Holiday Traditions [Spill It Sunday #4]

Hello and happy Sunday to you! I hope that you have had a great weekend so far, and that you’ll make the most of today!
I’ll be back tomorrow to share what I did, but for now, here’s another edition of Arman’s Spill It Sunday link up! This week we are talking about holiday traditions. The pictures here are from last year, by the way. Minus a selfie! I totally forgot to take one this week.
The Big Man's World

What is a traditional/cultural event you and your family/friends celebrate? (e.g. Christmas, Hannukah etc)
My family celebrates Christmas! Most of my friends celebrate Christmas, too.

Do you have any traditions which you partake in on a consistent basis?
Every year my immediate family (Mom, Dad and Adam) and I have a special dinner and go to Christmas Eve mass. Then we come home and watch a holiday movie and drink hot chocolate.

IMG_0005

On Christmas morning, we always have to eat breakfast before we open gifts, per my mom. This was the worst in my ten to fifteen years, when Adam was just getting to his growing ages and would sleep in!

Before we open gifts, we have a tradition that, actually, I have no recollection of why or how we started. We have this little paper pickle that one of us hides in the tree (whoever found it last year hides it the next). The person who finds the pickle first opens the first gift. I’ve never found the pickle, but that’s okay with me.

What is something special you and your family/friends do?
I try to go ice skating in downtown Pittsburgh at PPG place. They have a lovely outdoor rink and a beautiful tree. I haven’t gone yet this year. I was supposed to go today, but it’s raining!

I also like to go see lights at those places you can drive around, but sadly the one nearest us has been closed for two years in a row due to a lack of funding. There’s another one we could visit, but that one has a little village to walk around, so it’s not as fun if the weather is 65 and rainy like it has been for the last few days.

What does a typical holiday look like?
Usually on holidays my family heads up to my mom’s side of the family because her parents aren’t able to easily get out of the house. It’s been that way for several years now. I don’t remember the last time we tried to have a holiday at our house. I associate their place with comfort and family, so I enjoy going up to my aunt’s and grandparent’s house. 

We are very relaxed with Christmas, just like we are with Thanksgiving. We take our time waking up and opening gifts, and then we get ready and head up to my family’s house. We just hang around up there all day, eat dinner and open gifts. It’s simple, and it’s nice.

IMG_0018

Most memorable event?
Every year my mom mentions the time when I was still in my religious education classes and participated in our church’s children’s mass nativity display. I got to be the angel Gabriel. My mom bought a sweet little white dress for me and sewed two pieces of gold fabric under the arms. There was no speaking in the play, and my only movement was to lift up my arms as the narrator spoke. When I lifted them up, the fabric spread out like wings.

I think it meant a lot to my mom to see me up there, so while it’s not my most memorable event, I know that she cherishes that memory. 

Question of the Day:
Have you ever participated in some type of holiday play?

8 comments

  1. I love this weeks spill it Sunday, so fun to learn how others spend the holiday! You relaxed family Christmas sounds like how my family is, the relaxing atmosphere and laid back happiness is one of my favorite aspects of the day. I hope you and you family have a wonderful holiday this year!

  2. find the damn pickle this year. I expect to read your Christmas recap saying that happened 😉

    I love your Christmas memory- its little things like that which just highlight the family aspect of Christmas.

    No seriously, find the pickle!

  3. I was in a Christmas Carol when I was in 7th grade. The theatre that it was in was always FREEZING and the guy who played Scrooge HATED me. I (accidentally) threw glitter in his eyes. I was so so so so sick during one of the performances, I don’t remember anything besides being miserable.

    I also danced in The Nutcracker for many, many years. One year when I was a baby angel I stupidly tripped on a cord backstage and hurt my ankle and still had to dance on it. Typical Cassie.

  4. I’m so behind on reading gah! Forgive me!

    I’m Jewish but I went to a Christian high school (don’t ask) and the cool thing to do was be in the nativity. I asked my Dad if I could try out and he was not pleased with me…So I didn’t mention the time when the reverend asked me to light the advent candle haha

Leave a Reply

