Christmas Eve Survey

Merry Christmas Eve! If you don’t celebrate Christmas, happy Tuesday!

Today I decided to answer all of the questions to Amanda’s Christmas survey (I ninja’d it, if you will). She posted it last week, and I thought it would be fun!

Before Christmas…

Do you send out Christmas cards?
Nope! Maybe I will if/when I have my own family.

How soon do you start shopping?
Usually I would start at the beginning of December, but in recent years I have to wait until I am home from school, unless everyone wanted something OU themed.

Do you have a lot of gifts to buy?
I had a decent amount. My family and a few friends.

Do you bake cookies?
Um ya. Remember the baking extravaganza?

IMG_2702

Decorations…

Do you put up a Christmas tree?
Sure do! A big one, a mini one, and a Snoopy one.

If so, is it fake or real?
It’s fake. That was my family’s decision years ago, and I’m still a little salty about it. I love the nostalgia of a real tree. But then again it’s nice not to be stabbed every time I hang an ornament…

Do you like tinsel?
No, I don’t. However, we do use long strings of tinsel at my house. Let’s just say you probably won’t see that in my future home. 😉

Do you use homemade or store-bought ornaments?
We use a mix of both. I think trees are prettier and more meaningful that way.

Do you put Christmas lights outside your house?
Yes! This year we chose to not hang them on the roof and instead only on the front door and tree outside.

Do you put lights on the tree?
Yes we do, even though it is already pre-lit. We add another layer! The brighter, the better, right?

How about popcorn and cranberries?
I feel like that would attract critters inside.

Is there a wreath hanging on your door?
I think so… I should look for that.

IMG_2631

Christmas Eve…

Do you celebrate it?
We do! Every year we have dinner, go to mass, watch a movie and drink hot chocolate. I talked about it in my last Spill It Sunday!

Do you hang up your stocking?
My mom hangs it above our fire place. Stockings will always be a thing for me.

Have you ever left cookies out for Santa?
Every year. That Santa is a cookie monster, I tell ya.

Favorite…

Christmas Movie?
Elf. Funny thing is, I used to dislike it a lot. The more I saw it, the more I loved it!

Character from any Christmas Movie?
Hmm. This is tough because – don’t hate me!! – I don’t love the claymation classics. But I really do like Frosty. I am pretty sure I cry at that movie.

Christmas Song?
We Three Kings.

Christmas Memory?
I don’t have a favorite memory yet, but I like all of my Christmases equally. I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad Christmas.

Christmas Cookie?
My dark chocolate crinkle cookies with the kiss in the center!

IMG_2705

This or That…

Give or Receive?
If I am being honest, both. I love picking out a meaningful gift for someone, but, hey, it’s always nice to get something, too.

Ham or Turkey?
We actually don’t eat either on Christmas. This is super weird and something I am not a fan of. We eat shitty city chicken, which isn’t even chicken. I think we do this because my pap likes it.

Star or Angel?
We have a star, but I would prefer an angel.

White Lights or Coloured Lights?
White! And not those too-bright LED lights. I like colored lights that are the traditional kind. I think a mix of color and white is pretty, though.

Blinking Lights or Still Lights?
Still. Please. If my neighbors ever use blinking lights… -_-

Were you Naughty or Nice this year?
I think this is the first year where I truly feel like I was nice. Nothing naughty enough to get me on the list 🙂

IMG_2639

Presents…

What do you want for Christmas this year?
I already got my super cool Gwyneth Paltrow book, so all I want now is to spend time with my family.

When do you open your gifts?
Christmas morning, then again later at my grandparents’ and aunt’s house.

What’s the best gift you’ve ever gotten?
You’re going to think I’m ridiculous. My KitchenAid mixer. It was a total surprise last year, and I didn’t expect it at all. I was so happy and shocked that I started tearing up. Yeah, I’m that girl.

What’s the worst gift you’ve ever gotten?
Well, I don’t want to pinpoint a gift specifically. I will say that it irks me to get clothes that are too small.

Do you like wrapping gifts?
Yes! I think it can be fun. I put on some music and go to town.

IMG_0014

Random…

Can you name all the reindeer?
Yes, but I’m not going to do that since I am sitting at a computer where I could look them up, so you’d have no clue if I actually do know them anyway!

Have you ever gotten a kiss under the mistletoe?
I probably made my ex-boyfriend do this or something. Hashtag cheesy but sweet.

Do you go caroling?
I did a few years ago, in high school, for our service organization. It was usually pretty fun.

Do you drive around and look at the Christmas lights?
I like to go to places with a drive around display and a Christmas village to visit afterward. I see all my local lights every night. I have one favorite outdoor tree not far down the street from me.

Have you ever had a white Christmas?
Many years. We might have a light dusting this year, which will make me a happy gal!

Who do you celebrate Christmas with?
Mom, Dad, and Adam. This year Adam’s girlfriend is coming over for Christmas Eve. Tomorrow we will be with my two aunts, my uncle and my grandparents.

Have you ever had your picture taken with Santa?
Basically every year we would, at our church’s Breakfast with Santa. A few years ago Adam and I posed with him at the mall and gave the picture to my dad in a frame.

What part of Christmas do you look most forward to?
I love the feeling of waking up on Christmas morning. There’s still a sense of childish wonder for me, and I hope to never lose that.

I hope you have a joyous Christmas Eve or a fabulous Tuesday!

Question of the Day:
What part of Christmas do you most look forward to?
Or, what part of winter do you most look forward to?

17 comments

  1. I think we all had the same idea in filling out a christmas survey on christmas eve 😉 I hope you have an amazing day and Merry Christmas!

  2. I was the same exact way with Elf — really didn’t like it the first time I watched it, but it’s grown on me so much since then and now it’s one of my favourites. Weird how that works. And I couldn’t help but giggle at your favourite present because I got the same kind of mixer last year and I freaking adore it. Have you ever tried beating egg whites in it? Omg… magic.

  3. You got a kitchenaid mixer? I’m no joke marrying Amy (Littlehoneybee) so we can add that, and a vitamix to our wedding registry. If that falls through, can your parents adopt me?

    Hope you have a great Christmas, Ang- I’m glad to have come across your blog.

    Now seriously..do you want a new brother for Christmas 😉

Leave a Reply

