Trusting The Future

Good morning all, and happy Tuesday. It snowed overnight… I can’t say I’m too pleased about having to walk around in it, but it sure does look pretty!

Last night I went to see the movie Ender’s Game with a friend. In terms of the movie, go see it, even if you haven’t read the book. I haven’t, but I thought that the movie was compelling and had an interesting and relevant story line. I also think it would appeal to guys even though it’s another one of those “novel into movie” movies, since it’s about children who are trained for war through video games.

On that point, I went to see the movie with my friend because she is going through a rough time and wanted to get her mind off of things for a bit. I was talking to a group of my friends afterward who are actually both dealing with various difficult situations as well, and it got me thinking about the trust we put in the future.

Trust The The Future Will Be Good

When we feel like giving up, we often question whether the future will get better or how events, whether it be exams, relationships, family or life in general, will play out. We ask everyone and ourselves, “Will it get better?” and the best answer anyone can give is “Yes.”

We put complete faith in the future because we have seen countless people pull through and eventually find happiness. If we can’t trust that the future will be better than whatever difficult moment we are in, how can we expect to find the strength to pull through?

That’s the message that I am trying to send to my friends. I cannot promise happiness for them because it’s not up to me. But I can give them my support and tell them to believe contentment is possible if you put your trust in the future.

So how does all of this become relevant to me in this moment? I’m not dealing with anything nearly as difficult as my friends are, but I have my own struggle: my knee.

If you read yesterday’s post, you saw that I did The Color Run on Sunday. It was the first time I’d run in one month, which is the longest running break I’d taken in a while. I look happy in those pictures, right? Well, it was a really fun run.

IMG_2146

My knee didn’t agree. After about a mile and a half, it started hurting just like it did the first time I felt the pain, as if I never even took a month of rest. By the end of the race, which I did try to push through since my friend was running with me, and I realize that was probably a mistake now that it locks up when I walk.

If I don’t put trust in the future of my knee, it won’t get better. I have to trust that it will heal, and I have to work to get it to do so. So you won’t be seeing running on my fitness plan anytime soon, but I am trusting that in time you will.

Here’s what the fitness front will look like this week:
Sunday: The Color Run
Monday: Rest
Tuesday: Hot Yoga
Wednesday: 20 min bike + arms strength
Thursday: 20 min bike + legs strength
Friday: Cardio of choice (but not running!)
Saturday: Arms + legs strength

So, that was a bit of a rant. I didn’t mean to complain, I just meant to explain my situation further. Know that if you are going through a hard time, you have people to support you. The future will be good.

If you ever want to chat, feel free to email me at nuttylifeang[at]gmail[dot]com. I’ve been told I’m a pretty good listener 🙂

Question of the Day:
How do you get through any kind of difficult situation?

14 comments

  1. I don’t think you were complaining at all. In fact, I think this is a beautiful post! When I have gone through really hard times, remembering that everything will work out in the end has helped me get through. There have been times that I ONLY had faith in that because I had to believe it, not because I had any proof or hope in my situation. But you know what? I DID get through. And although having struggles SUCKKKK, getting through struggles makes you into the person that you are. And I wouldn’t trade that for the world. You are a great friend for helping your friend to get her mind off of her troubles. We all need to do that sometimes!

  2. Thank you. This post was exactly what I needed to read today. I’ve been struggling with the fear of never being able to have children at the moment. Being a year and half into infertility treatments, and still no where success is heartbreaking. I do trust in God, but sometimes you just need that extra reminder that things WILL be okay & God has a path for each of us. Sometimes we just have to accept the pain for it will be worth it when the times right. ❤

  3. Why is trust the key to everything but the hardest thing to do? I feel exactly the same about my leg. I STILL (After 10 months) have no idea what is causing my pain so I have no clue how to fix it. But I am trusting that the doctor’s know what they’re doing and are truly trying to help me get better. I can’t pretend it isn’t hard all the time. I’m here if you ever want to talk! Injuries just S-U-C-K.

  4. Aw man I’m sorry your knee was bothering you. Trusting is the hardest part for me too. When I went through my injury this summer, I was afraid I’d never heal. Those first steps were terrifying because I was convinced I’d still be in pain. In the end, your body will heal when it is ready to and you WILL be back out there if you treat yourself right! As you offered to listen to anyone vent if they need to talk, the door is always open on my end if you need to get out some frustrations too girl! Hang in there!!

    1. That’s kind of how I feel right now too, like I’ll never heal. I do need to just put my faith in the future like I said. And thank you so much! I have been wanting to email you but I’m kind of a chicken with things like that.

  5. I truly believe we make our own happiness. There is always a good laugh to be found during a bad situation and positive side and that’s what we have to house on. Sometimes you find wang to because it just plain sucks, but staying positive and choosing to laugh and see the good is the only way to get through it. You are a great friend for trying to help them through a difficult time!

    1. I agree with ya. This is has been proven time and again to me, like if I am going out for the night. If I have a bad attitude, it won’t be fun. If I make it fun and trust that it will be a great time, it usually is.

  6. That is so great that you were there for your friend during a rough time in her life! Being with friends and family really helps me when I am going through a rough time. They always know how to help me put things in perspective and make me laugh a little- both of which are super necessary for me:) Happy Tuesday, girl!

  7. I think I really rely on my friends and family to get me through difficult situations. I have to have someone to at least just verbalize everything to so I’m not so stuck in my own head. Sometimes just saying it makes everything feel better.

Leave a Reply

