Peanut Butter & Banana Oat Omelette

I try not to look at my blog stats very often – maybe once a week, if that – but when I do, I like to look at what, if any, search terms bring people to my blog.

This week, I was pleased to discover that someone found my little space by searching, “Is peanut butter good for you?”

I have an answer for you. Yes. Yes it is.

NatlPBMonth

In the fourth week of celebrating National Peanut Butter Lover’s Month, I combined some of the classic breakfast staples to make the perfect power meal, all wrapped up into one sweet little peanut buttery package.

IMG_2293

Peanut Butter & Banana Oat Omelette
Adapted from Nut Butter Runner
Makes 1 serving

  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup egg whites, including one whole egg
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  1. Mash banana in a bowl and combine with peanut butter, vanilla, and cinnamon.
  2. Add in egg and egg whites, stirring to incorporate peanut butter mixture.
  3. Add oats.
  4. In a medium nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking oil, cook mixture over medium-low heat.
  5. Occasionally use a rubber spatula to gently lift around edges in the first few minutes.
  6. Cover and let cook slowly (this is crucial!).
  7. After approx. eight minutes, flip omelette over.
  8. Fold in half, top with more peanut butter and the rest of the banana, and EAT!

This omelette was one of the best parts of my week, I have to say. And boy am I glad this week is over. Whew!

Have a great weekend! I’m heading to mid-state PA to hang with a friend, so I’ll talk to you Monday after 14 hours of driving 🙂

Question of the Day:
Sweet omelettes: yes or no? They’re definitely a yes for me after this!

11 comments

  1. I never read my stats but I love finding what people search to stumble across… ‘channing tatum on pancakes.’ …. :s

    I’ve made variations of a sweet omelette before but that looks awesome- never added a banana or even oats in it too!

Leave a Reply

