Thursday Thoughts

I’m feeling kind of sporadic this week! I am just very excited about weekend happenings ahead and how little time I have to get all of the work I have to finish this semester done! Before I know it, I’ll be on my way home for Thanksgiving.

(Let’s consider that thought number 1.)

2. My dad is coming tomorrow! It’s Dad’s Weekend, which is one of my favorite weekends of the year. We always have a blast. On Saturday night we’re going to see Nick Offerman do a comedy show. I don’t watch the Parks and Recreation but I love going watching comedians, especially with my dad, the funny man himself.

dad

3. I have a bone to pick with society. So, around this time of year, everyone breaks out the leggings. And by that I mean I break out the leggings. I wear them at least three times per week, no joke.

A lot of people say that leggings are not pants, with their argument being that they are revealing. Now, you all may disagree with me on this, but leggings are definitely pants. Let me show you why. These are “pants” in the traditional sense:

Um. Those go up to her crotch. What would the back look like?! And you’re telling me the outfit below covers less?

If short shorts (and yes, I have seen girls really wear shorts like that in person) are considered pants, then leggings are pants.

3. Last Saturday I did a modified version of this workout. I started at 10 burpees and kettlebell swings instead of 15, because I hate burpees but think they’re a very efficient workout. It. was. KILLER. Killer, I tell you. But I managed to complete it, and I think if I do it again I will actually start with 15 burpees.

4. Can I tell you a secret? I wash my hair once per week. Cassie first told me about the benefits of washing less, and now I use dry shampoo every day. My hair texture got really bad over the last few years. I never needed to use product or a straightener, but then it started frizzing at the ends, even if I put product in. So I used a straightener, and that obviously caused more damage. Vicious cycle!

Anyway, not washing as often has helped immensely. I can actually go out in public without using a straightener and not feel self-conscious now. I love Dove Refresh + Care Dry Shampoo.

5. Target has let me down with their holiday commercials. I was a huge proponent of the crazy obsessed Target lady, and I even liked the catchy song they had last year. This all matters because I am a commercial freak and like to analyze them, and I am not satisfied for this season. Ah, the good old days.

I think that’s enough large paragraphs for today. Make sure you stop back tomorrow for the second week of National Peanut Butter Lovers Month! I have a recipe to share that I’m really excited about.

(Okay that’s thought number 6.)

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite holiday commercial?

21 comments

  1. Haha I love the leggings rant. Until this year I was actually not a fan of the look but now it’s all I wear when I don’t have to be dressed up for my internship. Ima very conservative dresser though so at times they feel too revealing for me. I wish I could be that stylish! Super bummed we’re missing each other at bucknell by a few weeks. It would have been so cool to meet up!!

    1. They’re just incredibly comfortable! The funny thing is I am more of a conservative dresser (compared to other people) and I feel very covered when I wear them. I’m super bummed we’re missing each other at Bucknell. Meeting would have been so fun, hopefully we’ll get a chance to soon!

  2. About the leggings, I’d have to say that in the picture you showed, she is wearing both a long-ish shirt and a long sweater to cover up her butt. If she had on a tank top and a thong (which a LOT of people who go with the whole leggings as pants trend do) then I would not really be thrilled with seeing her butt like I inevitably would. I don’t think anyone is complaining about the outfit you posted!

    1. You make a good point there. I should have thought about that… I guess my thing is I’d rather have someone see through my pants than see an actual crotch shot in tiny shorts. I usually try to keep my bum covered when I wear leggings. I’m just very passionate about them because they’re comfy!

  3. Girl, the legging thing pisses me off too! I don’t even care if I get looks {I’m sure it’s because they think I look so cute ;)} I wear my leggings for pants proud! Not washing my hair everyday has made a huge difference! I can’t believe how much thicker and healthy my hair is. Dang, dirty hair and leggings for pants- I sound like a hot mess! 🙂

    1. Yay! I’m glad you agree. I thought about that after I posted… I was like, will people think I’m dirty and sloppy? Then I was like oh well, I like to be comfortable. And I save water taking quicker showers, so ha!

  4. Lol I don’t know if I can agree with you on leggings as pants, to me it entirely depends on what they are put with. If it is a long cardigan that covers your arse and boots then I’m on board. I think the worst with leggings as pants for me is when the leggings are just worn down and have gotten see through <<< That is just a no-no!

    Your dad sounds funny, love that lampshade picture 🙂

    I hate burpees too but sometimes they are a necessary evil and they are good for you.

    We don't have any great holiday commercials here in Australia, so none I can say are my favourite.

  5. My favorite holiday commercial… that’s so hard. I honestly have no idea. Maybe Hershey Kiss ones. My college roommate LOVED the Target Holiday commercials.

    Also – you should watch Parks & Rec. But I bet Nick Offerman is going to be amazing.

    Leggings = definitely pants.

    1. The Hershey kiss ones are very sweet (punny). I really like the Eat n Park ones too, with the tree that bends for the star. I know I should watch parks and rec. We’re getting netflix soon so maybe I’ll start!

Leave a Reply

