Double Link-Up

Hey! I hope you had a great weekend. I sure did! I can’t wait to tell you about it in a minute.

Today I am doing a double link up with Katie and Arman because I missed the third installment of Spill It Sundays yesterday and since it’s Monday, I get to share all the marvelous things happening in my life.

____________________

Marvelous is… finishing my last fall semester as a student! Now it’s time for the reality of only one semester left to hit so that I can eat my words about being ready to move on to the next stage of my life.

Marvelous is… a wonderful Christmas party hosted by a friend of the family. They are incredibly generous and throw a great holiday party each year. They even have a raffle for everyone attending, with prizes from gift cards to TVs. Adam won a gift card to Cracker Barrel, so I am hoping to head to breakfast there soon!

One of my favorite parts of the evening was the gift they asked everyone to bring – a toy truck for the Trucks for Maddox Trust, in honor of the young boy who was tragically killed at the Pittsburgh Zoo last year. I wish I had taken a picture of the wall of toys.

Marvelous is… turning into an exact replica of my mother now that I have dark hair. (That is marvelous right?… just kidding, Mom :))

IMG_2443

Marvelous is… tabata workouts! I have been “loving” – I use that term loosely – tabatas for quick at home workouts. I am renewing my gym membership today, though! I don’t have any weights at home.

IMG_2446

Marvelous is… Justin Timberlake. My dad is seriously the best and has the kindest friend (who helped us snag these tix! I cannot thank him and my father enough). I reached a new level of cool by going to see Timberlakes’ show with my dad.

IMG_2466

But really, he put on a ridiculous performance. Three hours long, I kid you not.

IMG_2559

I could go on for hours about why he is one of the best performers of my generation. Even my dad was impressed. #2020experience

IMG_2580

Marvelous is… decorating the tree!

IMG_2631

This has always been and will always be my favorite ornament. IMG_2636

The finished product! Fake tree, real Christmas.

IMG_2639
____________________

And now we switch gears to Spill It Sundays! This week is all about movies. (My obligatory selfie is above! ^^)

The big man's world

What is your favorite genre of film?
I think my favorite genre recently became dark comedies, branching into dramadies even. I appreciate dark and sarcastic humor but for a movie to really impress me, it has to have admirable acting and a real plot. I also love movies that take risks.

What is your favorite movie?
If you would have asked me two years ago I would have said Mean Girls in a second (because it’s just a classic, come on). Now, my answer is, hands-down, Silver Linings Playbook. If you’ve never seen it, go rent it immediately. The acting is impeccable, it’s humorous, and it’s really touching.


(Photo source)

What movie do you think deserves to have never been made?
I want to say Spring Breakers for this answer, but the fact is I can’t because James Franco’s portrayal of a drug dealer is outrageous and amazing. The movie itself sucks, though. If you want to see three girls with sweatpants that say “DTF” on the butt (don’t know what that means? look it up.) holding guns and dancing around Franco’s character “Alien” singing an interesting rendition of Britney Spears’ “Everytime,” then this is the movie for you.


(Photo Source)

What movie should be considered a legal sleeping pill?
I couldn’t get through The Lord of the Rings. Maybe if I tried watching it again, I could do it. I can’t call it a legal sleeping pill, though – that’s a bit harsh.

If you made a movie, what would it be about?
When I write fiction stories, they’re typically slices of life; things that might not seem out of the ordinary or just simple interactions but that can actually be life-altering. I think my movie would be something like that, probably dealing with a family or relationship-driven problem.

What’s a movie you love but would never admit to liking?
Well, I’ve admitted it before, and I am again here: I really love the Transformers movies. Optimus Prime is my main man.

Question of the Day:
Tell me something you did this weekend AND what your favorite movie is!

29 comments

  1. So much happening in this post, but it was awesome to read! I’m completely jealous that you got to see JT in concert. So unfair… and the fact that you & your dad made a date out of it is adorable.

    You & your Mother are stunning!

    Love the Christmas tree. It turned out beautiful.

    It’s good to know Im not the only blogger out there who isn’t a fan of Lord of the Rings. Ha Ha!

  2. I LOVE JT!!!! It was by far one of my favorite concerts when I saw him this summer. Love. Everything you’re doing right now with your fam is what I plan on doing when I get home tomorrow. Mother-daughter time, decorating the tree, going to my gym, all of it. I cannot wait. I’m glad you’re enjoying yourself thus far!

  3. I LOVE CRACKER BARREL BREAKFAST. It’s like my one chain-restaurant guilty pleasure. Blame it on the 17 years I lived in the South.

    I went to see the Hobbit this weekend with one of my friends… I didn’t see the first one, but it was pretty good. I saw all the Lord of the Rings with my dad back in the day. Also I hate-watched Spring Breakers but James Franco is amazing.

  4. I walked out of spring breakers!!!! I was legitimately disturbed by everything that went down. It was like someone took all of my childhood idols and made them baby prostitutes. Not cool!

    Your tree is so pretty! I’ll take any kind of tree. I’m a Jew for Jesus (my parents would have a heart attack if they read that lol)

    1. Hhaha Spring Breakers was totally whack. My friends and I left afterwards and it was like “wait, you wanted to walk out? me too! why didn’t we?” but ultimately I’m glad I saw the whole thing just to say I did. And Jew for Jesus! That’s hilarious.

  5. I’ve only ever had a fake tree (its not common to NOT have one here in Australia) so hi 5 to you for that! I need to get onto Silver Linings Playbook…I’ve got the dvd but haven’t seen it yet! Better do so before bringing sexy back. So lucky you went to his concert!

  6. Your Christmas tree is beautiful!

    I loved Silver Linings Playbook. Jennifer Lawrence is the best.

    I haven’t seen Spring Breakers yet because it looks so stupid but I’m curious about James Franco’s character. I’d watch it just to see how ridiculous he looks, haha.

  7. I HATED spring breakers too, it was so so bad. I had such high hopes but it was just plain odd.

    Yay to you only having one more semester left, that is great!

    My favourite movie would have to be Father of the Bride. I’ve seen Mean Girls a million times too though. I liked Silver Linings Playbook too but my fav J.Law movie is Hunger Games 🙂

Leave a Reply

