Sleepless [MIMM #21]

I’m currently writing to you at 3:49 a.m. I can tell you that, while I’m not happy about the fact that I’m awake, talking to you is making this a little better. I’m not sure why I can’t sleep; it could be a combination of being in a different setting, nerves about starting the semester tomorrow, or something I ate yesterday. Then there’s the loud duct system and the car alarm that went off outside… either way, I’m having a sleepless night.

Today I have a petty easy schedule, only two classes. One of them is Pilates, so I’m considering that more of a workout than a real course. It’s strange to think that this is my last first day of a college semester, but man, am I ready to be a degree-holding lady.

Equally important as my degree is the fact that it’s Marvelous in My Monday, hosted by the lovely healthy diva, Katie. <– I am kidding. I know my degree is more important. But MIMM is also high on my list since I can reminisce about all the great things happening in my life.

Marvelous is… that Trader Joe’s trip I mentioned on Friday! My mom was really too nice to me that day. I stocked up on a bunch of goodies I can’t get while I’m at school.

IMG_2944

We also stopped at Aerie so I could get some pajamas. They’re something I neglect buying for myself, but I think it’s worth it to have cute jammies now that I have some!

Marvelous is… my little brother all grown up for his winter formal! He and his date look fabulous, no? Not going to lie, I teared up a little when he was driving away that night. You can’t tell due to the horrendous lighting, but her dress was a really pretty dark purple. I will have to mess with the pics in Photoshop because Picasa didn’t do much to help.

IMG_2966 IMG_3002

Marvelous is… margaritas and Mexican food with mom and dad! While Adam was out at his dance, we went to Pittsburgh chain Mad Mex. For dinner, I had this delicious portobello mushroom and tofu fajita. I really didn’t think about taking a picture of it, but I did snap my strawberry marg. Typical.

IMG_3026

Marvelous is…Β chocolate chip pancakes at breakfast with my brother… that I forgot to take a picture of. But I did tweet this:

Screen Shot 2014-01-13 at 4.19.45 AM

 

PS, if you don’t follow me on Twitter, you should!

Well, that’s all I’ve got for you at this early hour of the morning. Hopefully I can fall asleep before my alarm goes off.

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite Trader Joe’s find, if you’ve been there? Or, what’s one item you’ve seen that you can’t wait to get your hands on when you finally visit TJ’s?! This time I bought some veggie burgers I’m excited to try.

44 comments

  1. Liar. It is 8.43pm. πŸ™‚

    WE have a Mad Mex here which is a tryhard chipotle (Their burrito bowls are called Naked Burritos..rawr). LOL at your twitter status…It reminds me of the old myspace days of ‘pic or it didn’t happen’ as a means to get some pervy photos. The only thing I brought back from TJs was Peanut Butter filled pretzels and cookie butter. They lasted 3 days since returning home. Have a great first day tomorrow buddy!

    1. This Mad Mex is even better than Chipotle because they have margaritas!! I sound like that’s all that matters to me haha. You’ll really have to get some more things from TJ’s next time you visit the states!

  2. My favorite has to be their coconut spray I use it every time I make scrambled eggs, omlets or stick anything in the oven!

  3. HAHAHA, I love your tweet about the pancakes. I know what you mean about being nervous to get started with the semester, but let me tell you – this is absolutely a time in your life that you can never, never,never get back, so enjoy it. Do whatever that means for you, be it having movie nights with your friends, taking walks to your favorite part of campus, going out on a Wednesday night even though you have class the next day, or staying up late to talk with your roommates. It is worth it because life will never be quite like it is right now. When I was in college, I felt like I didn’t fit in and there were sooo many reasons that I wanted to be done, but once I got to senior year, I started really making the most of it, and I can safely say senior year was my absolute favorite. Have a WONDERFUL semester girl! Make lots of great memories!

    1. Thank you so much for that advice. I really need the reminder to enjoy my time around here because I think I am too keen on just getting it over with and moving on to the next. I like to think that life will be this away again, but you are right – it won’t ever be quite like this, with friends in walking distance and stuff.

    1. *i feel you on the sleepless night. I was in bed at 9 so I’d get enough sleep for my 5am alarm but I was still wide awake well after midnight.. And still got up at 5. Zombie status today for sure. Your last weekend home sounds perfect! I love that you’re close with your brother and that you enjoyed a fun night with your parents while he was out. I cannot wait for my Pilates class either. We’re going to be so flexible this semester! Enjoy your first day back πŸ™‚ it’s your last first day. It feels SO GOOD to say that. Pumped.

  4. Unless photographed it did not happen! I’m just kidding…I say that all the time though when C is harping on me for never separating from my phone hehe.

    Speaking of which I am almost always awake in the middle of the night (I’m a terrible sleeper) and since my phone and I are besties tweet at a girl for some company πŸ˜‰

  5. Trader Joe’s really needs to come to Canada. Or at least, to Northern Michigan so I can conceivably drive there. I’ve only ever been there once, but I was able to find some awesome stuff!
    And you got a picture of the marg, which is clearly the most important πŸ˜‰ your brother and his date look so cute!

    1. Yes they do!! That’s so funny, you’d have to go over the border just for TJ’s. Heck I would do it. I will let Adam know that all of these girls commenting are telling me that he looks cute. He will be flattered.

  6. One more semester- how exciting! Enjoy it because the real world is, well, real. πŸ™‚ I seriously don’t think I have had a margarita in over a year and now I am craving one..Have a great Monday, girl! I hope you make it through with the lack of sleep!

  7. I LOVE TJ’s! Sadly, we don’t have one in Orlando (at least not until this spring!) but when I lived in Connecticut, I used to shop there every week. I am mildly obsessed with their dark chocolate sea-salt covered almonds and pumpkin butter. And sushi. So, so good! Also, congrats on your last semester! Enjoy it, it’ll be over before you know it!!

    1. Thank goodness they’re getting one! I would think that Orlando would have a TJ’s since it’s such a big city. My college town doesn’t have one so I soak it in at home. Even though my college town is full of hippies who would love TJ’s.

  8. Okay my TJ’s fave staples… their tortillas because they don’t have things in and are 45 cals each. But now I’ve moved on to corn tortillas soooo… also dark chocolate salted almonds. INSANE. And their Sirracha sauce because it doesn’t have junk in it. Oh, and their enchilada sauce is soooo good.

  9. Ohhhh my gah love Mad Mex margaritas! Which one did you go to? Also don’t feel bad–I took a Red Eye flight home and could barely sleep so I was mostly likely awake at 3:49 as well. YAYZ. Jealous pilates is one of your classes….wtf.

  10. I had a crazy bad night a few days ago… and it was the night before I had to wake up super early to take a trip up to the mountains, too. Talk about insomnia hitting at the most inconvenient of times. I think it was definitely something I ate, though — my stomach was -not- a happy camper. And can you believe I’ve never actually been to TJ’s? I keep meaning to go when I visit the States, but somehow it never ends up happening.

  11. I had a sleepless night last night too. After staying up late out at a movie the night before I was wide awake way, way past my bed time. I think its so annoying when you want to sleep but just cant. That TJ’s stock up looks wonderful, what a nice momma to help you get ready to be back to school.

  12. Yay to it being your last semester that is awesome πŸ™‚

    I have been having sleepless nights too lately, not sure why. I always find especially the day before I have something new on or different I just don’t sleep well as I overthink it.

    Mexican sounded amazing…and your drink looked amazing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

