Wednesday Wisdom

Last night at yoga, I felt heavy. I was off-balance and struggling to get through every pose.

I couldn’t focus, and my mind kept drifting back to the same place. It was weighing me down on the mat. The practice made me realize that this issue was also forcing itself into my mind off the mat, but it took the practice to make me aware of that.

After I left the studio, I knew I had to confront what was weighing me down. Right now I need to focus on finishing my last semester. I don’t want extraneous things that are out of my control to impede on my happiness. I don’t need unhappiness. I don’t need uncertainty. I need to feel light.

lightquote

That’s all I have for you today. I just needed to share my thoughts and hopefully give someone else the confidence to conquer what is weighing them down.

Take care!

Question of the Day:
How do you notice if something within you is “off?”

27 comments

  1. This is a great post Ang – I’ve got some health stuff weighing me down right now, and I know that I need to confront it and figure out what’s going on in order to move past it. Thank for the reminder to tackle what’s weighing me down!

  2. THIS right here is exactly why I wish yoga worked for me these days. I can never harness my mind into the moment with yoga, so I end up frustrated and unfulfilled at the end. Taking a break from it until I can find a class that meets my physical and mental needs. I can definitely tell when things are weighing me down, though, and usually that comes with a need to run, bike, or punch soft bags full of sand. πŸ™‚

    1. Usually I can get pretty good about clearing my mind and focusing, but when something is consistently bothering me, it gets really difficult. Punching things would definitely be a good stress reliever! Which is why I am happy my brother was gifted a punching bag for Christmas.

    1. Thank you! It won’t be designed this way forever, but I really wanted a layout that let me keep the widgets on the side and I wanted a bit of a cleaner look. So I made the header last night! Once I get the funds to pay up for self-hosted and a new design it will probably change again. That won’t happen for at least half a year though. I really like we would be any besties butttt if you insist on being yogi besties I am okay with that too!

  3. I notice something is off when I forget to do daily things, like put water in the coffee pot. When I think about it, it kind of makes me laugh, but when things like that happen I know I am having an off day!

  4. I have been trying to take a step back and just breath. Sometimes I pray, others I journal, or I just need to talk to someone about why I feel so “off”. I’ve found that yoga or sitting in the sauna helps too. I need to learn that I am not in control of what happens to me, but I CAN control how I handle it.

    1. Thanks Sarah, I am really pretty happy and okay I just have this one thing that is getting to be a little too much for me to consume my time thinking about. It’s hard because it is something that I don’t like to think about nor do I want to shift the balance, so I just try to ignore it but that doesn’t really work well

  5. I try to avoid thoughts all the time. And you know where it leaves me? Lying in bed awake at night unable to sleep and unable to stop thinking. If you don’t deal with it head on, it always comes back to get you in some way or another. This is great advice.

    1. very true. Maybe that’s why I couldn’t sleep the other night. Or it could be that I watched the Globes until late but ya know. Every time I try to console myself and trick myself into not thinking about something, it hits me doubly hard eventually.

  6. I think the next 3 weeks are really going to help clear your mind… get all of the toxins out.

    I’ve felt that way at yoga before (last Saturday when I was falling all over the place and couldn’t get focused). I’ve found the practices after those have been my best.

    xo

  7. Whenever I feel “off” I have to really take a look at the big picture, and often times I realize that whatever is weighing on me is very small in comparison to that big picture, and usually has a solution that is easily attainable.

    1. That’s a very good way to look at it. Typically the things that stress me out are small, and yes, have a solution that is easily attainable or one that I know a plan of action for at least. More often than not those feelings come to me due to my own procrastination about something/thought. Oops!

  8. I read today’s (Thursdays) post first so I am glad to hear you are feeling a lot better. I totally know the heavy feeling. I am so proud of you for doing something about it!! That is seriously half the battle.
    ps. Love the bloggy update πŸ™‚ xx

    1. Thank you dear! Today and last night was kind of rough dealing with the feelings that followed but I do feel better today. The blog update was kind of a product of my design frustrations… once I save enough to be self-hosted, it’ll prob change again! xo

Leave a Reply

