Marvelous Merriment [#MIMM 19]

It’s Monday once again! Hopefully a lot of you are off today, but if you’re not, I hope that the day passes quickly for you so that you can get to your holiday festivities!

Did you get some last-minute shopping done this weekend? I did. The malls and roads were crazy! Or maybe if you didn’t shop, you already started your holiday fun? I did that, too! It was a really marvelous weekend, despite the temps being oddly high for this time of year.


Marvelous is…
hot yoga with Cassie. Always a good, sweaty workout with a fabulous friend.

Marvelous is… family Christmas parties! We had our Iggy family Christmas on Saturday afternoon (dad’s side of the fam) at my grandparents’ house. It was full of food and fun, probably way more food than necessary! I always love being with that side of the family because my dad and his two brothers are total goofs. I completely forgot to take any pictures until my phone was about to die, though!

Marvelous is… this cookbook! A big thank you to my cousin, who had me in our gift exchange. I can’t wait to cook every single thing in it. 🙂

IMG_2737

Marvelous is… going to the movies. I have really been loving movie theaters lately. On Sunday I saw American Hustle, which was at the top of my list this season. It lived up to my expectations for sure, although I think it was a bit slow at points. Amy Adams should get an award for her performance, in my opinion. I recommend seeing this!

IMG_2738

Marvelous is… reveling in Pittsburgh’s crazy good dining scene. After the movie, my friend and I went to Eleven, a restaurant in Pittsburgh’s Strip District. It was pricey but totally worth it. I am about to bombard you with pictures of my meal.

To drink I had the Elevens Mule. It was their take on a Moscow Mule and was so refreshing and bright. And check out that sweet cup! Apparently that’s what you traditionally serve them in.

IMG_2723

We started with Prime Beef Tartare. It had some marinated tangy cucumbers which I didn’t expect (well, to be truthful it was my first time trying this dish so I had no clue what to expect). It was tangy and decadent at the same time. We followed that up with a ton of bread.

IMG_2728

For my entrée, I had the Salmon, which came on a bed of wheatberries and butternut squash purée. It was topped with pomegranate arils, arugula, roasted pears and roasted beets. It’s now in my top ten list of best dishes ever.

IMG_2730

We also shared dessert because duh. Choosing the Hazelnut Candy Bar was a great decision for this chocolate-loving girl.

IMG_2735

I had such a wonderful time this weekend. It was full of friends, family, and food, which is all I could really ask for in this season. I can’t wait for the rest of the marvelous merriment this holiday week will hold!

As a side note, if you could send some positive thoughts to my cousin and her family, I would appreciate it very much.

Catch ya tomorrow!

Thanks to The Diva for hosting this link-up!

Question of the Day:
What’s one dish on your top ten best ever list?

18 comments

  1. Good evening!
    Soldiers of the Royal Marines which I get on Christmas song of Mariah Carey and sing happily and dance it.
    Marine navigates it.
    Overjoyed at the prospect of returning to the UK for Christmas, HMS Ocean’s crew decided to make a festive video to the tune of Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas Is You.

    ARIGATO!!!
    Ryoma

  2. When I saw that dessert on instagram I couldn’t stop staring at it! I’ll be thinking of your cousin’s family, and I hope you continue to have a great time at home with your family 🙂

  3. Look at that party nail!! I need to paint my nails again before Christmas. That food looks delicious! I need to start eating better over the holidays…and by better I mean going to fancy restaurants and getting meals that I can’t pronounce! 🙂

  4. Ummm yum! I’ve drove past Eleven but never been there…might have to give it a try. And YESSSS to hot yoga, except I have to sit out about 1/4 of the poses because my back hates them haha but I feel like a boss afterward. I also wanted to see American Hustle but didn’t get around to it this weekend–maybe next!

  5. Definitely sending some good thoughts to your family ❤

    That cookbook… You think it would be too late to add it to my list of things that I want for Christmas? I've heard some pretty great things about it, so I'd love to hear your thoughts too!

    Hope you have the most amazing Christmas 🙂

  6. I love just straight chocolate and have never seen a restaurant offer a candy bar creation as dessert. So cool! Also love your nails (or what I see of it!).

  7. So many things to tell you (that I should just text you to tell you but it’s all relevant to this post):

    1) LOVE a good Sat a.m. yoga with you. Can you graduate and move home so this can happen every Saturday?
    2) SO happy you got Goop’s book. I almost thought about buying it for you.
    3) Even more happy you went to Eleven… can you take me with you next time?
    4) Jeal you saw American Hustle… need to see it ASAP.
    5) Top 10 dishes… Honestly something at Eleven has to rank up there.

Leave a Reply

