Spill It Sundays #1

Good morning! Today is Sunday, which means I unfortunately will be making the drive back to Athens later today. I don’t want to go back! I know it’s only a week and a half, but Thanksgiving break is seriously the worst tease. It’s far too short!

I don’t usually post on Sundays, but this will probably become more of a thing for me thanks to Arman at The Big Man’s World. He created a Sunday link-up called Spill It Sundays.

The Big Man's World

Bloggers are supposed to use this as a way to let readers get to know us better! And, if you’re familiar at all with his blog you’ll get this – you have to include a selfie (see bottom for that)! #SelfieSunday… that’s also a thing, right? I should know this.

Arman gave us a set of questions to start the Spill It series off, so here goes!

What’s your cultural background?
I am a mixture of a lot of things, but I am heavily Russian. I also have a lot of Polish, German, and Irish in me. The other nationalities are Ukrainian, Slovak, Czech, and supposedly a little French. There might be another one in there that I can’t remember.

Once, we were looking in this magazine that had a photography feature of Russians, and I looked exactly like some of the Russian girls. It was a little surreal!

This is me on a beach in France about four years ago. It seemed appropriate to put here:

100_5654

What is your most memorable birthday and why?
This one is hard because my parents threw me lots of wonderful birthday parties throughout the years. I’m not sure if they know how much that means to me! I’ve had parties at a gymnastics gym (tie-dyed themed!), dance party (smiley face themed), a super cool 50s themed sleepover when my parents treated us all to dinner at a diner, and one of my favorites, when they had relatives dress up as Belle and the Beast and come out from the woods across from our house (I totally freaked on that one. Belle is my favorite). This is the cake from my 21st, and it’s decorated in shamrocks because I was born on the luckiest day of the year.

IMG_0306

The MOST memorable one would have to be my 16th birthday. I am a lover of musicals, so my parents bought tickets for me and a huge group of girls to see Hairspray downtown and we even got to ride in a limo. I thought it was the coolest thing! I really wish I had a picture of that group to scan here.

For good measure I will throw in a picture of Emily and I here from junior prom, which was relatively when I was sixteen.

4211_98511957960_616997_n

What is the #1 thing you wish to accomplish in your lifetime?
To be happy. It’s pretty simple.

IMG_0599

What’s the stupidest thing you’ve ever done?
Not going to mention the stupidest thing, but another stupid thing I’ve done was not make a really sharp turn by my house well enough during one of my first outings as a driver and completely blow my tire. Then I drove back up the street on it.

Who was your childhood hero?
Rachael Ray, for sure. I was weirdly obsessed with her and would watch 30 Minute Meals on the daily. I have a ton of her cookbooks, too. She sparked my interest in food and cooking. I don’t care if people say she is annoying, I absolutely adore her. Here’s the selfie… In case you were wondering, this is how I look when I wake up.

IMG_2378

 

Question of the Day:
Who was your childhood idol?

14 comments

  1. So we totally had the same birthday parties growing up. Seeing a show, gymnastics gym, 50s party, yep yep yep. I’m pretty sure my childhood idol was Jenny Thompson. She swam for my rival team growing up and came to some of our meets occasionally so I felt like I had a connection to an Olympian. We will push through these last few weeks and then we’ll be going out of our minds at Christmas before we know it!

  2. Wow you had the BEST parties….The Beauty and the Beast twist- Amazing. Damn parents!

    Hi 5 to having Russian roots! Until I read this, I had no idea what a shamrock was. Thanks for this important life lesson- and thanks for linking up- great to know more about you (and be envious of your parties…)

  3. sooo many memorable birthday parties! your parents are awesome for doing that for you! btw..is the luckiest day of the year 3.17 ? sorry, i really had to think about that one for a moment…

  4. I love all the photos of you in this post! I’ve never been to France but always wanted to go.

    My childhood idol is a tough one…I used to be a huge Buffy fan so went through a stage of idolising Sarah Michelle Gellar, haha don’t judge 😉

    I also have some irish in me too. But my main heritage is half dutch half Australian.

  5. Rachel Ray lol… ya not a fan but she is funny and has some good stuff. I can’t honestly think of an idol I had growing up. Right now I aspire to be like my former coach Amy Layne (from DAMYHealth) she just emrbrances beauty so well and has found how to live simple and happy 🙂

  6. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit
    and sources back to your website? My website is in the very same area of
    interest as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit from some of the
    information you provide here. Please let me know if this
    okay with you. Cheers!

  7. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

