Strength Keeps Me Sane

This month I decided to make a commitment to myself to consistently strength train at least three times per week.

I’ve been doing so basically for the past month or so, and I’ve seen some results, especially in my arms – small results, but results nonetheless. I want to continue that pattern!

Strength training is something that I used to ignore, because I didn’t realize what it could do for my body. Once I did start to strength train, I focused on arms with really light weights because I was intimidated by legs and thought I was too weak to life more than five pounds.

Processed with VSCOcam

Now, I’m stepping (punny) into leg and full body strength workouts, too, so that I can strengthen my legs. Hopefully, this will help me come back strong once I’m able to run again. In the month that I haven’t run, strength training has kept me mostly sane (oh and yoga has, too, obvi!).

I will make up a leg workout sometime soon, but for now I wanted to share the arm workout I created last week. I’ve done it twice so far and it left me with a good burn and sore arms the next day. I also incorporated abs into the workout, because why not? Everyone loves a good plank.

For this workout, I actually use different weights for certain moves. I use: 12.5 lbs for the biceps curls, hammer curls, and delt flyes; 15 lbs for the rows and tri kickbacks;10 lbs for the side and front shoulder lifts, chest flyes and skull crushers; 20 lbs for the overhead tris.

My point for sharing that is that you use what weights feel comfortable to you but still push your limits for each different move. If it’s all the same weight, that’s awesome. If not, that’s awesome, too. The first and last arm circuits will be done twice through. The middle two will be done three times through.

armsandabs

So that’s a little taste of what I’ve been doing while I’m not running! I’m really starting to enjoy it.

Question of the Day:
What’s your favorite body part to strength train?

18 comments

  1. I love training legs! It always makes me feel really strong and powerful, especially if I’m squatting more than some of the guys in the gym 😉 Congratulations on jumping on the weight training band wagon! It will no doubt do great things for your body and will definitely improve your running when you get back at it.

  2. I started seeing TRUE results with strength training after about three months… it’s all about consistency! I started strength training a few years ago and gave up when I didn’t see much in a month’s time… then when I started back up again at the beginning of the year and was really consistent with it + my diet choices, my body totally changed. Keep on keepin on sista!

    1. I wouldn’t say I haven’t seen true results, maybe just like results that can only be seen/felt by me so far! I plan to keep it up because this is the most confident I’ve ever felt about my arms. Your advocation of strength was actually an inspiration for me to keep going at it 🙂

Leave a Reply

