Travel Time [Spill It Sunday #2]

Hello hello hello! Did this weekend fly by for you? I feel like I was just thinking thank goodness it’s Friday, and now it’s already Sunday. I’m not complaining though, because that means I’m closer to heading home for the winter break!

I am officially done with classes for Fall 2013, which feels amaze. I don’t think I’ve ever been more displeased with my college classes, so I am looking forward to next semester’s lineup to make up for this one. All I have left is a few papers to write and edit, and I’m done!

I’m posting today to participate in Arman’s Spill It Sunday link-up. I posted last week as well. I really enjoyed reading some randomness about the bloggers I follow. It’s a great idea! This week’s theme is travel, so I’m going to share with you a few of my favorite destinations (even though I haven’t been toooooo far and wide).

The Big Man's World

 

I don’t have a selfie to share today, but I will give you this picture from last night of my friend Lauren and I at “Santa Fest.” OU is big on festing for any cause.

santafest

Destination: France and England

I went to France and England on a school trip the summer after graduation. I loved the sights, and I would love to go back one day because honestly traveling with a tour group is the worst in my opinion. Our food was terrible for the entire trip, which was a shame since we were in one of the most cuisine-dedicated cities in the world.

Anyway, we went to London, Paris, Normandy, and this cool little beach town called Saint Malo. My favorite spot of the entire trip was Mont Saint Michel in France, though. The bay is extraordinary, and I think it would be cool to try to walk across it when the tide is out. I also have never walked up more stairs in my life.

mont saint michel

Destination: New Orleans

This city is breathtaking and filled with history. I love visiting places that have an exciting history. The architecture is also of note, and the way that the city has tried to recover since Hurricane Katrina is inspiring. And obviously I can’t write about Nola without mentioning my beloved beignets at Café du Monde.

IMG_1959

Destination: Charleston, SC

If you haven’t noticed by now, I haven’t been outside of the US much. I want to see the world, but I am very much a proponent for visiting every state in my own country as well. The US is HUGE. There is so much to see. So much beauty, and like I said above, so much history.

One of my favorite towns in the US is historic Charleston in South Carolina. We only visited the city for a day, but I am a sucker for the South. I love the landscape and the water views. Charleston was sweet because a lot of the old, colorful houses are still intact. Cool fact about the homes there: you can tell how old they are by looking for earthquake bolts in the cement walls. If there are earthquake bolts, the house is from pre-1880s.

I don’t have any pictures because they are on old memory cards somewhere at home, sorry!

Destination: Germany and Austria

Another one without pictures, but for good reason: I was only in first grade when I went! I remember bits and pieces but am thankful that my family shares their memories with me and that we have a lot of the trip recorded on video.

I do distinctly remember eating in a dark cellar restaurant, where I ordered bratwurst that was brought out on a mound of fries bigger than my head. We also were sitting near a group of older German men who were swinging beer mugs and singing.

We visited Austria for a day as well, and I saw the gazebo where they filmed The Sound of Music. Musical lover that I am, it was pretty amazing.

Question of the Day:
What is one historic site that you want to travel to? At the top of my list is St. Petersburg, Russia.

14 comments

  1. Haha your Geman experience sounds hilarious. Where have you been? Sounds a lot like Bavaria! I would love to say this was a unique thing to happen but in Munich these older German men who were swinging beer mugs and singing are quite common! A giant chunk of local color 🙂

Leave a Reply

