My Best Year Yet [2013 in Review]

I know there are recaps going on everywhere, but I felt the need to partake in this because, honestly, 2013 was the best year of my life thus far. I’m not exaggerating when I say that; I feel extremely lucky to have experienced all that I did these past twelve months and to have made many new friends (including you!).

So raise up your green smoothies in celebration as I toast to 2013:

January
I bought my first pair of real running shoes in hopes of training for my first half-marathon.

IMG_0061

February
I started this blog. << first post hilariousness right there

NFL_3

March
I celebrated my 21st year on the planet with the best parents ever.

IMG_0361

April
I completed my first half-marathon.

IMG_0599

And I partied it up at my cousin’s wedding with my family!

IMG_0717

May
I relived my childhood at Kennywood with my friend from birth.

IMG_0962

June
I started one of the best experiences of my life, my summer internship, with the never-ceasing support of my parents.

IMG_1041

July
I made a lifelong friend from my internship team who enjoys peanut butter and running and yoga and green smoothies just as much as me.

IMG_1227

August
I made the most of my time with two amazing new friends before they left Pittsburgh and our internship.

IMG_1295

One of my best babes was in tow on our family vacation.

IMG_1393

September
My grandparents finally got to visit my school.

IMG_1711

October
I visited a bucket list city – New Orleans – with a generous and hilarious friend.

IMG_2021

November
I ran the Pittsburgh Turkey Trot with my brother, something that I hope to do every year. Plus, I dyed my hair, which was a big risk for me!

IMG_2358

December
I saw an incredible show put on by none other than Justin Timberlake with my dad.

IMG_2580

And I spent some quality time with my bestie, continuing annual traditions.

IMG_2676

2013 was a year of incredible growth, and it brought me so much happiness. I made new friends, strengthened old friendships, and tried new things. I learned a lot about myself this year – what direction I want my career to take, what I am personally and professionally passionate about, and who is important to me. I realized that I love Pittsburgh and am okay with not jet-setting off to some faraway land after graduation. And finally, I learned that I am ready to move on to the next step of my life.

I don’t know what 2014 has in store for me, but I am hopeful.

See you next year. xo

24 comments

  1. As I love this! You DID have a great year and I am so glad I’ve gotten to know you through this blog. I hope you have a great night tonight and kick off 2014 to make it just as good, if not better, than 2013!!

  2. You are literally the most adorable person on the planet and according to Cassie even more awesome in person 🙂 I’m infiltrating myself into your friendship and already starting to plan your trip to Toronto this year. Post-grad party in T.O? I think so…would maybe make 2014 top 2013??? Happy New Year Babe!

Leave a Reply

