Two Yoga Resources I’ve Been Loving Lately

I’m sure you’re sick of hearing about the bitter cold that swept across most of the United States at this point, so I’m going to talk about a different kind of cold: the one that hit me. I was down for the count for the past two days with a nasty cough and a low-grade fever (which I didn’t take lightly because my body temp normally runs at like 96 degrees F).

The last thing I need is to start my final school semester off with sickness, so I’ve taken the liberty of resting for the past few days. I started feeling the cold coming on Sunday night, and on Monday it was out in all it’s phlegmy glory. Sounds attractive, right?

Anyway, I just didn’t feel like posting. I had nothing interesting to share and would have rather just read everyone else’s post than do one of my own. But here I am today! I needed to get my act together because I have had dinner reservations for tonight for about a week at a restaurant I’ve been dying to try.

I’ve also been meaning to share a few yoga resources that I love with you. If you’ve been reading lately, you know that I have made yoga an integral part of my life. I’m planning on focusing a few more posts on yoga this month, both light-hearted and also to explain why I love it so much a little bit more. But for now, I am going to share two websites that have helped me learn a little more about yoga and also practice at home.

DoYouYoga.com

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 4.26.12 PM(source)

This is a yoga-focused blog with several contributors. I found the site recently, but already I’ve been impressed with the pieces on it. It’s very down-to-earth and not holier-than-thou (which I think yogis can unfortunately be labeled as).

They provide a wealth of information ranging from ways to get into difficult poses, to how yoga can influence daily life, to little tidbits about practicing that really make you say “that’s exactly what I was thinking!”

If you’re looking for more information about the practice and what yoga is all about, or if you want to deepen your knowledge about yoga, I encourage you to read the site. You can even add it to your reader, like I did. I use Bloglovin (speaking of which, you can follow my blog through this reader as well!).

Erin Motz – Bad Yogi

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 4.25.29 PM(source)

I fell into an obsession with Erin Motz as soon as I saw a post from her on DoYouYoga. She is a contributor to the site, but she also has a site of her own as well as a YouTube channel on which she offers free classes. Not only that, she also hosts challenges with videos that will come straight to your inbox.

I have actually been doing her 10 Day Yoga for Abs Challenge and have been getting a new video in my email every day since January 2 that’s focused on core poses. Her style is calm and still lively, if that makes sense. Plus, her practice is really accessible.

That’s why she likes to go by the nickname Bad Yogi. She describes the term as “a renegade yogi who indulges in the occasional burger, has never been to a shakti dance class, and admits to not always knowing their asana from their elbow.” And that’s why I have a new girl crush on her.

*By the way, I was not asked to review these sites. I found them on my own and genuinely believe them to be valuable and all-around awesome.

Question of the Day:
What’s one fitness or food resource that you have been loving lately?

22 comments

  1. I don’t know how much I LOVE it, but I’m using myfitnesspal to track things. Just coming back to the gym after a month or so off and I’m trying to make sure I balance everything so I can get my muscle tone back.

  2. Thanks for introducing me to Erin! I love yoga but barely find time, hoping this helps me make more time for it!

  3. Hope your on the mend, buddy- I’ve been dealing with a flu (NOT the fake man flu lol the real deal) here, and there is nothing worse than being ‘cold’ in the middle of Summer..or vica versa.

    Those are some great resources, especially for a yogi- I recently came across this German site called exrx.net and they have videos and demos of alot of strength training moves!

  4. Oh no, Ang! I hope you get back to feeling 100% better soon. Thank you so much for still getting online & sharing a post with us. You rock! I’ve been looking to add more yoga to my life, so this is awesome.

Leave a Reply

