Eats with a Winter Touch [WIAW #37]

It happens every break: I’m super excited and busy for the first few days, and as soon as I have one day with nothing to do I feel as though all hope is lost.

Yesterday, it was the same old, same old as far as the above scenario is concerned. And the only crazy thing about my eats yesterday was breakfast. Other than that, it was the same old, too.

Luckily, today will be way more exciting because I’m hitting the kitchen with my best friend, Emily, for our now-annual cookie baking extravaganza. It will include lots of wine and lots of taste testing!

But we’ll save that recap for later 🙂

Now, it’s time for another What I Ate Wednesday brought to you by the hostess extraordinaire, Jenn.

Breakfast

IMG_2645

One benefit of having a Christmas tree up is that it makes for pretty photo scenery! Most of my eats have a bit of a winter touch to them. Now if only I could do a little more with my lighting…

I brought back a summer favorite of mine yesterday but made it more seasonal by adding a pear instead of berries! I made my own cereal using oats, coconut flakes, chia seeds, slivered almonds, half a scoop of vanilla protein powder, banana and pear. Almond milk to soak up all the goodness!

Snack

IMG_2646

The snowman was trying to steal my carrots, apples and peanut butter, but I didn’t let him.

This snack combo isn’t about to die any time soon, by the way. Oh, and I ate that peanut butter times like 10, if you’re wondering.

Lunch

lunch37

I had a huge bowl of peas and green beans followed by something that usually shows up around breakfast but has been making more late-day appearances recently  – eggs and spinach!

Also, I hate how Picmonkey zooms in so much (re: eggs). Does anyone know how to change that?

I broke up my day with some much-needed yoga at my house.

Snack

IMG_2649

I really was trying hard not to have a mug cake again this week… but I hadn’t had one in almost five days! It was a problem that needed corrected. Those chocolate chips on top were extra tasty today.

Dinner

IMG_2655

I trusted the Gorton’s fisherman for dinner.. haha. He didn’t let me down. I baked up a piece of frozen salmon along with white sweet potato fries. I had sautéed mushrooms as well.

Then I went to work at my retail job!

Yes, I ate all of my meals in front of the TV. Yes, I know that’s not healthy. No, I don’t care.

PS can you believe that this time next week will be Christmas? Uhhh what? At least all of my cookies will be baked!

Question of the Day:
How would you stop a snowman from stealing your food? If the one above was real I’d take his stick arms away.

21 comments

  1. Your breakfast sounds great! I’ve never thought to make my own “cereal”. Great idae! Oh & I do not agree at all that eating in front of the television is unhealthy. Anytime I hear someone say that i just imagine someone speaking jibberish =) Ha Ha

  2. Don’t even get me started on the lighting… I’ve all but given up on breakfast and dinner 😡 But I seriously can’t believe that Christmas will be here so soon. Like… what? Remember it taking forever when we were kids? And now it just comes and goes in the blink of an eye. Oh time… you’re a mean one.

    1. I’m not a great photographer to begin with so the terrible lighting makes me even worse! Lol. The seasons definitely fly by, esp since I am in school, I don’t really get to start celebrating the season until a week before Christmas.

  3. Mug cakes are my favorite go to!! Also, I am the same way about vacations. I feel like I have to be going all the time or somethings wrong. Only problem is I tire myself out and never really recover 🙂

Leave a Reply

