Sweet & Spicy Peanut Butter Bites

Remember that whole “National Peanut Butter Lovers Month”? Yeah, that’s still going strong. I am actually really excited about this week’s recipe because I went out on a limb. It’s inspired by Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams, a company based out of Columbus.

NatlPBMonth

Jeni’s ice cream is made with Snowville Creamery milk, a company local to Southeast Ohio, and they use the freshest ingredients. Their product is truly like no other ice cream you’ll ever have. If you are ever in a city with a scoop shop, I urge you to go there!

Anyway, back to the star today: peanut butter. The first time I visited Jeni’s, I tried a flavor that I was skeptical of but knew I needed to give a lick. I’m going to butcher what it was called because they don’t sell it anymore, but it was something like a Spicy Sweet Peanut Thai ice cream. Like, what?? Spicy ice cream? But the wonderful combination of salty, sweet peanuts and peppery heat aftertaste has been ingrained in my tastebuds ever since.

IMG_2107

I was so glad that I took a chance on the flavor. When I was creating this week’s recipe, I knew I wanted to do a fun take on an energy bite, but I wanted to do something different. I remembered the ice cream and bam! Spicy & Sweet Peanut Butter Bites were born.

IMG_2125

These have some allergens in them, but I think you could easily omit the coconut or use almond butter instead and still have a great bite.

IMG_2129

Sweet & Spicy Peanut Butter Bites
Makes 16 bites

Ingredients:

  • 9 dates, soaked in water for an hour
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup plus 2 tbsp natural creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup flax meal
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips, or other chocolate equivalent (optional)

Directions:

  1. Combine dates, oats, peanut butter, flax meal and cayenne pepper in a food processor. Pulse until well mixed together.
  2. Add coconut and pulse until combined.
  3. Scoop mixture and roll into tiny balls, about 1″ around.
  4. Melt chocolate. Dip bites and let harden.*

*Note: I only dipped half of my bites in the chocolate. If you want to cover all of them, you may need a bit more chocolate.

These have a bit of heat at the end but also a really fun sweetness. You can add less cayenne if you think that it may be too spicy, but I found that the coconut and chocolate helped to cut the spice.

Now, I’m off to class for the day and to welcome my dad to town later this evening! Have a great weekend!

Question of the Day:
>> What’s the best “weird” ice cream flavor you’ve ever had? Mine is definitely the one mentioned above, but I’ve always wanted to try corn ice cream. I don’t know. Don’t ask me why.

31 comments

  1. Oh my goodness these look so good! But I have a question, do you think it would be possible to make them without dipping them in chocolate? Or would it not hold together? I am not a big chocolate person, so I would like to try to make them without chocolate if that’s possible.

  2. Spicy and sweet are a perfect combination and these sound awesome. While I can’t say I’d had any weird ice cream flavours so far Chocolate Chili was a favourite of mine years ago.Why didn’t I think of adding PB back then?!

Leave a Reply

