  1. This was such a fun one. I totally like LFO’s “Summer Girls” too! It was the answer to a trivia night question and of course, I got it right! 🙂 Useful.

    Who doesn’t like “Timber?” I haven’t seen “Wicked” but read the book and want to see the play.

    You must post a picture of yourself in your alternative phase…

    1. Hahah I wasn’t too alt but I have to search for a picture. I don’t have any on my Facebook, and I will have to dig around for my camera cards. Believe me, I was going to post one with this if I could have found one!

      I have seen Wicked twice but I couldn’t get through the book. Not sure why!

  2. The 90’s were an awesome time for music! Listening to those songs is definitely one of my biggest guilty pleasures, and some of the first songs that come to mind are Butterfly by Crazytown, Crazy for this Girl by Evan and Jaron, anything Aqua, and Closing Time by Semisonic. Ohh man… good times.

  3. Thanks for introducing me to some new music! I haven’t heard of some of those groups and I always like finding new songs I might like. I forgot about the fray, after that song was on grays anatomy I got their cd and loved it for relaxing and trot sets with the horses. I actually like country, Taylor swift not so much. Too bad all her songs are just so catchy.

    1. They are catchy, Tay Swift is talented in some respects but I just can’t consider her country anymore. There are far too many other talented country artists (I do recognize that they’re talented, it’s just not my jam) who should be winning besides her. The Fray… ah. I just love them. I went to that concert with an old friend and she cried when they came on stage because she was so happy.

  4. Have a feeling you won’t be surprised that way back before Spotify and realizing you can use Youtube on your phone to listen to a song, I bought Summer Girls on iTunes just because I was CRAVING it.

    Let’s go to a show soooon… should we see Bastille when they are here in June?

  5. Agree on ya with not loving country. I think it particularly bugs me because SO many people in my town all of a sudden think they’re cowboys with their damn boots and hats…did I mention I live in Massachusetts, not the south?!

    Happy Sunday 🙂

  6. We have REALLY similar tastes haha. Arctic Monkeys are my fav and I just sawTwo Door Cinema club not too long ago! Also Panic! at the Disco… c’mon they’re still cool, right? (Is it bad that I follow the lead singer on vine??)

  7. I LOVE cable car……the Fray are so underrated! And so funny, my friend and I were talking the other day about how Swifty just claims to be country to get the awards…with her current music style, Nicki Minaj could claim to be country too. Okay, maybe not.

    PS Hot Tamale- I like that. But not the actual candy. That burnt my tongue!

    1. I was hoping you would like the nickname! Seriously Tay Swift has such catchy music and I would like her a lot more if she just owned up to being pop. Nicki minaj could be country for sure 😉

      I’m glad someone agrees with me on The Fray. Most people think they had their day but they really are just under appreciated like you said

  8. I’m so horrible when it comes to knowing artists/songs. It’s not that I don’t like music, I just don’t feel the need to listen often – esp. not having a car here in Kuwait. Thanks for introducing my unmusiceducated self to some new music.

    Favorite genre: COUNTRY COUNTRY COUNTRY! I’m w/ on TSwift though. Lady drives me crazy.

    1. I’m glad we agree on TSwift. She’s a little out of control 😉 I definitely do most of my music-listening in the car, as well as when I am working out. And anytime! Maybe you will like some of what I posted.

  9. I love that Fray song too it is really beautiful 🙂

    I love both Lorde and Justin Timberlake. Unlike you though I really loved Royals and I also love her latest one Team.

    My music tastes are definitely a mix of pop and dance stuff but I used to be into alternative music and still would go see Pearl Jam and Red Hot Chilli Peppers if they did concerts here.

Leave a Reply

