Dad’s Weekend 2013 [MIMM #15]

Happy Monday and Happy Veteran’s Day! I hope that you are enjoying a long weekend like I am, but more importantly thank you to all of the veterans who have served our country. You are truly appreciated!

This past weekend was marvelous. It was my final dad’s weekend at OU, which is actually pretty sad to think about. Dad’s Weekend is always one of my favorite weekends because it gives me a chance to hang out with my dad for a full 48 hours, which is unheard of when I’m home!

It was definitely a cause for Marvelous in my Monday celebrations. Thanks to Katie for hosting the link-up, as usual!

On Friday, my dad at at work with me until 7 pm and then we went to a new-to-me local pizza shop, Della Zona. They’re only open on Fridays, so I’ve just never had the chance to go. Well boy am I glad we finally did! All of their pizzas are brick oven baked and topped with speciality ingredients.

IMG_2134

 

It was perhaps one of the most marvelous pizzas I’ve ever tasted! After that, we went out with friends and eventually called it a night.

IMG_2140

That night, we met up with my roommate Kellie and her dad for dinner at Sol. I think I mentioned Sol last Mom’s Weekend.

IMG_2144

This time around, I had a cuban steak salad that was pretty yummy. I also had guava mojito or two… they’re the best drink at the restaurant!

IMG_2143

After dinner we saw Nick Offerman, whose show was 2 hours long! He was pretty funny and had some great moments, but overall the show was a little too long for my taste. The one thing I did take way from the show that cracked me up: Instead of playing Words with Friends, we should all spend time making things with our hands, and play Cornbread with Friends. I thought of Davida when he said that!

Yesterday, I did The Color Run! Kaitlyn and I ran together while my roommate Grace took so many great pictures and watched with my dad. Here are a barrage of pictures!

IMG_2166 IMG_2146 IMG_2165 IMG_2168 IMG_2169

 

IMG_2170

 

And now for the funniest picture of the day: If you’ve ever seen the Strutting Leo meme (if you haven’t, click the link)… this was caught by chance but is quite reminiscent of that meme. I call it Strutting Angela.

IMG_2167

The race was really fun and casual. If you ever get a chance to participate, do it!

When it was time for my dad to head home, and I missed him as soon as he walked out the door. Thanks, dad, for a marvelous weekend. I love you!

IMG_2171

Question of the Day:
Did/does your school have parents weekends?
Have you done the color run?

30 comments

  1. “Dads weekend”.. What an awesome and sweet idea. It sounds like the two of you had a wonderful time together. It must’ve been great having him there to watch you run the race too.

    Have a great day ❤ ❤

  2. I’m so happy for you that you got to spend the entire weekend with your dad! Our school had a parents weekend but mine didn’t usually make it, they would come when it was quieter on campus. Hope you have a good Monday.

  3. I LOVE that your school has a dad’s weekend and a mom’s weekend!! That is so incredibly awesome. I’m glad you managed to fit in so many fun things to one weekend! It’s hard not to enjoy it when you’re with family eating good food… and RUNNING! Whattttt so happy you had fun 🙂

  4. Aw so nice that you got to spend the weekend with your dad! I miss seeing mine every day.. sometimes I wish I still lived with my parents. I love when he comes to visit though. And your color run looked like a blast! I need to try that one!

  5. It looks like the color run went well!! I’m so glad, because your pictures are great! Dad’s weekend is such a great idea! I can’t imagine my dad traveling up to my school for the weekend without my mom, so it’s nice that you and your dad are so close!

  6. WVU had ‘homecoming’ aka parents weekend. My family came my freshman year and senior year. Senior year was kind of fun because we did all this stuff with my sorority and it was fun to have my dad at the sorority house!

    HAVE NOT done a color run. I want to!

    PS you’re adorable.

  7. Awww it looks like you had a great weekend with your dad- family time is the best!

    I did a color run 1x with my friend- it was pretty fun, although I didn’t really like the whole color-powder-in-your-face thing while running. I tend to run with my mouth open, so this is a bad combo. 🙂

  8. OMG to that pizza, seriously it looks so friggin incredible.

    I’ve always wanted to do a colour run, I was going to do the one here in Melbourne in a couple of weeks but it sold out before I had entered for the second year in a row…oops! Next year I am registering early. Looks like you had a lot of fun 😀

Leave a Reply

