Grapefruits Aren’t Grapes [WIAW #31]

Hey there and happy Wednesday!

Thank you all for your encouraging comments the past two days. I really appreciate all the tips, thoughts and advice you gave me regarding not running and strength training. It helps to know that people have been where I have. It’s your support that reminds me of why I decided to start writing in this space at the beginning of the year and why I want to continue!

Okay enough sap. Let’s save that for the maple trees. Onto the food, because it’s another What I Ate Wednesday, hosted by Jenn!

So, I’m not sure why I wrote in my Monday post that yesterday was a strength training day. Clearly I was confused. Tuesday is reserved for hot yoga. So I woke up, made a leisurely breakfast, celebrated that my first class was cancelled, and then ate my words because I had an incredibly busy and somewhat stressful day. Then I zenned out (phrase?) at yoga.

Breakfast

Processed with VSCOcam

Grapefruit was on sale at Kroger this week, so I bought a big bag. Random grapefruit craving! I don’t hate it. Also, can anyone clarify why they are called grapefruits? I really don’t see what they have in common with grapes. They sure are pretty, though.

IMG_2101

I followed my grapefruit with a bowl of zoats with a banana melted in and on top.

Snack

IMG_2118

I had an apple with peanut butter. Can’t go a day without that, basically! Clearly I had more peanut butter than that, though. I can’t fit the whole jar on the knife, you know.

Lunch

IMG_2119

I brought back one of my portable early-semester favorites for lunch. I had honey-dijon apple chicken salad with carrots and celery mixed in over a bed of greens. It was tangy and sweet!

Snack

I forgot to take a picture of my afternoon snack, but it was cottage cheese and cherry tomatoes. A lot of people don’t like cherry tomatoes because of the way they pop when you bite them, but I actually love that.

Dinner

IMG_2120

I made some sub-par vegetarian sweet potato chili this week. I don’t know what was missing from the taste, but now I am stuck eating it all week! Ah well, we can’t win every dinner. And the last two weeks have had some pretty great dinners, so I was due for a loss, I guess.

Dessert

IMG_2121

Chcoolate. Several handfuls to be exact. Yum.

Question of the Day:
If grapefruits aren’t grapes, and pineapples aren’t apples, does anything actually make sense in this world?

16 comments

  1. I have never thought about grapefruits or pineapples having the other word in them. Grapefruit is one of my strange foods, sometimes I love it and others it’s the last thing I want to eat. That one looks pretty tasty though. I’m sorry about your less than stellar chili. I have been mixing chili in egg scrambles, maybe it would be good like that?

  2. It feels good to know I’m not the only one who didn’t realize the word grape was in grapefruit. PHEW! Ha Ha.

    …and yes, it just doesn’t make sense to end your day without some type of chocolate. If you ask me it should be turned into a law 🙂

  3. I just got a chance to catch up on your last few posts so I just wanted to send some love and say I think you are dealing with the no running thing so well, and profess my undying love for strength training. 🙂 Anyways, your grapefruit question has me wondering where actual grapes got their name from in the first place…and any fruit for that matter…

Leave a Reply

