Thanksgiving 2013 Recap

Hi there! I actually have been up since 3:45 this morning, and I just got back from working a short Black Friday shift at the retail store I part-time at when I’m home. I’m kind of tired, but I’m hoping to catch a second wind after I drink a few cups of coffee! I get to hang out with my best friend Emily today, who I haven’t seen since August. It’s a good incentive to not fall asleep 🙂

Yesterday was Thanksgiving for us American folk, and it was lovely! We started the morning bright and early at the 2013 PNC YMCA Turkey Trot in Pittsburgh. Adam (my brother) and I ran the whole time together. He’s not an avid runner, but he finished strong! I was so proud of him.

IMG_2358

It was freezing cold, so I was happy to get back home after the race. Still, it was my second year doing this, and it’s definitely going to become a tradition for me. Adam was leaving us for the day to go with his girlfriend. It was especially important for me to run the race with him because of that.

After we all warmed up, my family cooked some food and headed up to my grandparents’ and aunt’s house. The good thing about having a small gathering on Thanksgiving is that no one expected me to dress nicely… so yoga pants it was. We’re definitely not fancy. I quite enjoy that.

We had so much traditional, delicious food! It was like we were feeding an army, which is funny since there were eight of us. That just means there were leftovers! Here was my first plate:

IMG_2363

I grabbed more stuffing and green bean casserole for a small second plate because those are my favorite. Oh yeah, and that cranberry sauce from a can you see? I freaking love the stuff.

My aunt bought this sweet bread basket with rolls in it. I had to show you because it’s such a cute presentation idea! She and I split that pumpernickel roll you see there. It was the only one, and we had to make a compromise.

IMG_2366

Back to that green bean casserole – I made it using Lindsay’s Healthy Green Bean Casserole recipe, and it certainly did not disappoint. It tasted true to the original, even better in my opinion. If you’re looking for a comforting, healthier recipe, I urge you to try this. It was creamy and flavorful and came together so easily.

IMG_2362

A while after dinner, we had pie! I am always in charge of the pies because baking is my favorite thing to do for meals. I made two pumpkin pies (we had an entire one and a half left over!) using this recipe for the crust and this recipe for the filling. They came out wonderfully for a girl who can’t roll dough well.

IMG_2367

I also brought another fun pie along from one of my favorite recipes. Last year I found Katie’s No-Bake Chocolate Pumpkin Pie and immediately fell in love. It’s a staple in my arsenal now.

IMG_2372

I think that about wraps up the evening! I ended the night falling asleep on the couch around 9 while the Steeler game was on, and we left soon after since I had to get up earlier.

AND I almost forgot: today is the last Friday of November, which means I still have to give a nod to my favorite food ever, peanut butter. While I didn’t make a recipe to celebrate the final Friday of National Peanut Butter Lovers Month, I have one request. Go get a spoon, grab a jar of PB (almond butter works if you’re allergic) and take a big spoonful or two. Eat. Enjoy.

NatlPBMonth

In case you missed my other National Peanut Butter Lovers Month recipes:
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pumpkin Smoothie
Sweet & Spicy Peanut Butter Bites
Healthy Peanut Butter Dip
Peanut Butter and Banana Oat Omelette

Happy Friday! Take care and have a wonderful weekend.

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite comfort food?

14 comments

  1. I’m a stuffing kind of girl, all the way! I don’t really like many of the Thanksgiving sides, but I have to have a big helping of stuffing every year at Thanksgiving. It sounds like you had a wonderful day, girl!

  2. A huge dinner IN yoga pants = best excuse for 10 plates. Just saying.

    3.45am working hour -dude you are epic.

    PS- off topic but my mate is having a ‘dips and drips’ (cocktails) gathering next week where we have to all bring a dip and I thought of you. Its an honour.

  3. Sounds like a very traditional Thanksgiving, lots of food and football! The turkey trot sounds like a great idea. I didn’t get any exercise at all on Thanksgiving, which was OK since I needed some rest days from my skating.

Leave a Reply

